Search Form
First, enter a politician or zip code
Now, choose a category

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: Montana National Federation of Independent Business

2007-2008 Positions

State Office District Name Party Rating
MT State Senate 4 Mark Blasdel Republican 100%
Edward Butcher 100%
MT Commissioner 1 Ray Hawk 100%
Dennis Himmelberger 100%
Pat Ingraham 100%
Dave Kasten 100%
Bob Lake 100%
Tom McGillvray 100%
Scott Mendenhall 100%
MT State Senate 35 Scott Sales Republican 100%
Janna Taylor 100%
Keith Bales 89%
Joe Balyeat 89%
Gregory Barkus 89%
William Beck, Sr. 89%
Roy Brown 89%
Aubyn Curtiss 89%
John Esp 89%
MT State House 54 Jeffrey Essmann Republican 89%
Verdell Jackson 89%
Krayton Kerns 89%
Harry Klock 89%
Penny Armstrong Morgan 89%
Terry Murphy 89%
Jesse O'Hara 89%
Gary Perry 89%
Jim Peterson 89%
Jon Sonju 89%
Donald Steinbeisser 89%
Ronald Stoker 89%
Robert Story, Jr. 89%
MT State Senate 1 Chas Vincent Republican 89%
Jerry Black 86%
MT State Senate 20 Duane Ankney Republican 78%
MT Superintendent of Public Instruction Elsie Arntzen Republican 78%
John Brueggeman 78%
Kelly Gebhardt 78%
William Glaser 78%
Gordon Hendrick 78%
MT State Senate 9 Llewelyn Jones Republican 78%
Richard Laible 78%
Dave Lewis 78%
Gary MacLaren 78%
Walter McNutt 78%
Mike Milburn 78%
Bill Nooney 78%
Daniel McGee 71%
Wayne Stahl 67%
Kim Gillan 56%
Bill McChesney 56%
Jim Shockley 56%
Bob Bergren 44%
Margarett Campbell 44%
Robert Ebinger, Jr. 44%
Julie French 44%
Tim Furey 44%
Kenneth Hansen 44%
Cynthia Hiner 44%
Mike Jopek 44%
Christine Kaufmann 44%
Deborah Kottel 44%
Art Noonan 44%
Kenneth Peterson 44%
MT State Senate 33 Jennifer Pomnichowski Democratic 44%
MT State Senate 37 Jon Sesso Democratic 44%
MT State House 32 Jonathan Windy Boy Democratic 44%
Shannon Augare 33%
MT State Senate 41 Mary Caferro Democratic 33%
MT Lieutenant Governor Mike Cooney Democratic 33%
Robyn Driscoll 33%
Steven Gallus 33%
Wanda Grinde 33%
Robin Hamilton 33%
Robert Hawks 33%
Teresa Henry 33%
Galen Hollenbaugh 33%
Larry Jent 33%
Carol Juneau 33%
Jesse Laslovich 33%
Lynda Moss 33%
MT State Senate 31 Mike Phillips Democratic 33%
Michele Reinhart 33%
MT State Senate 49 Diane Sands Democratic 33%
Trudi Schmidt 33%
Carolyn Squires 33%
Joseph Tropila 33%
Mitch Tropila 33%
Kendall Van Dyk 33%
MT Budget Director Dan Villa Democratic 33%
David Wanzenried 33%
Carol Williams 33%
Franke Wilmer 33%
Arlene Becker 22%
Sue Dickenson 22%
Dave McAlpin 22%
Bill Wilson 22%
Brady Wiseman 22%
MT State Senate 42 Jill Cohenour Democratic 11%
Betsy Hands 11%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Skip to top

Help us stay free for all your Fellow Americans

Just $5 from everyone reading this would do it.

Back to top