Search Form
First, enter a politician or zip code
Now, choose a category

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: Environment America

2009 Positions

Issues: Environment
State Office District Name Party Rating
Neil Abercrombie 100%
Gary Ackerman 100%
AL U.S. House 4 Robert Aderholt Republican 13%
John Adler 100%
Daniel Akaka, Sr. 100%
Todd Akin 13%
TN U.S. Senate Sr Lamar Alexander Republican 0%
Rodney Alexander 20%
Jason Altmire 87%
Rob Andrews 93%
Michael Arcuri 93%
Steve Austria 0%
Joe Baca, Sr. 100%
Michele Bachmann 20%
Spencer Bachus 33%
Kay Bailey Hutchison 0%
Brian Baird 100%
WI U.S. Senate Jr Tammy Baldwin Democratic 100%
WY U.S. Senate Jr John Barrasso Republican 14%
J. Gresham Barrett 13%
John Barrow 87%
Roscoe Bartlett 20%
TX U.S. House 6 Joe Barton Republican 13%
Max Baucus 100%
Evan Bayh 86%
Melissa Bean 93%
CA Attorney General Xavier Becerra Democratic 100%
Mark Begich 75%
Bob Bennett 14%
Shelley Berkley 100%
Howard Berman 100%
Marion Berry 87%
Judy Biggert 27%
Brian Bilbray 27%
FL U.S. House 12 Gus Bilirakis Republican 40%
Jeff Bingaman 100%
UT U.S. House 1 Rob Bishop Republican 13%
GA U.S. House 2 Sanford Bishop, Jr. Democratic 93%
Tim Bishop 100%
TN U.S. House 7 Marsha Blackburn Republican 13%
OR U.S. House 3 Earl Blumenauer Democratic 100%
MO U.S. Senate Jr Roy Blunt Republican 13%
OH State House 59 John Boccieri Democratic 100%
John Boehner 13%
Kit Bond 0%
Jo Bonner, Jr. 13%
Mary Bono Mack 53%
AR U.S. Senate Sr John Boozman Republican 27%
Dan Boren 73%
Leonard Boswell 100%
Rick Boucher 100%
Charles Boustany, Jr. 20%
Barbara Boxer 100%
Allen Boyd, Jr. 100%
TX U.S. House 8 Kevin Brady Republican 7%
PA U.S. House 1 Bob Brady Democratic 100%
Bruce Braley 80%
Bobby Bright 33%
Paul Broun 0%
Corrine Brown 87%
Henry Brown, Jr. 27%
OH U.S. Senate Sr Sherrod Brown Democratic 71%
Sam Brownback 0%
Ginny Brown-Waite 60%
FL U.S. House 16 Vern Buchanan Republican 53%
Jim Bunning 0%
TX U.S. House 26 Michael Burgess Republican 7%
NC U.S. Senate Sr Richard Burr Republican 0%
Dan Burton 7%
NC U.S. House 1 G.K. Butterfield, Jr. Democratic 93%
Steve Buyer 33%
Robert Byrd 57%
CA U.S. House 42 Ken Calvert Republican 20%
Dave Camp 13%
John Campbell III 7%
Eric Cantor 20%
WA U.S. Senate Jr Maria Cantwell Democratic 100%
Joseph Cao 33%
WV U.S. Senate Jr Shelley Capito Republican 53%
Lois Capps 100%
MA U.S. House 7 Mike Capuano Democratic 93%
MD U.S. Senate Sr Ben Cardin Democratic 100%
Dennis Cardoza 100%
Russ Carnahan 100%
Christopher Carney 93%
DE U.S. Senate Sr Tom Carper Democratic 100%
IN U.S. House 7 André Carson Democratic 100%
TX U.S. House 31 John Carter Republican 7%
PA U.S. Senate Sr Bob Casey, Jr. Democratic 100%
LA U.S. Senate Sr Bill Cassidy Republican 17%
Mike Castle 67%
FL U.S. House 14 Kathy Castor Democratic 87%
Jason Chaffetz 0%
Saxby Chambliss 0%
Ben Chandler III 93%
Travis Childers 69%
NY U.S. House 9 Yvette Clarke Democratic 100%
MO U.S. House 1 Lacy Clay, Jr. Democratic 100%
MO U.S. House 5 Emanuel Cleaver II Democratic 93%
SC U.S. House 6 Jim Clyburn Democratic 93%
Howard Coble 13%
Thomas Coburn 0%
Thad Cochran 14%
CO U.S. House 6 Michael Coffman Republican 0%
TN U.S. House 9 Steve Cohen Democratic 100%
OK U.S. House 4 Tom Cole Republican 33%
ME U.S. Senate Sr Susan Collins Republican 71%
TX U.S. House 11 Mike Conaway Republican 7%
VA U.S. House 11 Gerry Connolly Democratic 100%
Kent Conrad 86%
