Search Form
First, enter a politician or zip code
Now, choose a category

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: Grass Roots

2004 Positions

Issues: Conservative
State Office District Name Party Rating
UT State House 32 LaVar Christensen Republican 83%
UT State House 36 Patrice Arent Democratic 23%
UT State House 38 Eric Hutchings Republican 65%
UT State House 39 James Dunnigan Republican 54%
UT State House 51 Gregory Hughes Republican 92%
UT State House 71 Bradley Last Republican 60%
UT State House 73 Michael Noel Republican 70%
UT State Senate 3 Gene Davis Democratic 5%
UT State Senate 6 Wayne Harper Republican 78%
UT State Senate 11 Howard Stephenson Republican 73%
UT State Senate 15 Margaret Dayton Republican 84%
UT State Senate 16 Curt Bramble Republican 56%
UT State Senate 17 Peter Knudson Republican 45%
UT State Senate 22 Stuart Adams Republican 68%
UT State Senate 25 Lyle Hillyard Republican 67%
UT Auditor John Dougall Republican 54%
UT Chairman of the Tax Commission John Valentine 59%
UT Mayor At-Large Ron Bigelow 77%
UT Mayor Jackie Biskupski Democratic 14%
UT Council Member At-Large David Ure 80%
UT Council Member North Craig Buttars Republican 76%
Doug Aagard 68%
Jeff Alexander 88%
Ron Allen 24%
Sheryl Allen 39%
Roger Barrus 68%
Ralph Becker 12%
Gregory Bell 41%
Duane Bourdeaux 14%
DeMar Bowman 40%
D. Chris Buttars 57%
David Buxton 54%
David Clark 64%
Stephen Clark 63%
David Cox 60%
Greg Curtis 58%
Brad Dee 67%
Mike Dmitrich 16%
Glenn Donnelson, Jr. 96%
Carl Duckworth 36%
Dan Eastman 48%
Beverly Ann Evans 56%
James Ferrin 91%
Ben Ferry 68%
Craig Frank 96%
Brent Goodfellow 17%
James Gowans 42%
Karen Hale 18%
Neil Hansen 28%
Ann Hardy 28%
Thomas Hatch 67%
Parley Hellewell 62%
Neal Hendrickson 38%
John Hickman 63%
Dave Hogue 56%
Kory Holdaway 56%
Scott Jenkins 73%
Bradley Johnson 83%
Patricia Jones 13%
Sheldon Killpack 45%
Brad King 33%
Todd Kiser 72%
Susan Lawrence 48%
David Litvack 4%
Becky Lockhart 92%
L. Alma Mansell 45%
Steven Mascaro 33%
Ed Mayne 38%
Rosalind McGee 12%
Karen Morgan 24%
Michael Morley 96%
Joseph Murray 48%
Merlynn Newbold 78%
LaWanna Shurtliff 17%
Gordon Snow 72%
Carol Spackman Moss 13%
David Thomas 55%
Stephen Urquhart 71%
Michael Waddoups 65%
Carlene Walker 45%
Margaret Ann Wallace 63%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Skip to top

Help us stay free for all your Fellow Americans

Just $5 from everyone reading this would do it.

Back to top