Search Form
First, enter a politician or zip code
Now, choose a category

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: Grass Roots

2003 Positions

Issues: Conservative
State Office District Name Party Rating
UT State House 32 LaVar Christensen Republican 47%
UT State House 36 Patrice Arent Democratic 20%
UT State House 38 Eric Hutchings Republican 42%
UT State House 39 James Dunnigan Republican 53%
UT State House 51 Gregory Hughes Republican 63%
UT State House 71 Bradley Last Republican 37%
UT State House 73 Michael Noel Republican 44%
UT State Senate 3 Gene Davis Democratic 21%
UT State Senate 6 Wayne Harper Republican 66%
UT State Senate 11 Howard Stephenson Republican 79%
UT State Senate 15 Margaret Dayton Republican 81%
UT State Senate 16 Curt Bramble Republican 35%
UT State Senate 17 Peter Knudson Republican 25%
UT State Senate 22 Stuart Adams Republican 35%
UT State Senate 25 Lyle Hillyard Republican 42%
UT Auditor John Dougall Republican 50%
UT Chairman of the Tax Commission John Valentine 29%
UT Mayor At-Large Ron Bigelow 44%
UT Mayor Jackie Biskupski Democratic 22%
UT Council Member At-Large David Ure 35%
UT Council Member North Craig Buttars Republican 42%
Doug Aagard 47%
Jeff Alexander 47%
Ron Allen 20%
Sheryl Allen 32%
Eli Anderson 37%
Roger Barrus 47%
Ralph Becker 22%
Gregory Bell 25%
Chad Bennion 72%
Calvin George Bird 32%
Leonard Blackham 41%
Duane Bourdeaux 6%
DeMar Bowman 33%
Katherine Bryson 63%
Judy Ann Buffmire 11%
Don Bush 47%
D. Chris Buttars 39%
David Buxton 32%
David Clark 47%
Stephen Clark 38%
David Cox 38%
Greg Curtis 41%
Scott Daniels 21%
Brad Dee 35%
Marda Dillree 41%
Mike Dmitrich 35%
Glenn Donnelson, Jr. 58%
Carl Duckworth 50%
Dan Eastman 30%
Beverly Ann Evans 38%
James Evans 30%
James Ferrin 56%
Ben Ferry 37%
David Gladwell 33%
Brent Goodfellow 6%
James Gowans 28%
Karen Hale 25%
Neil Hansen 28%
Ann Hardy 28%
Thomas Hatch 35%
Parley Hellewell 45%
Neal Hendrickson 35%
John Hickman 50%
Dave Hogue 37%
Kory Holdaway 47%
Scott Jenkins 63%
Bradley Johnson 47%
Patricia Jones 5%
Paula Julander 20%
Brad King 33%
Todd Kiser 58%
Susan Lawrence 32%
David Litvack 17%
Becky Lockhart 73%
Dana Love 44%
L. Alma Mansell 31%
Steven Mascaro 42%
Ed Mayne 18%
Ty McCartney 27%
Rosalind McGee 16%
Karen Morgan 21%
Michael Morley 84%
Joseph Murray 43%
Merlynn Newbold 53%
Loraine Pace 26%
Brent Parker 50%
Darin Peterson 56%
Morgan Philpot 84%
Jack Seitz 47%
LaWanna Shurtliff 21%
Gordon Snow 44%
Carol Spackman Moss 42%
David Steele 17%
Martin Stephens 59%
Michael Styler 39%
David Thomas 40%
Michael Thompson 68%
Stephen Urquhart 42%
Michael Waddoups 50%
Carlene Walker 35%
Margaret Ann Wallace 42%
Bradley Winn 28%
Bill Wright 55%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Skip to top

Help us stay free for all your Fellow Americans

Just $5 from everyone reading this would do it.

Back to top