John Conyers, Jr. 93%
TN U.S. House 5 Jim Cooper Democratic 93%
TN U.S. Senate Jr Robert Corker Republican 14%
TX U.S. Senate Sr John Cornyn Republican 0%
CA U.S. House 16 Jim Costa Democratic 87%
Jerry Costello 93%
CT U.S. House 2 Joe Courtney Democratic 100%
ID U.S. Senate Sr Mike Crapo Republican 14%
Ander Crenshaw 33%
NY U.S. House 14 Joe Crowley Democratic 87%
TX U.S. House 28 Henry Cuellar Democratic 100%
TX U.S. House 7 John Culberson Republican 13%
MD U.S. House 7 Elijah Cummings Democratic 100%
Kathy Dahlkemper 83%
Artur Davis 93%
IL U.S. House 7 Danny Davis Democratic 100%
Geoff Davis 20%
Lincoln Davis 87%
CA U.S. House 53 Susan Davis Democratic 100%
GA Governor Nathan Deal Republican 13%
OR U.S. House 4 Peter DeFazio Democratic 80%
CO U.S. House 1 Diana DeGette Democratic 87%
Bill Delahunt 100%
CT U.S. House 3 Rosa DeLauro Democratic 100%
James DeMint 0%
Charlie Dent 60%
Lincoln Diaz-Balart 53%
FL U.S. House 25 Mario Diaz-Balart Republican 47%
Norm Dicks 100%
John Dingell 100%
Chris Dodd 100%
TX U.S. House 35 Lloyd Doggett II Democratic 93%
IN U.S. Senate Sr Joe Donnelly, Sr. Democratic 67%
Byron Dorgan 86%
PA U.S. House 14 Mike Doyle, Jr. Democratic 100%
David Dreier 7%
Steve Driehaus 100%
TN U.S. House 2 John Duncan, Jr. Republican 20%
IL U.S. Senate Sr Dick Durbin Democratic 100%
Donna Edwards 100%
Chet Edwards 87%
Vern Ehlers 73%
MN U.S. House 5 Keith Ellison Democratic 93%
Brad Ellsworth 80%
Jo Ann Emerson 27%
NY U.S. House 16 Eliot Engel Democratic 93%
John Ensign 0%
WY U.S. Senate Sr Mike Enzi Republican 14%
CA U.S. House 18 Anna Eshoo Democratic 100%
Bob Etheridge 100%
OK Governor Mary Fallin Republican 27%
Sam Farr 100%
Chaka Fattah, Sr. 100%
Russ Feingold 100%
CA U.S. Senate Sr Dianne Feinstein Democratic 100%
Bob Filner 100%
AZ U.S. Senate Jr Jeff Flake Republican 7%
John Fleming, Jr. 0%
Randy Forbes 13%
NE U.S. House 1 Jeff Fortenberry Republican 47%
IL U.S. House 11 Bill Foster Democratic 87%
NC U.S. House 5 Virginia Foxx Republican 7%
Barney Frank 100%
Trent Franks 7%
NJ U.S. House 11 Rodney Frelinghuysen Republican 47%
OH U.S. House 11 Marcia Fudge Democratic 83%
Elton Gallegly 13%
Scott Garrett 20%
Jim Gerlach 60%
Gabrielle Giffords 93%
Phil Gingrey 7%
TX U.S. House 1 Louie Gohmert Republican 27%
Charlie Gonzalez 87%
VA U.S. House 6 Bob Goodlatte Republican 20%
Bart Gordon 87%
SC U.S. Senate Sr Lindsey Graham Republican 0%
TX U.S. House 12 Kay Granger Republican 20%
IA U.S. Senate Sr Chuck Grassley Republican 0%
MO U.S. House 6 Sam Graves Republican 27%
Alan Grayson 100%
TX U.S. House 9 Al Green Democratic 93%
TX U.S. House 29 Gene Green Democratic 93%
Judd Gregg 0%
Parker Griffith, Jr. 50%
AZ U.S. House 3 Raul Grijalva Democratic 87%
KY U.S. House 2 Brett Guthrie Republican 0%
IL U.S. House 4 Luis Gutiérrez Democratic 87%
Kay Hagan 100%
John Hall 100%
Ralph Hall 13%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Skip to top

Help us stay free for all your Fellow Americans

Just $5 from everyone reading this would do it.

Thank You!

You are about to be redirected to a secure checkout page.

Please note:

The total order amount will read $0.01. This is a card processor fee. Please know that a recurring donation of the amount and frequency that you selected will be processed and initiated tomorrow. You may see a one-time charge of $0.01 on your statement.

Continue to secure page »

Back to top