Search Form
First, enter a politician or zip code
Now, choose a category

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: Grass Roots

2005 Positions

Issues: Conservative
State Office District Name Party Rating
UT State House 13 Paul Ray Republican 61%
UT State House 32 LaVar Christensen Republican 85%
UT State House 35 Mark Wheatley Democratic 20%
UT State House 36 Patrice Arent Democratic 15%
UT State House 38 Eric Hutchings Republican 60%
UT State House 39 James Dunnigan Republican 64%
UT State House 51 Gregory Hughes Republican 85%
UT State House 60 Brad Daw Republican 90%
UT State House 71 Bradley Last Republican 62%
UT State House 73 Michael Noel Republican 60%
UT State Senate 3 Gene Davis Democratic 15%
UT State Senate 6 Wayne Harper Republican 79%
UT State Senate 11 Howard Stephenson Republican 67%
UT State Senate 15 Margaret Dayton Republican 95%
UT State Senate 16 Curt Bramble Republican 72%
UT State Senate 17 Peter Knudson Republican 47%
UT State Senate 19 Allen Christensen Republican 58%
UT State Senate 22 Stuart Adams Republican 78%
UT State Senate 25 Lyle Hillyard Republican 47%
UT Auditor John Dougall Republican 79%
UT Chairman of the Tax Commission John Valentine 61%
UT Mayor At-Large Ron Bigelow 50%
UT Mayor Jackie Biskupski Democratic 14%
UT Council Member At-Large David Ure 79%
UT Council Member North Craig Buttars Republican 81%
UT Commissioner At-Large Kerry Gibson Republican 60%
Doug Aagard 62%
Jeff Alexander 86%
Ron Allen 25%
Sheryl Allen 45%
Roger Barrus 52%
Ralph Becker 14%
Gregory Bell 50%
Duane Bourdeaux 33%
DeMar Bowman 45%
D. Chris Buttars 56%
David Buxton 50%
David Clark 59%
Stephen Clark 55%
Tim Cosgrove 19%
David Cox 60%
Greg Curtis 63%
Brad Dee 50%
Mike Dmitrich 30%
Glenn Donnelson, Jr. 90%
Carl Duckworth 24%
Dan Eastman 63%
Beverly Ann Evans 22%
James Ferrin 84%
Ben Ferry 83%
Fred Fife III 20%
Julie Fisher 65%
Lorie Fowlke 57%
Craig Frank 95%
James Gowans 37%
Karen Hale 15%
Neil Hansen 24%
Ann Hardy 48%
Thomas Hatch 72%
Parley Hellewell 63%
Neal Hendrickson 20%
John Hickman 71%
Dave Hogue 70%
Kory Holdaway 48%
Fred Hunsaker 60%
Scott Jenkins 75%
Bradley Johnson 71%
Patricia Jones 16%
Sheldon Killpack 60%
Brad King 10%
Todd Kiser 80%
Susan Lawrence 38%
David Litvack 24%
Becky Lockhart 95%
Mark Madsen 70%
L. Alma Mansell 67%
Steven Mascaro 50%
John Mathis 67%
Ed Mayne 28%
Scott McCoy 11%
Rosalind McGee 24%
Ronda Menlove 48%
Karen Morgan 35%
Michael Morley 100%
Joseph Murray 48%
Merlynn Newbold 76%
Curtis Oda 95%
Patrick Painter 80%
Darin Peterson 80%
Ross Romero 29%
LaWanna Shurtliff 19%
Gordon Snow 75%
Carol Spackman Moss 19%
David Thomas 50%
Aaron Tilton 86%
Stephen Urquhart 70%
Michael Waddoups 59%
Carlene Walker 63%
Mark Walker 71%
Margaret Ann Wallace 60%
Richard Wheeler 85%
Larry Wiley 16%
Scott Wyatt 78%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Skip to top

Help us stay free for all your Fellow Americans

Just $5 from everyone reading this would do it.

Back to top