Search Form
First, enter a politician or zip code
Now, choose a category

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: Grass Roots

2002 Positions

Issues: Conservative
State Office District Name Party Rating
UT State House 13 Paul Ray Republican 55%
UT State House 36 Patrice Arent Democratic 14%
UT State House 38 Eric Hutchings Republican 29%
UT State Senate 3 Gene Davis Democratic 30%
UT State Senate 6 Wayne Harper Republican 74%
UT State Senate 11 Howard Stephenson Republican 53%
UT State Senate 15 Margaret Dayton Republican 86%
UT State Senate 16 Curt Bramble Republican 67%
UT State Senate 17 Peter Knudson Republican 33%
UT State Senate 25 Lyle Hillyard Republican 39%
UT Chairman of the Tax Commission John Valentine 53%
UT Mayor At-Large Ron Bigelow 63%
UT Mayor Jackie Biskupski Democratic 19%
UT Council Member At-Large David Ure 74%
UT Council Member North Craig Buttars Republican 67%
Doug Aagard 76%
Gerry Adair 50%
Jeff Alexander 81%
D. Edgar Allen 20%
Ron Allen 17%
Sheryl Allen 40%
Eli Anderson 41%
Roger Barrus 65%
Trisha Beck 24%
Ralph Becker 25%
Chad Bennion 84%
Cynthia Beshear 10%
Leonard Blackham 31%
Duane Bourdeaux 19%
DeMar Bowman 45%
Afton Bradshaw 25%
Katherine Bryson 76%
Judy Ann Buffmire 14%
Don Bush 73%
D. Chris Buttars 53%
David Clark 62%
Stephen Clark 62%
David Cox 62%
Greg Curtis 68%
Scott Daniels 10%
Marda Dillree 41%
Mike Dmitrich 37%
Glenn Donnelson, Jr. 86%
Carl Duckworth 32%
Dan Eastman 33%
Beverly Ann Evans 24%
James Ferrin 76%
Ben Ferry 55%
Fred Fife III 27%
Kevin Garn 75%
David Gladwell 60%
Brent Goodfellow 10%
James Gowans 30%
Karen Hale 13%
Neil Hansen 16%
Thomas Hatch 72%
Parley Hellewell 61%
Neal Hendrickson 20%
John Hickman 38%
Dave Hogue 48%
Kory Holdaway 50%
Scott Jenkins 70%
Bradley Johnson 67%
Patricia Jones 18%
Paula Julander 11%
Brad King 23%
David Litvack 14%
Becky Lockhart 95%
L. Alma Mansell 50%
Steven Mascaro 78%
Ed Mayne 40%
Ty McCartney 14%
Karen Morgan 29%
Joseph Murray 60%
Merlynn Newbold 86%
Loraine Pace 36%
Brent Parker 38%
Darin Peterson 82%
Millie Peterson 15%
Morgan Philpot 90%
L. Steven Poulton 33%
Carl Saunders 50%
Jack Seitz 45%
LaWanna Shurtliff 23%
Richard Siddoway 27%
Gordon Snow 59%
Carol Spackman Moss 9%
Terry Spencer 56%
David Steele 25%
Martin Stephens 73%
Michael Styler 45%
Alicia L Suazo 10%
John Swallow 86%
Michael Thompson 65%
J. Matthew Throckmorton 82%
A. Lamont Tyler 38%
Stephen Urquhart 77%
Michael Waddoups 56%
Carlene Walker 35%
Margaret Ann Wallace 64%
Glenn Way 89%
Bradley Winn 57%
Bill Wright 69%
Max Young 30%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Skip to top

Help us stay free for all your Fellow Americans

Just $5 from everyone reading this would do it.

Back to top