Search Form
First, enter a politician or zip code
Now, choose a category

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: National Journal

2008 Composite Conservative Score

Issues: Conservative
State Office District Name Party Rating
Paul Broun 97.3%
Trent Franks 97.3%
TX U.S. House 5 Jeb Hensarling Republican 97.3%
J. Gresham Barrett 97%
Todd Akin 96.8%
NC U.S. House 5 Virginia Foxx Republican 96.3%
CO U.S. House 5 Doug Lamborn Republican 96.3%
Jeff Miller 96.3%
IA U.S. House 4 Steve King Republican 95.8%
John Shadegg 95.7%
Tom Price 95.5%
CA U.S. House 39 Ed Royce Republican 95%
Phil Gingrey 94.7%
William Sali 94.7%
TX U.S. House 24 Kenny Marchant Republican 94.3%
John Boehner 93.7%
Chris Cannon 93.7%
WY U.S. Senate Jr John Barrasso Republican 93.2%
John Ensign 93.2%
WY U.S. Senate Sr Mike Enzi Republican 93.2%
Jon Kyl 93.2%
NA Vice President Mike Pence Republican 92.7%
James DeMint 92.3%
Randy Neugebauer 92.2%
MO U.S. Senate Jr Roy Blunt Republican 92%
Thomas Coburn 92%
NE U.S. House 3 Adrian Smith Republican 91.8%
Wally Herger, Jr. 91.5%
Wayne Allard 91.3%
NC U.S. House 10 Patrick McHenry Republican 91.2%
TX U.S. House 11 Mike Conaway Republican 91%
George Radanovich 91%
OK U.S. Senate Sr Jim Inhofe Republican 90.7%
TX U.S. House 13 Mac Thornberry Republican 90.7%
Lynn Westmoreland 90.7%
UT U.S. House 1 Rob Bishop Republican 90.3%
Jim Bunning 90.3%
AZ U.S. Senate Jr Jeff Flake Republican 90.2%
OH U.S. House 4 Jim Jordan Republican 90.2%
David Vitter 90%
Michele Bachmann 89.7%
Joe Pitts 89.7%
John Kline 89.3%
TX U.S. House 7 John Culberson Republican 89.2%
TX U.S. House 32 Pete Sessions Republican 89.2%
SD U.S. Senate Sr John Thune Republican 88.8%
John Campbell III 88.7%
Barbara Cubin 88.7%
John Doolittle 88.7%
TX U.S. House 6 Joe Barton Republican 88.3%
TX U.S. House 3 Sam Johnson Republican 88.3%
NC U.S. Senate Sr Richard Burr Republican 88.2%
TX U.S. House 31 John Carter Republican 88.2%
Terry Everett 88.2%
TX U.S. House 2 Ted Poe Republican 87.8%
Dan Burton 87.7%
WI U.S. House 1 Paul Ryan Republican 87.5%
John Linder 87.3%
LA U.S. House 1 Steve Scalise Republican 87.3%
TX U.S. House 8 Kevin Brady Republican 86.8%
Geoff Davis 86.8%
David Weldon 86.5%
Tom Tancredo 86.3%
Doc Hastings 86.2%
CA U.S. House 49 Darrell Issa Republican 86.2%
Connie Mack IV 86.2%
TN U.S. House 7 Marsha Blackburn Republican 86%
Dan Lungren 86%
James McCrery III 86%
GA Governor Nathan Deal Republican 85.8%
OH U.S. House 5 Bob Latta Republican 85.8%
Sue Myrick 85.5%
Kit Bond 85.3%
KY U.S. Senate Sr Mitch McConnell Republican 85.3%
Eric Cantor 85%
PA U.S. House 9 Bill Shuster Republican 85%
John Mica 84.8%
SC U.S. House 2 Joe Wilson, Sr. Republican 84.8%
Duncan Hunter 84.7%
Gary Miller 84.7%
SC U.S. Senate Sr Lindsey Graham Republican 84.5%
Adam Putnam 84.3%
John Sullivan 84.2%
VA U.S. House 6 Bob Goodlatte Republican 84%
Tom Feeney 83.8%
Scott Garrett 83.8%
Saxby Chambliss 83.7%
TX U.S. Senate Sr John Cornyn Republican 83.5%
TX U.S. House 26 Michael Burgess Republican 83%
CA U.S. House 42 Ken Calvert Republican 83%
Ralph Hall 82.8%
ID U.S. Senate Sr Mike Crapo Republican 82.7%
Ron Lewis 82.7%
CA U.S. House 22 Devin Nunes Republican 82.7%
IA U.S. Senate Sr Chuck Grassley Republican 82.3%
David Davis 82.2%
NM U.S. House 2 Steve Pearce Republican 82.2%
Jo Bonner, Jr. 82%
TX U.S. House 12 Kay Granger Republican 81.8%
TX U.S. House 1 Louie Gohmert Republican 81.7%
Jack Kingston 81.7%
