Search Form
First, enter a politician or zip code
Now, choose a category

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: National Journal

1996 Conservative on Social Policy Score

State Office District Name Party Rating
AK U.S. House At-Large Donald Young Republican 86%
AL U.S. Senate Sr Richard Shelby Republican 72%
AZ U.S. Senate Jr Jon Kyl Republican 72%
CA U.S. Senate Sr Dianne Feinstein Democratic 26%
CA U.S. House 12 Nancy Pelosi Democratic 0%
CA U.S. House 18 Anna Eshoo Democratic 0%
CA U.S. House 19 Zoe Lofgren Democratic 12%
CA U.S. House 39 Ed Royce Republican 90%
CA U.S. House 40 Lucille Roybal-Allard Democratic 0%
CA U.S. House 42 Ken Calvert Republican 67%
CA U.S. House 43 Maxine Waters Democratic 17%
CA U.S. House 48 Dana Rohrabacher Republican 90%
CA Attorney General Xavier Becerra Democratic 0%
CO Commissioner 2 Scott McInnis 55%
CT U.S. House 3 Rosa DeLauro Democratic 12%
FL U.S. House 20 Alcee Hastings, Sr. Democratic 17%
FL U.S. House 27 Ileana Ros-Lehtinen Republican 47%
FL Chief Justice of the Supreme Court Charles Canady 61%
GA U.S. House 2 Sanford Bishop, Jr. Democratic 31%
GA U.S. House 5 John Lewis Democratic 00%
GA Governor Nathan Deal Republican 90%
IA U.S. Senate Sr Chuck Grassley Republican 72%
ID U.S. Senate Sr Mike Crapo Republican 65%
IL U.S. House 1 Bobby Rush Democratic 17%
IL U.S. House 4 Luis Gutiérrez Democratic 0%
IN U.S. House 1 Pete Visclosky Democratic 37%
IN Council Member At-Large John Myers Republican 70%
KY U.S. Senate Sr Mitch McConnell Republican 72%
KY U.S. House 5 Hal Rogers Republican 77%
MA U.S. Senate Jr Ed Markey Democratic 0%
MA U.S. House 1 Richard Neal Democratic 30%
MD U.S. Senate Sr Ben Cardin Democratic 27%
MD U.S. House 5 Steny Hoyer Democratic 23%
ME Councilor At-Large Joseph Baldacci Democratic 24%
MI U.S. House 6 Fred Upton Republican 58%
MI U.S. House 9 Sandy Levin Democratic 18%
MN U.S. House 7 Collin Peterson Democratic 55%
MS U.S. Senate Sr Roger Wicker Republican 90%
MS U.S. House 2 Bennie Thompson Democratic 0%
NC U.S. Senate Sr Richard Burr Republican 86%
NC U.S. House 3 Walter Jones, Jr. Republican 86%
NJ U.S. Senate Sr Bob Menendez Democratic 16%
NJ U.S. House 2 Frank LoBiondo Republican 56%
NJ U.S. House 4 Chris Smith Republican 62%
NJ U.S. House 6 Frank Pallone, Jr. Democratic 21%
NJ U.S. House 11 Rodney Frelinghuysen Republican 35%
NY U.S. Senate Sr Chuck Schumer Democratic 23%
NY U.S. House 2 Pete King Republican 55%
NY U.S. House 7 Nydia Velázquez Democratic 0%
NY U.S. House 10 Jerry Nadler Democratic 0%
NY U.S. House 12 Carolyn Maloney Democratic 0%
NY U.S. House 15 José Serrano Democratic 0%
NY U.S. House 16 Eliot Engel Democratic 0%
NY U.S. House 17 Nita Lowey Democratic 12%
OH U.S. Senate Sr Sherrod Brown Democratic 12%
OH U.S. Senate Jr Rob Portman Republican 68%
OH U.S. House 1 Steve Chabot Republican 77%
OH U.S. House 9 Marcy Kaptur Democratic 35%
OH Governor John Kasich Republican 77%
OH Attorney General Mike DeWine Republican 59%
OK U.S. Senate Sr Jim Inhofe Republican 72%
OK U.S. House 3 Frank Lucas Republican 77%
OR U.S. Senate Sr Ron Wyden Democratic 26%
OR U.S. House 4 Peter DeFazio Democratic 23%
PA U.S. House 14 Mike Doyle, Jr. Democratic 52%
SC U.S. Senate Sr Lindsey Graham Republican 86%
SC U.S. House 1 Mark Sanford, Jr. Republican 58%
SC U.S. House 6 Jim Clyburn Democratic 18%
TN U.S. House 2 John Duncan, Jr. Republican 90%
