Search Form
First, enter a politician or zip code
Now, choose a category

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: Sargent Shriver National Center on Poverty Law

2008 Positions

State Office District Name Party Rating
Neil Abercrombie 100%
Gary Ackerman 100%
AL U.S. House 4 Robert Aderholt Republican 53%
Daniel Akaka, Sr. 100%
Todd Akin 18%
TN U.S. Senate Sr Lamar Alexander Republican 22%
Rodney Alexander 41%
Jason Altmire 88%
Rob Andrews 100%
Michael Arcuri 94%
Joe Baca, Sr. 93%
Michele Bachmann 35%
Spencer Bachus 47%
Kay Bailey Hutchison 22%
Brian Baird 94%
WI U.S. Senate Jr Tammy Baldwin Democratic 100%
WY U.S. Senate Jr John Barrasso Republican 22%
J. Gresham Barrett 12%
John Barrow 88%
Roscoe Bartlett 24%
TX U.S. House 6 Joe Barton Republican 41%
Max Baucus 100%
Evan Bayh 78%
Melissa Bean 88%
CA Attorney General Xavier Becerra Democratic 100%
Bob Bennett 33%
Shelley Berkley 94%
Howard Berman 100%
Marion Berry 88%
Judy Biggert 53%
Brian Bilbray 47%
FL U.S. House 12 Gus Bilirakis Republican 47%
Jeff Bingaman 100%
UT U.S. House 1 Rob Bishop Republican 33%
GA U.S. House 2 Sanford Bishop, Jr. Democratic 100%
Tim Bishop 100%
TN U.S. House 7 Marsha Blackburn Republican 18%
OR U.S. House 3 Earl Blumenauer Democratic 100%
MO U.S. Senate Jr Roy Blunt Republican 24%
John Boehner 25%
Kit Bond 29%
Jo Bonner, Jr. 47%
Mary Bono Mack 59%
AR U.S. Senate Sr John Boozman Republican 47%
Dan Boren 82%
Leonard Boswell 100%
Rick Boucher 100%
Charles Boustany, Jr. 53%
Barbara Boxer 100%
Allen Boyd, Jr. 88%
TX U.S. House 8 Kevin Brady Republican 29%
PA U.S. House 1 Bob Brady Democratic 100%
Bruce Braley 100%
Paul Broun 6%
Corrine Brown 100%
Henry Brown, Jr. 56%
OH U.S. Senate Sr Sherrod Brown Democratic 100%
Sam Brownback 44%
Ginny Brown-Waite 58%
FL U.S. House 16 Vern Buchanan Republican 65%
Jim Bunning 29%
TX U.S. House 26 Michael Burgess Republican 50%
NC U.S. Senate Sr Richard Burr Republican 29%
Dan Burton 18%
NC U.S. House 1 G.K. Butterfield, Jr. Democratic 100%
Steve Buyer 44%
Robert Byrd 100%
CA U.S. House 42 Ken Calvert Republican 53%
Dave Camp 50%
John Campbell III 7%
Eric Cantor 24%
WA U.S. Senate Jr Maria Cantwell Democratic 100%
WV U.S. Senate Jr Shelley Capito Republican 76%
Lois Capps 100%
MA U.S. House 7 Mike Capuano Democratic 100%
MD U.S. Senate Sr Ben Cardin Democratic 100%
Dennis Cardoza 94%
Russ Carnahan 100%
Christopher Carney 88%
DE U.S. Senate Sr Tom Carper Democratic 100%
IN U.S. House 7 André Carson Democratic 100%
TX U.S. House 31 John Carter Republican 24%
PA U.S. Senate Sr Bob Casey, Jr. Democratic 100%
Mike Castle 71%
FL U.S. House 14 Kathy Castor Democratic 100%
OH U.S. House 1 Steve Chabot Republican 38%
Saxby Chambliss 33%
Ben Chandler III 94%
Travis Childers 92%
NY U.S. House 9 Yvette Clarke Democratic 100%
MO U.S. House 1 Lacy Clay, Jr. Democratic 100%
MO U.S. House 5 Emanuel Cleaver II Democratic 100%
SC U.S. House 6 Jim Clyburn Democratic 100%
Howard Coble 41%
Thomas Coburn 0%
Thad Cochran 33%
TN U.S. House 9 Steve Cohen Democratic 100%
OK U.S. House 4 Tom Cole Republican 35%
ME U.S. Senate Sr Susan Collins Republican 100%
TX U.S. House 11 Mike Conaway Republican 24%
Kent Conrad 100%
John Conyers, Jr. 100%
TN U.S. House 5 Jim Cooper Democratic 93%
TN U.S. Senate Jr Robert Corker Republican 0%
TX U.S. Senate Sr John Cornyn Republican 13%
CA U.S. House 16 Jim Costa Democratic 94%
Jerry Costello 100%
CT U.S. House 2 Joe Courtney Democratic 100%