WI U.S. House 5 Jim Sensenbrenner, Jr. Republican 81.7%
Pete Hoekstra 81.3%
CA U.S. House 48 Dana Rohrabacher Republican 81.3%
TX U.S. House 21 Lamar Smith Republican 80.8%
Cliff Stearns 80.8%
Buck McKeon 80.7%
Kay Bailey Hutchison 80.3%
Randy Forbes 80.3%
Larry Craig 79.7%
MI U.S. House 7 Tim Walberg Republican 79.5%
Howard Coble 79.3%
OK U.S. House 3 Frank Lucas Republican 79.2%
NA U.S. Attorney General Jeff Sessions III Republican 79.2%
Judd Gregg 79%
OK U.S. House 4 Tom Cole Republican 78.8%
MS U.S. Senate Sr Roger Wicker Republican 78.7%
TN U.S. Senate Sr Lamar Alexander Republican 78.5%
GA U.S. Senate Sr Johnny Isakson Republican 78.3%
Brian Bilbray 78%
TN U.S. Senate Jr Robert Corker Republican 77.8%
Jerry Lewis 77.7%
Marilyn Musgrave 77.5%
Virgil Goode, Jr. 77.3%
WA U.S. House 5 Cathy McMorris Rodgers Republican 77.3%
OK Governor Mary Fallin Republican 77.2%
AL U.S. House 4 Robert Aderholt Republican 77%
Jean Schmidt 76.7%
KY U.S. House 5 Hal Rogers Republican 76.5%
Dave Camp 76.2%
TX U.S. House 10 Michael McCaul Republican 76.2%
Sam Brownback 76%
Richard Keller 75.8%
AR U.S. Senate Sr John Boozman Republican 75.7%
Zach Wamp 75.7%
Don Manzullo 75.5%
Thomas Reynolds 75.2%
UT U.S. Senate Sr Orrin Hatch Republican 74.8%
Elton Gallegly 74.7%
Thelma Drake 74.5%
John Peterson 74.5%
IL U.S. House 15 John Shimkus Republican 74.3%
Mark Souder 74.3%
Heather Wilson 74.3%
CA U.S. House 23 Kevin McCarthy Republican 74.2%
Mike Rogers 74%
AL U.S. Senate Sr Richard Shelby Republican 73.7%
Vito Fossella, Jr. 73.3%
Thaddeus McCotter 73.3%
Charles Boustany, Jr. 73.2%
Ed Whitfield 72.8%
Todd Tiahrt 72.7%
VA U.S. House 1 Rob Wittman Republican 72.7%
Bob Inglis, Sr. 72.3%
Rodney Alexander 72.2%
NV U.S. Senate Sr Dean Heller Republican 72%
Pat Tiberi 71.7%
Spencer Bachus 71.3%
Kenny Hulshof 71.3%
Ginny Brown-Waite 70.8%
Jim Saxton 70.8%
Steve Buyer 70.5%
MO U.S. House 6 Sam Graves Republican 70.5%
IL U.S. House 6 Peter Roskam Republican 70.5%
Lee Terry 70.3%
Henry Brown, Jr. 70.2%
KS U.S. Senate Sr Pat Roberts Republican 70.2%
ID U.S. House 2 Mike Simpson Republican 70.2%
TN U.S. House 2 John Duncan, Jr. Republican 69.5%
Tom Latham 69.5%
OH U.S. House 10 Mike Turner Republican 69.3%
Roscoe Bartlett 69.2%
Ron Paul 69.2%
FL U.S. House 12 Gus Bilirakis Republican 69%
Richard Renzi 69%
David Dreier 68.5%
OR U.S. House 2 Greg Walden Republican 68.3%
NJ U.S. House 11 Rodney Frelinghuysen Republican 68%
KS U.S. Senate Jr Jerry Moran Republican 67.8%
OH U.S. House 1 Steve Chabot Republican 67.7%
Tom Petri 67.5%
AL U.S. House 3 Mike Rogers Republican 67.5%
Frank Wolf 67.5%
Denny Rehberg 67.3%
Bill Young 66.7%
Pete Domenici, Jr. 66.2%
Bob Bennett 65.8%
John Sununu 65.8%
Thad Cochran 65.7%
Charles Pickering, Jr. 65.7%
John Kuhl, Jr. 65.3%
NC U.S. House 3 Walter Jones, Jr. Republican 65%
Todd Platts 65%
Thomas Davis III 64.8%
Mary Bono Mack 64.7%
Gerald Weller 64.7%
Robert Hayes 64.3%
Judy Biggert 64.2%
Ralph Regula 64.2%
Michael Ferguson 63.8%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Skip to top

Help us stay free for all your Fellow Americans

Just $5 from everyone reading this would do it.

Thank You!

You are about to be redirected to a secure checkout page.

Please note:

The total order amount will read $0.00 but know that a recurring donation of the amount and frequency that you selected will be processed and initiated tomorrow. You may see a charge of $0.00 on your statement.

Continue to secure page »

Back to top