Search Form
First, enter a politician or zip code
Now, choose a category

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: New Mexico Public Interest Research Group

2003 Positions

State Office District Name Party Rating
NM State House 18 Gail Chasey Democratic 100%
Max Coll 100%
Kandy Cordova 100%
Dede Feldman 100%
NM State House 14 Miguel Garcia Democratic 100%
Rick Miera 100%
NM State House 41 Debbie Rodella Democratic 100%
NM State Senate 17 Mimi Stewart Democratic 100%
NM State House 19 Sheryl Williams-Stapleton Democratic 100%
Mary Helen Garcia 92%
NM State Senate 11 Linda Lopez Democratic 92%
Antonio Lujan 92%
Luciano Varela 92%
Richard Romero 91%
NM State Senate 16 Cisco McSorley Democratic 90%
Danice Picraux 89%
John Paul Taylor 82%
NM State House 45 Jim Trujillo Democratic 82%
Leonard Tsosie 82%
Ken Martinez 80%
Ray Begaye 78%
Ben Lujan, Sr. 78%
Henry Saavedra 78%
Thomas Swisstack 78%
Jose Campos II 75%
NM State House 42 Roberto Gonzales Democratic 75%
Irvin Harrison 75%
Manuel Herrera 75%
Andy Nuñez 75%
Richard Vigil 75%
NM State Senate 3 John Pinto Democratic 73%
Bengie Regensberg 73%
James Madalena, Jr. 70%
Daniel Silva 70%
Manny Aragon 67%
NM State Senate 8 Pete Campos Democratic 67%
Rhonda Sue King 67%
NM State Senate 24 Nancy Rodriguez Democratic 67%
Joe Stell, Jr. 67%
James Taylor 67%
Jeannette Wallace 67%
Ben Altamirano 64%
Dona Irwin 64%
Al Park 64%
Fred Luna 60%
Edward Sandoval 60%
NM State Senate 31 Joseph Cervantes Democratic 58%
NM State Senate 6 Carlos Cisneros Democratic 58%
George Hanosh 58%
John Heaton 58%
NM State Senate 5 Richard Martinez Democratic 58%
Cynthia Nava 58%
Lidio Rainaldi 58%
Bernadette Sanchez 58%
Mary Jane Garcia 55%
NM State House 9 Patricia Lundstrom Democratic 55%
Janice Arnold-Jones 50%
Anna Crook 50%
Phil Griego 50%
Clinton Harden, Jr. 50%
Don Kidd 50%
Raymond Ruiz 50%
NM State House 40 Nick Salazar Democratic 50%
Michael Sanchez 50%
NM State House 27 Lorenzo Larrañaga Republican 45%
Donald Whitaker 45%
Walter Williams 45%
Timothy Jennings 42%
NM State Senate 38 Mary Papen Democratic 42%
NM State Senate 35 John Smith Democratic 42%
Thomas Taylor 42%
Sandra Townsend 42%
Eric Youngberg 42%
Kent Cravens 40%
Joseph Fidel 36%
Ron Godbey 36%
NM State House 44 Jane Powdrell-Culbert Republican 36%
Don Tripp 36%
Thomas Anderson 33%
Donald Bratton 33%
Joseph Carraro 33%
Dianne Hamilton 33%
Roman Maes III 33%
Brian Moore 33%
Rory Ogle 33%
Pauline Ponce 33%
Leonard Lee Rawson 33%
Gloria Vaughn 33%
Earlene Roberts 30%
Joseph Thompson 27%
Avon Wilson 27%
Teresa Zanetti 27%
William Boykin 25%
Ramsay Gorham 25%
Ted Hobbs 25%
NM State Senate 27 Stuart Ingle Republican 25%
NM State Senate 1 William Sharer Republican 25%
Shannon Robinson 22%
Rod Adair 17%
NM State Senate 42 Gay Kernan Republican 17%
Helen Diane Snyder 17%
Robert White 10%
Steve Komadina 9%
Mark Boitano 8%
NM State Senate 41 Carroll Leavell Republican 8%
NM State Senate 20 William Payne Republican 8%
Daniel Foley 0%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Skip to top

Help us stay free for all your Fellow Americans

Just $5 from everyone reading this would do it.

Back to top