ID U.S. Senate Sr Mike Crapo Republican 33%
Ander Crenshaw 41%
NY U.S. House 14 Joe Crowley Democratic 94%
TX U.S. House 28 Henry Cuellar Democratic 94%
TX U.S. House 7 John Culberson Republican 38%
MD U.S. House 7 Elijah Cummings Democratic 100%
Artur Davis 100%
IL U.S. House 7 Danny Davis Democratic 100%
Geoff Davis 41%
Lincoln Davis 94%
CA U.S. House 53 Susan Davis Democratic 100%
GA Governor Nathan Deal Republican 25%
OR U.S. House 4 Peter DeFazio Democratic 94%
CO U.S. House 1 Diana DeGette Democratic 100%
Bill Delahunt 100%
CT U.S. House 3 Rosa DeLauro Democratic 100%
James DeMint 0%
PA U.S. House 15 Charlie Dent Republican 76%
Lincoln Diaz-Balart 94%
FL U.S. House 25 Mario Diaz-Balart Republican 94%
Norm Dicks 100%
John Dingell 100%
Chris Dodd 100%
TX U.S. House 35 Lloyd Doggett II Democratic 100%
IN U.S. Senate Sr Joe Donnelly, Sr. Democratic 82%
Byron Dorgan 100%
PA U.S. House 14 Mike Doyle, Jr. Democratic 100%
David Dreier 47%
TN U.S. House 2 John Duncan, Jr. Republican 6%
IL U.S. Senate Sr Dick Durbin Democratic 100%
Chet Edwards 94%
Vern Ehlers 59%
MN U.S. House 5 Keith Ellison Democratic 100%
Brad Ellsworth 82%
Jo Ann Emerson 65%
NY U.S. House 16 Eliot Engel Democratic 100%
John Ensign 22%
WY U.S. Senate Sr Mike Enzi Republican 22%
CA U.S. House 18 Anna Eshoo Democratic 100%
Bob Etheridge 100%
OK Governor Mary Fallin Republican 41%
Sam Farr 100%
Chaka Fattah, Sr. 100%
Russ Feingold 100%
CA U.S. Senate Sr Dianne Feinstein Democratic 100%
Bob Filner 100%
AZ U.S. Senate Jr Jeff Flake Republican 0%
Randy Forbes 56%
NE U.S. House 1 Jeff Fortenberry Republican 56%
IL U.S. House 11 Bill Foster Democratic 87%
NC U.S. House 5 Virginia Foxx Republican 24%
Barney Frank 100%
Trent Franks 12%
NJ U.S. House 11 Rodney Frelinghuysen Republican 35%
Elton Gallegly 50%
Scott Garrett 12%
Jim Gerlach 76%
Gabrielle Giffords 82%
NY U.S. Senate Jr Kirsten Gillibrand Democratic 94%
Phil Gingrey 24%
TX U.S. House 1 Louie Gohmert Republican 29%
Charlie Gonzalez 100%
VA U.S. House 6 Bob Goodlatte Republican 35%
Bart Gordon 100%
SC U.S. Senate Sr Lindsey Graham Republican 17%
TX U.S. House 12 Kay Granger Republican 35%
IA U.S. Senate Sr Chuck Grassley Republican 33%
MO U.S. House 6 Sam Graves Republican 59%
TX U.S. House 9 Al Green Democratic 100%
TX U.S. House 29 Gene Green Democratic 100%
Judd Gregg 22%
AZ U.S. House 3 Raul Grijalva Democratic 100%
IL U.S. House 4 Luis Gutiérrez Democratic 100%
John Hall 100%
Ralph Hall 53%
Phil Hare 100%
Tom Harkin 100%
Jane Harman 100%
FL U.S. House 20 Alcee Hastings, Sr. Democratic 100%
Doc Hastings 35%
UT U.S. Senate Sr Orrin Hatch Republican 22%
Robert Hayes 82%
NV U.S. Senate Sr Dean Heller Republican 59%
TX U.S. House 5 Jeb Hensarling Republican 0%
Wally Herger, Jr. 24%
Stephanie Herseth Sandlin 82%
NY U.S. House 26 Brian Higgins Democratic 100%
Baron Hill 82%
Maurice Hinchey 100%
Rubén Hinojosa, Sr. 100%
HI U.S. Senate Jr Mazie Hirono Democratic 100%
Paul Hodes 94%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Skip to top

Help us stay free for all your Fellow Americans

Just $5 from everyone reading this would do it.

Thank You!

You are about to be redirected to a secure checkout page.

Please note:

The total order amount will read $0.00 but know that a recurring donation of the amount and frequency that you selected will be processed and initiated tomorrow. You may see a charge of $0.00 on your statement.

Continue to secure page »

Back to top