Search Form
First, enter a politician or zip code
Now, choose a category

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: Leadership Conference on Civil and Human Rights

2007-2008 Positions on Civil and Human

State Office District Name Party Rating
Neil Abercrombie 100
Gary Ackerman 96
AL U.S. House 4 Robert Aderholt Republican 9
Daniel Akaka, Sr. 94
Todd Akin 4
TN U.S. Senate Sr Lamar Alexander Republican 6
Rodney Alexander 22
Jason Altmire 87
Rob Andrews 96
Michael Arcuri 100
Joe Baca, Sr. 96
Michele Bachmann 4
Spencer Bachus 9
Kay Bailey Hutchison 6
Brian Baird 96
WI U.S. Senate Jr Tammy Baldwin Democratic 100
WY U.S. Senate Jr John Barrasso Republican 6
J. Gresham Barrett 4
John Barrow 78
Roscoe Bartlett 4
TX U.S. House 6 Joe Barton Republican 4
Max Baucus 56
Evan Bayh 78
Melissa Bean 87
CA Attorney General Xavier Becerra Democratic 100
Bob Bennett 11
Shelley Berkley 100
Howard Berman 91
Marion Berry 91
Joe Biden, Jr. 89
Judy Biggert 26
Brian Bilbray 9
FL U.S. House 12 Gus Bilirakis Republican 13
Jeff Bingaman 94
UT U.S. House 1 Rob Bishop Republican 4
GA U.S. House 2 Sanford Bishop, Jr. Democratic 100
Tim Bishop 100
TN U.S. House 7 Marsha Blackburn Republican 4
OR U.S. House 3 Earl Blumenauer Democratic 100
MO U.S. Senate Jr Roy Blunt Republican 9
John Boehner 4
Kit Bond 0
Jo Bonner, Jr. 9
Mary Bono Mack 17
AR U.S. Senate Sr John Boozman Republican 9
Dan Boren 52
Leonard Boswell 96
Rick Boucher 96
Charles Boustany, Jr. 9
Barbara Boxer 72
Allen Boyd, Jr. 91
TX U.S. House 8 Kevin Brady Republican 9
PA U.S. House 1 Bob Brady Democratic 96
Bruce Braley 91
Paul Broun 0
Corrine Brown 100
Henry Brown, Jr. 4
OH U.S. Senate Sr Sherrod Brown Democratic 100
Sam Brownback 6
Ginny Brown-Waite 13
FL U.S. House 16 Vern Buchanan Republican 17
Jim Bunning 6
TX U.S. House 26 Michael Burgess Republican 9
NC U.S. Senate Sr Richard Burr Republican 0
Dan Burton 9
NC U.S. House 1 G.K. Butterfield, Jr. Democratic 100
Steve Buyer 17
Robert Byrd 44
CA U.S. House 42 Ken Calvert Republican 4
Dave Camp 9
John Campbell III 4
Eric Cantor 4
WA U.S. Senate Jr Maria Cantwell Democratic 100
WV U.S. Senate Jr Shelley Capito Republican 35
Lois Capps 100
MA U.S. House 7 Mike Capuano Democratic 91
MD U.S. Senate Sr Ben Cardin Democratic 94
Dennis Cardoza 96
Russ Carnahan 100
Christopher Carney 87
DE U.S. Senate Sr Tom Carper Democratic 67
IN U.S. House 7 André Carson Democratic 39
TX U.S. House 31 John Carter Republican 4
PA U.S. Senate Sr Bob Casey, Jr. Democratic 100
Mike Castle 48
FL U.S. House 14 Kathy Castor Democratic 96
Donald Cazayoux, Jr. 35
Ben Chandler III 100
Travis Childers 22
NY U.S. House 9 Yvette Clarke Democratic 83
MO U.S. House 1 Lacy Clay, Jr. Democratic 100
MO U.S. House 5 Emanuel Cleaver II Democratic 100
Hillary Clinton 83
SC U.S. House 6 Jim Clyburn Democratic 100
Howard Coble 4
Thomas Coburn 6
MS U.S. Senate Sr Thad Cochran Republican 0
TN U.S. House 9 Steve Cohen Democratic 96
OK U.S. House 4 Tom Cole Republican 4
ME U.S. Senate Sr Susan Collins Republican 50
TX U.S. House 11 Mike Conaway Republican 4
Kent Conrad 78
John Conyers, Jr. 100
TN U.S. House 5 Jim Cooper Democratic 87
