Search Form
First, enter a politician or zip code
Now, choose a category

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: Capitol Resource Institute

2007-2008 Positions

State Office District Name Party Rating
CA State Senate 38 Joel Anderson Republican 100%
Roy Ashburn 100%
David Cogdill 100%
Dave Cox 100%
Charles DeVore 100%
Robert Dutton 100%
Michael Duvall 100%
Dennis Hollingsworth 100%
George Runner, Jr. 100%
Jim Silva 100%
Audra Strickland 100%
Mike Villines 100%
CA U.S. House 45 Mimi Walters Republican 100%
John Benoit 94%
CA State Senate 8 Tom Berryhill Republican 94%
CA U.S. House 8 Paul Cook Republican 94%
CA State Senate 16 Jean Fuller Republican 94%
CA State Senate 1 Ted Gaines Republican 94%
Martin Garrick 94%
CA Supervisor 1 Kevin Jeffries 94%
Cameron Smyth 94%
Van Tran 94%
Samuel Aanestad 93%
Tom Harman 93%
Mark Wyland 93%
Roger Niello 88%
CA U.S. House 10 Jeff Denham Republican 87%
Anthony Adams 82%
Sam Blakeslee 82%
Bill Emmerson 82%
Robert Huff 82%
Abel Maldonado 80%
CA State Senate 5 Cathleen Galgiani Democratic 41%
CA U.S. House 46 Lou Correa Democratic 33%
Dean Florez 33%
Charles Calderon 29%
Juan Arambula 18%
Mike Davis 18%
Denise Ducheny 13%
Jenny Oropeza 13%
CA Supervisor 5 Joe Simitian No Party Affiliation 13%
CA Mayor At-Large Darrell Steinberg Democratic 13%
Amina Carter 12%
Joe Coto 12%
CA U.S. House 11 Mark DeSaulnier Democratic 12%
Loni Hancock 12%
CA Council Member 9 Curren Price, Jr. 12%
Jose Solorio 12%
Sandré Swanson 12%
Alberto Torrico 12%
Gloria Negrete McLeod 7%
CA Secretary of State Alex Padilla Democratic 7%
Leland Yee 7%
CA U.S. House 37 Karen Bass Democratic 6%
CA State Senate 15 Jim Beall, Jr. Democratic 6%
CA U.S. House 26 Julia Brownley Democratic 6%
CA State Assembly 30 Anna Caballero Democratic 6%
Hector De La Torre 6%
CA State Senate 24 Kevin de Leon Democratic 6%
Mike Eng 6%
Noreen Evans 6%
Mike Feuer 6%
CA Council Member 7 Felipe Fuentes 6%
Mary Hayashi 6%
CA State Senate 22 Ed Hernandez Democratic 6%
CA U.S. House 2 Jared Huffman Democratic 6%
Dave Jones 6%
CA Council Member 2 Paul Krekorian 6%
Mark Leno 6%
CA U.S. House 33 Ted Lieu Democratic 6%
Fiona Ma 6%
CA State Senate 32 Tony Mendoza Democratic 6%
Pedro Nava 6%
CA State Senate 25 Anthony Portantino, Jr. Democratic 6%
Ira Ruskin 6%
CA Mayor At-Large Mary Salas 6%
Lori Saldaña 6%
Lois Wolk 6%
Elaine Alquist 0%
Ron Calderon 0%
CA Council Member 1 Gilbert Cedillo 0%
Ellen Corbett 0%
Christine Kehoe 0%
CA U.S. House 47 Alan Lowenthal Democratic 0%
Gloria Romero 0%
CA State Superintendent of Public Instruction Tom Torlakson Non-partisan 0%
Patricia Wiggins 0%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Skip to top

Help us stay free for all your Fellow Americans

Just $5 from everyone reading this would do it.

Back to top