Search Form
First, enter a politician or zip code
Now, choose a category

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: United States English

2007-2008 Positions on English as the Official Language

Issues: Immigration
State Office District Name Party Rating
Neil Abercrombie F
Gary Ackerman F
Daniel Akaka, Sr. F
Thomas Allen F
Rob Andrews F
Michael Arcuri F
Joe Baca, Sr. F
WI U.S. Senate Jr Tammy Baldwin Democratic F
Evan Bayh F
Melissa Bean F
CA Attorney General Xavier Becerra Democratic F
Shelley Berkley F
Howard Berman F
Marion Berry F
Joe Biden, Jr. F
Jeff Bingaman F
Tim Bishop F
OR U.S. House 3 Earl Blumenauer Democratic F
Leonard Boswell F
Rick Boucher F
Barbara Boxer F
Allen Boyd, Jr. F
Nancy Boyda F
PA U.S. House 1 Bob Brady Democratic F
Bruce Braley F
Corrine Brown F
OH U.S. Senate Sr Sherrod Brown Democratic F
NC U.S. House 1 G.K. Butterfield, Jr. Democratic F
WA U.S. Senate Jr Maria Cantwell Democratic F
Lois Capps F
MA U.S. House 7 Mike Capuano Democratic F
Dennis Cardoza F
PA U.S. Senate Sr Bob Casey, Jr. Democratic F
FL U.S. House 14 Kathy Castor Democratic F
Ben Chandler III F
NY U.S. House 9 Yvette Clarke Democratic F
MO U.S. House 1 Lacy Clay, Jr. Democratic F
MO U.S. House 5 Emanuel Cleaver II Democratic F
Hillary Clinton F
SC U.S. House 6 Jim Clyburn Democratic F
TN U.S. House 9 Steve Cohen Democratic F
TN U.S. House 5 Jim Cooper Democratic F
CA U.S. House 16 Jim Costa Democratic F
CT U.S. House 2 Joe Courtney Democratic F
NY U.S. House 14 Joe Crowley Democratic F
TX U.S. House 28 Henry Cuellar Democratic F
Artur Davis F
IL U.S. House 7 Danny Davis Democratic F
CA U.S. House 53 Susan Davis Democratic F
OR U.S. House 4 Peter DeFazio Democratic F
CO U.S. House 1 Diana DeGette Democratic F
Bill Delahunt F
CT U.S. House 3 Rosa DeLauro Democratic F
Lincoln Diaz-Balart F
FL U.S. House 25 Mario Diaz-Balart Republican F
Norm Dicks F
John Dingell F
Chris Dodd F
TX U.S. House 35 Lloyd Doggett II Democratic F
Pete Domenici, Jr. F
PA U.S. House 14 Mike Doyle Democratic F
IL U.S. Senate Sr Dick Durbin Democratic F
Chet Edwards F
MN U.S. House 5 Keith Ellison Democratic F
IL Mayor At-Large Rahm Emanuel Democratic F
NY U.S. House 16 Eliot Engel Democratic F
CA U.S. House 18 Anna Eshoo Democratic F
Bob Etheridge F
Sam Farr F
Chaka Fattah, Sr. F
Russ Feingold F
CA U.S. Senate Sr Dianne Feinstein Democratic F
Bob Filner F
Barney Frank F
Gabrielle Giffords F
Charlie Gonzalez F
TX U.S. House 9 Al Green Democratic F
TX U.S. House 29 Gene Green Democratic F
AZ U.S. House 3 Raul Grijalva Democratic F
IL U.S. House 4 Luis Gutiérrez Democratic F
John Hall F
Phil Hare F
Tom Harkin F
FL U.S. House 20 Alcee Hastings, Sr. Democratic F
NY U.S. House 26 Brian Higgins Democratic F
Maurice Hinchey F
Rubén Hinojosa, Sr. F
HI U.S. Senate Jr Mazie Hirono Democratic F
Paul Hodes F
Rush Holt, Jr. F
Mike Honda F
Darlene Hooley F
MD U.S. House 5 Steny Hoyer Democratic F
Daniel Inouye F
WA Governor Jay Inslee Democratic F
Steve Israel F
Jesse Jackson, Jr. F
TX U.S. House 18 Sheila Jackson Lee Democratic F
William Jefferson F
TX U.S. House 30 Eddie Johnson Democratic F
GA U.S. House 4 Hank Johnson, Jr. Democratic F
