Search Form
First, enter a politician or zip code
Now, choose a category

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: National Journal

2009 Conservative on Social Policy Score

State Office District Name Party Rating
WY U.S. Senate Jr John Barrasso Republican 94%
Jim Bunning 94%
James DeMint 94%
OK U.S. Senate Sr Jim Inhofe Republican 94%
ID U.S. Senate Jr James Risch Republican 94%
David Vitter 94%
Todd Akin 93%
J. Gresham Barrett 93%
TN U.S. House 7 Marsha Blackburn Republican 93%
John Boehner 93%
Paul Broun 93%
John Campbell III 93%
TX U.S. House 31 John Carter Republican 93%
GA Governor Nathan Deal Republican 93%
NC U.S. House 5 Virginia Foxx Republican 93%
AZ U.S. House 8 Trent Franks Republican 93%
Scott Garrett 93%
TX U.S. House 1 Louie Gohmert Republican 93%
TX U.S. House 5 Jeb Hensarling Republican 93%
OH U.S. House 4 Jim Jordan Republican 93%
IA U.S. House 4 Steve King Republican 93%
CO U.S. House 5 Doug Lamborn Republican 93%
John Linder 93%
Cynthia Lummis 93%
CA U.S. House 4 Tom McClintock Republican 93%
Sue Myrick 93%
Randy Neugebauer 93%
TX U.S. House 22 Pete Olson Republican 93%
NA Vice President Mike Pence Republican 93%
George Radanovich 93%
CA U.S. House 48 Dana Rohrabacher Republican 93%
CA U.S. House 39 Ed Royce Republican 93%
John Shadegg 93%
TX U.S. House 13 Mac Thornberry Republican 93%
Lynn Westmoreland 93%
SC U.S. House 2 Joe Wilson, Sr. Republican 93%
KY U.S. Senate Sr Mitch McConnell Republican 92%
AL U.S. Senate Sr Richard Shelby Republican 92%
NC U.S. Senate Sr Richard Burr Republican 91%
Dan Burton 90%
Howard Coble 90%
WY U.S. Senate Sr Mike Enzi Republican 90%
VA U.S. House 6 Bob Goodlatte Republican 90%
Wally Herger, Jr. 90%
John Kline 90%
Dan Lungren 90%
TX U.S. House 24 Kenny Marchant Republican 90%
NC U.S. House 10 Patrick McHenry Republican 90%
Jeff Miller 90%
KS U.S. Senate Jr Jerry Moran Republican 90%
Joe Pitts 90%
WI U.S. House 1 Paul Ryan Republican 90%
WI U.S. House 5 Jim Sensenbrenner, Jr. Republican 90%
TX U.S. House 32 Pete Sessions Republican 90%
NE U.S. House 3 Adrian Smith Republican 90%
Michele Bachmann 89%
UT U.S. House 1 Rob Bishop Republican 89%
TX U.S. House 12 Kay Granger Republican 89%
TX U.S. House 6 Joe Barton Republican 87%
MO U.S. Senate Jr Roy Blunt Republican 87%
TX U.S. House 8 Kevin Brady Republican 87%
KS Governor Sam Brownback Republican 87%
UT U.S. House 3 Jason Chaffetz Republican 87%
Thomas Coburn 87%
TX U.S. House 11 Mike Conaway Republican 87%
ID U.S. Senate Sr Mike Crapo Republican 87%
TN U.S. House 2 John Duncan, Jr. Republican 87%
Phil Gingrey 87%
Doc Hastings 87%
OH U.S. House 5 Bob Latta Republican 87%
John Sullivan 87%
MS U.S. Senate Jr Roger Wicker Republican 86%
Steve Buyer 84%
Eric Cantor 84%
Saxby Chambliss 84%
TX U.S. House 7 John Culberson Republican 84%
David Dreier 84%
John Ensign 84%
AZ U.S. Senate Jr Jeff Flake Republican 84%
Randy Forbes 84%
Duncan Hunter 84%
Bob Inglis, Sr. 84%
CA U.S. House 49 Darrell Issa Republican 84%
CA U.S. House 23 Kevin McCarthy Republican 84%
John Mica 84%
FL U.S. House 8 Bill Posey Republican 84%
Cliff Stearns 84%
GA U.S. Senate Sr Johnny Isakson Republican 83%
CA U.S. House 22 Devin Nunes Republican 83%
Jean Schmidt 83%
TX U.S. House 21 Lamar Smith Republican 83%
TX U.S. House 3 Sam Johnson Republican 82%
Don Manzullo 82%
Gary Miller 82%
NA U.S. Secretary of Health and Human Services Tom Price Republican 82%
Todd Tiahrt 82%
Roscoe Bartlett 81%
