Search Form
First, enter a politician or zip code
Now, choose a category

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: Grass Roots

2009 Positions

Issues: Conservative
State Office District Name Party Rating
UT State Senate 1 Luz Escamilla Democratic 32%
UT State Senate 3 Gene Davis Democratic 33%
UT State Senate 5 Karen Mayne Democratic 55%
UT State House 5 Curt Webb Republican 63%
UT State Senate 6 Wayne Harper Republican 69%
UT State House 8 Gage Froerer Republican 65%
UT State Senate 9 Wayne Niederhauser Republican 68%
UT State Senate 11 Howard Stephenson Republican 77%
UT State House 13 Paul Ray Republican 67%
UT State Senate 15 Margaret Dayton Republican 86%
UT State Senate 16 Curt Bramble Republican 65%
UT State Senate 17 Peter Knudson Republican 62%
UT State Senate 19 Allen Christensen Republican 67%
UT State House 20 Becky Edwards Republican 58%
UT State House 22 Susan Duckworth Democratic 28%
UT State House 24 Rebecca Chavez-Houck Democratic 11%
UT State Senate 24 Ralph Okerlund Republican 59%
UT State Senate 25 Lyle Hillyard Republican 63%
UT State Senate 26 Kevin Van Tassell Republican 52%
UT State Senate 27 David Hinkins Republican 71%
UT State House 28 Brian King Democratic 28%
UT State Senate 28 Evan Vickers Republican 56%
UT State Senate 29 Don Ipson Republican 63%
UT State House 35 Mark Wheatley Democratic 21%
UT State House 38 Eric Hutchings Republican 59%
UT State House 39 James Dunnigan Republican 68%
UT State House 40 Lynn Hemingway Democratic 33%
UT State House 46 Marie Poulson Democratic 50%
UT State House 51 Gregory Hughes Republican 79%
UT State House 60 Brad Daw Republican 74%
UT State House 61 Keith Grover Republican 89%
UT State House 65 Francis Gibson Republican 67%
UT State House 69 Christine Watkins Republican 28%
UT State House 71 Bradley Last Republican 71%
UT State House 73 Michael Noel Republican 83%
UT Mayor At-Large Ron Bigelow 42%
UT Commissioner At-Large Kerry Gibson Republican 78%
UT Mayor Jackie Biskupski Democratic 17%
UT Auditor John Dougall Republican 88%
UT Chairman of the Tax Commission John Valentine 67%
Doug Aagard 71%
Sheryl Allen 61%
Roger Barrus 63%
Trisha Beck 53%
Gregory Bell 50%
Jim Bird 63%
Laura Black 26%
Melvin Brown 61%
D. Chris Buttars 65%
David Clark 60%
Stephen Clark 61%
Tim Cosgrove 39%
Brad Dee 59%
Jack Draxler 50%
Ben Ferry 71%
Janice Fisher 50%
Julie Fisher 63%
Lorie Fowlke 69%
Craig Frank 71%
Kevin Garn 72%
Brent Goodfellow 42%
James Gowans 17%
Richard Greenwood 83%
Jon Greiner 71%
Neil Hansen 25%
Neal Hendrickson 33%
Christopher Herrod 83%
Kory Holdaway 56%
Fred Hunsaker 58%
Scott Jenkins 68%
Christine Johnson 16%
Patricia Jones 43%
Sheldon Killpack 70%
Todd Kiser 61%
Dan Liljenquist 50%
David Litvack 22%
Becky Lockhart 74%
Mark Madsen 85%
Steven Mascaro 67%
John Mathis 83%
Scott McCoy 27%
Kay McIff 38%
Ronda Menlove 59%
Karen Morgan 41%
Michael Morley 94%
Merlynn Newbold 83%
Curtis Oda 76%
Patrick Painter 76%
Kraig Powell 58%
Phil Riesen 17%
Ross Romero 27%
Stephen Sandstrom 82%
F. Jay Seegmiller 56%
Jennifer Seelig 33%
Carol Spackman Moss 28%
Dennis Stowell 68%
Kenneth Sumsion 95%
Stephen Urquhart 64%
Michael Waddoups 86%
Brent Wallis 63%
Ryan Wilcox 78%
Larry Wiley 33%
Carl Wimmer 94%
Bradley Winn 68%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Skip to top

Help us stay free for all your Fellow Americans

Just $5 from everyone reading this would do it.

Thank You!

You are about to be redirected to a secure checkout page.

Please note:

The total order amount will read $0.00 but know that a recurring donation of the amount and frequency that you selected will be processed and initiated tomorrow. You may see a charge of $0.00 on your statement.

Continue to secure page »

Back to top