OH U.S. House 9 Marcy Kaptur Democratic F
Edward Kennedy, Sr. F
Patrick Kennedy F
John Kerry F
Dale Kildee F
Carolyn Kilpatrick F
WI U.S. House 3 Ron Kind Democratic F
Ron Klein F
Herb Kohl F
Dennis Kucinich F
RI U.S. House 2 Jim Langevin Democratic F
WA U.S. House 2 Rick Larsen Democratic F
CT U.S. House 1 John Larson Democratic F
VT U.S. Senate Sr Patrick Leahy Democratic F
CA U.S. House 13 Barbara Lee Democratic F
Carl Levin F
MI U.S. House 9 Sandy Levin Democratic F
GA U.S. House 5 John Lewis Democratic F
Joe Lieberman F
IA U.S. House 2 Dave Loebsack Democratic F
CA U.S. House 19 Zoe Lofgren Democratic F
NY U.S. House 17 Nita Lowey Democratic F
MA U.S. House 8 Stephen Lynch Democratic F
Tim Mahoney F
NY U.S. House 12 Carolyn Maloney Democratic F
MA U.S. Senate Jr Ed Markey Democratic F
CA U.S. House 6 Doris Matsui Democratic F
Carolyn McCarthy F
MN U.S. House 4 Betty McCollum Democratic F
Jim McDermott F
MA U.S. House 2 Jim McGovern Democratic F
Michael McNulty F
Kendrick Meek, Sr. F
NJ U.S. Senate Sr Bob Menendez Democratic F
Mike Michaud F
George Miller F
Brad Miller F
Alan Mollohan F
Dennis Moore F
WI U.S. House 4 Gwen Moore Democratic F
Jim Moran, Jr. F
CT U.S. Senate Jr Chris Murphy Democratic F
Patrick Murphy F
WA U.S. Senate Sr Patty Murray Democratic F
Jack Murtha F
NY U.S. House 10 Jerry Nadler Democratic F
CA U.S. House 32 Grace Napolitano Democratic F
MA U.S. House 1 Richard Neal Democratic F
Barack Obama II F
Jim Oberstar F
Dave Obey F
John Olver F
Solomon Ortiz, Sr. F
NJ U.S. House 6 Frank Pallone, Jr. Democratic F
NJ U.S. House 9 Bill Pascrell, Jr. Democratic F
Ed Pastor F
Donald Payne F
CA U.S. House 12 Nancy Pelosi Democratic F
CO U.S. House 7 Ed Perlmutter Democratic F
Earl Pomeroy F
NC U.S. House 4 David Price Democratic F
Nick Rahall II F
Charlie Rangel F
RI U.S. Senate Sr Jack Reed Democratic F
Harry Reid F
Silvestre Reyes F
Jay Rockefeller IV F
Ciro Rodriguez F
FL U.S. House 27 Ileana Ros-Lehtinen Republican F
CA U.S. House 40 Lucille Roybal-Allard Democratic F
MD U.S. House 2 Dutch Ruppersberger Democratic F
IL U.S. House 1 Bobby Rush Democratic F
OH U.S. House 13 Tim Ryan Democratic F
John Salazar F
Ken Salazar F
Loretta Sanchez F
CA U.S. House 38 Linda Sánchez Democratic F
VT U.S. Senate Jr Bernie Sanders Independent F
MD U.S. House 3 John Sarbanes Democratic F
IL U.S. House 9 Jan Schakowsky Democratic F
CA U.S. House 28 Adam Schiff Democratic F
NY U.S. Senate Sr Chuck Schumer Democratic F
Allyson Schwartz F
GA U.S. House 13 David Scott Democratic F
VA U.S. House 3 Bobby Scott Democratic F
NY U.S. House 15 José Serrano Democratic F
Joe Sestak, Jr. F
NH U.S. House 1 Carol Shea-Porter Democratic F
CA U.S. House 30 Brad Sherman Democratic F
NY U.S. House 25 Louise Slaughter Democratic F
WA U.S. House 9 Adam Smith Democratic F
Vic Snyder F
CA Supervisor 1 Hilda Solis F
MI U.S. Senate Sr Debbie Stabenow Democratic F
Pete Stark F
Bart Stupak F
Betty Sutton F
Ellen Tauscher F
MS U.S. House 2 Bennie Thompson Democratic F

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Skip to top

Help us stay free for all your Fellow Americans

Just $5 from everyone reading this would do it.

Back to top