Jack Kingston 81%
Connie Mack IV 81%
TX U.S. House 2 Ted Poe Republican 81%
KS U.S. Senate Sr Pat Roberts Republican 81%
LA U.S. House 1 Steve Scalise Republican 81%
SD U.S. Senate Sr John Thune Republican 81%
TX U.S. House 26 Michael Burgess Republican 80%
MS U.S. Senate Sr Thad Cochran Republican 80%
NA U.S. Attorney General Jeff Sessions III Republican 79%
AL U.S. House 4 Robert Aderholt Republican 78%
Rodney Alexander 78%
Jo Bonner, Jr. 78%
AR U.S. Senate Sr John Boozman Republican 78%
CA U.S. House 42 Ken Calvert Republican 78%
OK U.S. House 4 Tom Cole Republican 78%
TX U.S. Senate Sr John Cornyn Republican 78%
Geoff Davis 78%
OK Governor Mary Fallin Republican 78%
John Fleming, Jr. 78%
Ralph Hall 78%
Mark Souder 78%
Charles Boustany, Jr. 77%
Henry Brown, Jr. 77%
MS U.S. House 3 Gregg Harper Republican 77%
Mike Johanns 77%
Jerry Lewis 77%
PA U.S. House 9 Bill Shuster Republican 77%
Bob Bennett 76%
Pete Hoekstra 76%
OK U.S. House 3 Frank Lucas Republican 76%
Spencer Bachus 73%
Brian Bilbray 73%
Dave Camp 73%
CO U.S. House 6 Michael Coffman Republican 73%
IA U.S. Senate Sr Chuck Grassley Republican 73%
NV U.S. Senate Sr Dean Heller Republican 73%
KS U.S. House 2 Lynn Jenkins Republican 73%
Jon Kyl 73%
Chris Lee 73%
MO U.S. House 3 Blaine Luetkemeyer Republican 73%
Buck McKeon 73%
WA U.S. House 5 Cathy McMorris Rodgers Republican 73%
Ron Paul 73%
Tom Petri 73%
AL U.S. House 3 Mike Rogers Republican 73%
Mike Rogers 73%
IL U.S. House 6 Peter Roskam Republican 73%
VA U.S. House 1 Rob Wittman Republican 73%
Kay Bailey Hutchison 72%
Elton Gallegly 72%
MO U.S. House 6 Sam Graves Republican 72%
NC U.S. House 3 Walter Jones, Jr. Republican 72%
AZ U.S. Senate Sr John McCain III Republican 71%
Zach Wamp 71%
Ed Whitfield 71%
TN U.S. Senate Jr Robert Corker Republican 70%
SC U.S. Senate Sr Lindsey Graham Republican 69%
Steve Austria 68%
FL U.S. House 12 Gus Bilirakis Republican 68%
Ginny Brown-Waite 68%
KY U.S. House 2 Brett Guthrie Republican 68%
Tom Latham 68%
TX U.S. House 10 Michael McCaul Republican 68%
Thaddeus McCotter 68%
Denny Rehberg 68%
TN U.S. House 1 Phil Roe Republican 68%
KY U.S. House 5 Hal Rogers Republican 68%
FL U.S. House 17 Tom Rooney Republican 68%
Aaron Schock 68%
PA U.S. House 5 G.T. Thompson, Jr. Republican 68%
OH U.S. House 12 Pat Tiberi Republican 68%
Frank Wolf 68%
Bill Young 68%
Kit Bond 67%
Bobby Bright 67%
UT U.S. Senate Sr Orrin Hatch Republican 67%
IL U.S. House 15 John Shimkus Republican 67%
Melquiades Martinez 66%
TN U.S. Senate Sr Lamar Alexander Republican 65%
FL U.S. House 16 Vern Buchanan Republican 65%
NE U.S. House 1 Jeff Fortenberry Republican 65%
NY U.S. House 2 Pete King Republican 65%
Candice Miller 65%
PA U.S. House 18 Tim Murphy Republican 65%
MN U.S. House 3 Erik Paulsen Republican 65%
Adam Putnam 65%
ID U.S. House 2 Mike Simpson Republican 65%
Lee Terry 65%
OH U.S. House 10 Mike Turner Republican 65%
AK U.S. House At-Large Donald Young Republican 65%
WV U.S. Senate Jr Shelley Capito Republican 64%
Ander Crenshaw 64%
Judd Gregg 64%
Jo Ann Emerson 63%
Parker Griffith, Jr. 63%
Tim Johnson 63%
Steve LaTourette 63%
NJ U.S. House 2 Frank LoBiondo Republican 63%
John McHugh 63%
George Voinovich 63%
Mary Bono Mack 62%
LA U.S. Senate Sr Bill Cassidy Republican 62%
Vern Ehlers 62%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Skip to top

Help us stay free for all your Fellow Americans

Just $5 from everyone reading this would do it.

Back to top