TN U.S. Senate Jr Robert Corker Republican 0
TX U.S. Senate Sr John Cornyn Republican 0
CA U.S. House 16 Jim Costa Democratic 100
Jerry Costello 100
CT U.S. House 2 Joe Courtney Democratic 100
ID U.S. Senate Sr Mike Crapo Republican 6
Ander Crenshaw 9
NY U.S. House 14 Joe Crowley Democratic 100
TX U.S. House 28 Henry Cuellar Democratic 96
TX U.S. House 7 John Culberson Republican 4
MD U.S. House 7 Elijah Cummings Democratic 100
Artur Davis 96
IL U.S. House 7 Danny Davis Democratic 96
Geoff Davis 13
Lincoln Davis 74
CA U.S. House 53 Susan Davis Democratic 100
GA Governor Nathan Deal Republican 4
OR U.S. House 4 Peter DeFazio Democratic 96
CO U.S. House 1 Diana DeGette Democratic 96
Bill Delahunt 96
CT U.S. House 3 Rosa DeLauro Democratic 100
James DeMint 6
PA U.S. House 15 Charlie Dent Republican 52
Lincoln Diaz-Balart 57
FL U.S. House 25 Mario Diaz-Balart Republican 57
Norm Dicks 100
John Dingell 100
Chris Dodd 67
TX U.S. House 35 Lloyd Doggett II Democratic 100
IN U.S. Senate Sr Joe Donnelly, Sr. Democratic 70
Byron Dorgan 67
PA U.S. House 14 Mike Doyle, Jr. Democratic 96
David Dreier 9
TN U.S. House 2 John Duncan, Jr. Republican 9
IL U.S. Senate Sr Dick Durbin Democratic 94
Donna Edwards 17
Chet Edwards 96
Vern Ehlers 17
MN U.S. House 5 Keith Ellison Democratic 100
Brad Ellsworth 70
IL Mayor At-Large Rahm Emanuel Democratic 100
Jo Ann Emerson 35
NY U.S. House 16 Eliot Engel Democratic 91
John Ensign 0
WY U.S. Senate Sr Mike Enzi Republican 6
CA U.S. House 18 Anna Eshoo Democratic 100
Bob Etheridge 91
OK Governor Mary Fallin Republican 4
Sam Farr 100
Chaka Fattah, Sr. 91
Russ Feingold 100
CA U.S. Senate Sr Dianne Feinstein Democratic 83
Bob Filner 100
AZ U.S. Senate Jr Jeff Flake Republican 4
Randy Forbes 13
NE U.S. House 1 Jeff Fortenberry Republican 17
IL U.S. House 11 Bill Foster Democratic 35
NC U.S. House 5 Virginia Foxx Republican 4
Barney Frank 100
Trent Franks 4
NJ U.S. House 11 Rodney Frelinghuysen Republican 22
Elton Gallegly 4
Scott Garrett 0
Jim Gerlach 48
Gabrielle Giffords 87
NY U.S. Senate Jr Kirsten Gillibrand Democratic 78
Phil Gingrey 4
TX U.S. House 1 Louie Gohmert Republican 0
Charlie Gonzalez 96
VA U.S. House 6 Bob Goodlatte Republican 9
Bart Gordon 78
SC U.S. Senate Sr Lindsey Graham Republican 17
TX U.S. House 12 Kay Granger Republican 4
IA U.S. Senate Sr Chuck Grassley Republican 11
MO U.S. House 6 Sam Graves Republican 13
TX U.S. House 9 Al Green Democratic 100
TX U.S. House 29 Gene Green Democratic 100
Judd Gregg 6
AZ U.S. House 3 Raul Grijalva Democratic 100
IL U.S. House 4 Luis Gutiérrez Democratic 96
John Hall 100
Ralph Hall 9
Phil Hare 100
Tom Harkin 100
Jane Harman 100
FL U.S. House 20 Alcee Hastings, Sr. Democratic 100
Doc Hastings 4
UT U.S. Senate Sr Orrin Hatch Republican 22
NV U.S. Senate Sr Dean Heller Republican 13
TX U.S. House 5 Jeb Hensarling Republican 0
Wally Herger, Jr. 9
Stephanie Herseth Sandlin 100
NY U.S. House 26 Brian Higgins Democratic 96
Baron Hill 78
Maurice Hinchey 100
Rubén Hinojosa, Sr. 96

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Skip to top

Help us stay free for all your Fellow Americans

Just $5 from everyone reading this would do it.

Back to top