Search Form
First, enter a politician or zip code
Now, choose a category

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: Grass Roots

2007 Positions on Conservative Issues

Issues: Conservative
State Office District Name Party Rating
UT State House 8 Gage Froerer Republican 50
UT State House 13 Paul Ray Republican 33
UT State House 35 Mark Wheatley Democratic 14
UT State House 38 Eric Hutchings Republican 52
UT State House 39 James Dunnigan Republican 39
UT State House 40 Lynn Hemingway Democratic 17
UT State House 51 Gregory Hughes Republican 61
UT State House 60 Brad Daw Republican 71
UT State House 61 Keith Grover Republican 59
UT State House 71 Bradley Last Republican 58
UT State House 73 Michael Noel Republican 57
UT State Senate 3 Gene Davis Democratic 19
UT State Senate 6 Wayne Harper Republican 65
UT State Senate 9 Wayne Niederhauser Republican 57
UT State Senate 11 Howard Stephenson Republican 72
UT State Senate 15 Margaret Dayton Republican 76
UT State Senate 16 Curt Bramble Republican 53
UT State Senate 17 Peter Knudson Republican 48
UT State Senate 19 Allen Christensen Republican 55
UT State Senate 25 Lyle Hillyard Republican 33
UT State Senate 26 Kevin Van Tassell Republican 43
UT Auditor John Dougall Republican 77
UT Chairman of the Tax Commission John Valentine 50
UT Mayor At-Large Ron Bigelow 45
UT Mayor Jackie Biskupski Democratic 22
UT Commissioner At-Large Kerry Gibson Republican 48
Doug Aagard 63
Sheryl Allen 29
Sylvia Andersen 54
Roger Barrus 58
Ralph Becker 8
Gregory Bell 47
Jim Bird 42
DeMar Bowman 11
Melvin Brown 42
D. Chris Buttars 59
David Buxton 41
David Clark 41
Stephen Clark 41
Tim Cosgrove 21
Greg Curtis 64
Brad Dee 35
Mike Dmitrich 35
Glenn Donnelson, Jr. 75
Jack Draxler 33
Carl Duckworth 48
Dan Eastman 47
Ben Ferry 54
Fred Fife III 24
Janice Fisher 32
Julie Fisher 48
Lorie Fowlke 48
Craig Frank 83
Kevin Garn 64
Brent Goodfellow 24
James Gowans 43
Jon Greiner 50
Neil Hansen 38
Neal Hendrickson 43
Christopher Herrod 75
John Hickman 59
Kory Holdaway 23
Fred Hunsaker 33
Scott Jenkins 71
Christine Johnson 17
Patricia Jones 21
Sheldon Killpack 53
Brad King 22
Todd Kiser 61
David Litvack 17
Becky Lockhart 76
Mark Madsen 65
Steven Mascaro 33
John Mathis 46
Ed Mayne 32
Scott McCoy 15
Rosalind McGee 13
Kay McIff 33
Ronda Menlove 25
Karen Morgan 25
Michael Morley 90
Paul Neuenschwander 48
Merlynn Newbold 64
Curtis Oda 77
Patrick Painter 55
Darin Peterson 60
Phil Riesen 17
Ross Romero 20
Stephen Sandstrom 67
Jennifer Seelig 17
LaWanna Shurtliff 18
Gordon Snow 26
Carol Spackman Moss 13
Dennis Stowell 55
Kenneth Sumsion 74
Aaron Tilton 91
Stephen Urquhart 65
Michael Waddoups 52
Carlene Walker 50
Mark Walker 43
Richard Wheeler 52
Larry Wiley 22
Carl Wimmer 77
Scott Wyatt 38

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Skip to top

Help us stay free for all your Fellow Americans

Just $5 from everyone reading this would do it.

Back to top