TX U.S. House 3 Sam Johnson Republican 77%
TX U.S. House 6 Joe Barton Republican 65%
TX U.S. House 13 Mac Thornberry Republican 90%
TX U.S. House 18 Sheila Jackson Lee Democratic 0%
TX U.S. House 21 Lamar Smith Republican 90%
TX U.S. House 29 Gene Green Democratic 29%
TX U.S. House 30 Eddie Johnson Democratic 12%
TX U.S. House 35 Lloyd Doggett II Democratic 18%
UT U.S. Senate Sr Orrin Hatch Republican 68%
VA U.S. House 3 Bobby Scott Democratic 0%
VA U.S. House 6 Bob Goodlatte Republican 90%
VT U.S. Senate Sr Patrick Leahy Democratic 30%
VT U.S. Senate Jr Bernie Sanders Independent 12%
WA U.S. Senate Sr Patty Murray Democratic 8%
WI U.S. House 5 Jim Sensenbrenner, Jr. Republican 90%
WI Mayor At-Large Tom Barrett 21%
Neil Abercrombie 12%
Edmond Spencer Abraham 68%
Gary Ackerman 0%
Daniel Akaka, Sr. 0%
Rob Andrews 27%
Bill Archer 90%
Richard Armey 68%
John Ashcroft 72%
Spencer Bachus 77%
Henry Scott Baesler 34%
Kay Bailey Hutchison 72%
Richard Hugh Baker 77%
William Baker 72%
Cass Ballenger 77%
James Barcia 48%
Bob Barr, Jr. 90%
Bill Barrett 77%
Roscoe Bartlett 72%
Charlie Bass 52%
Herbert Bateman, Sr. 68%
Max Baucus 34%
Anthony Beilenson 0%
Bob Bennett 67%
Kenneth Bentsen, Jr. 28%
Douglas Bereuter 59%
Howard Berman 0%
Tom Bevill 46%
Joe Biden, Jr. 38%
Brian Bilbray 47%
Michael Bilirakis 77%
Jeff Bingaman 8%
Thomas Bliley, Jr. 90%
Peter Blute 50%
Sherwood Boehlert 31%
John Boehner 90%
Kit Bond 72%
Henry Bonilla 52%
David Edward Bonior 30%
Sonny Bono 58%
Robert Borski, Jr. 35%
Rick Boucher 29%
Barbara Boxer 20%
Bill Bradley 15%
John Breaux 49%
Bill Brewster 68%
Glen Browder 50%
Corrine Brown 18%
George Brown, Jr. 12%
Hank Brown 69%
Richard Bryan 38%
Ed Bryant 90%
John Bryant 21%
Dale Bumpers 25%
Jim Bunn 63%
Jim Bunning 90%
Conrad Burns 72%
Dan Burton 90%
Steve Buyer 77%
Robert Byrd 30%
Herbert Callahan 90%
Dave Camp 77%
Ben Campbell 48%
Thomas Campbell 28%
Mike Castle 43%
John Chafee 34%
Saxby Chambliss 90%
Jim Chapman 37%
Helen Chenoweth-Hage 65%
Jon Lynn Christensen 77%
Dick Chrysler 79%
William Clay, Sr. 00%
Eva Clayton 16%
Robert Clement 43%
William Clinger 56%
Dan Coats 72%
Howard Coble 90%
Thomas Coburn 77%
Thad Cochran 72%
William Cohen 37%
Ronald Coleman 13%
Barbara-Rose Collins 00%
Cardiss Collins 00%
Michael Collins 90%
Larry Combest 90%
Gary Condit 45%
Kent Conrad 42%
John Conyers, Jr. 00%
Wes Cooley 79%
Jerry Costello 52%
Paul Coverdell 72%
Christopher Cox 90%
William Coyne 12%
Larry Craig 72%
Robert Cramer 39%
Philip Crane 72%
Frank Arnold Cremeans 79%
Barbara Cubin 68%
Randall Cunningham 90%
Alfonse D'Amato 60%
Patsy Ann Danner 56%
Thomas Daschle 8%
Thomas Davis III 45%
Eligio de la Garza II 49%
Thomas DeLay 90%
Ronald Dellums 00%
Peter Deutsch 29%
Lincoln Diaz-Balart 50%
Jay Dickey 72%
Norm Dicks 28%
John Dingell 33%
Julian Dixon 0%
Chris Dodd 8%
Robert Dole 76%
Pete Domenici, Jr. 62%
Calvin Dooley 24%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Skip to top

Help us stay free for all your Fellow Americans

Just $5 from everyone reading this would do it.

Thank You!

You are about to be redirected to a secure checkout page.

Please note:

The total order amount will read $0.01. This is a card processor fee. Please know that a recurring donation of the amount and frequency that you selected will be processed and initiated tomorrow. You may see a one-time charge of $0.01 on your statement.

Continue to secure page »

Back to top