Search Form
First, enter a politician or zip code
Now, choose a category

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: The John Birch Society

2009 Positions (Full Year)

State Office District Name Party Rating
Thomas Coburn 100%
AZ U.S. Senate Jr Jeff Flake Republican 100%
Ron Paul 100%
Roscoe Bartlett 95%
TX U.S. House 8 Kevin Brady Republican 95%
Paul Broun 95%
Henry Brown, Jr. 95%
TX U.S. House 11 Mike Conaway Republican 95%
TX U.S. House 7 John Culberson Republican 95%
James DeMint 95%
TN U.S. House 2 John Duncan, Jr. Republican 95%
John Ensign 95%
VA U.S. House 6 Bob Goodlatte Republican 95%
TX U.S. House 5 Jeb Hensarling Republican 95%
TX U.S. House 3 Sam Johnson Republican 95%
OH U.S. House 4 Jim Jordan Republican 95%
Cynthia Lummis 95%
CA U.S. House 4 Tom McClintock Republican 95%
NC U.S. House 10 Patrick McHenry Republican 95%
CA U.S. House 22 Devin Nunes Republican 95%
TX U.S. House 22 Pete Olson Republican 95%
George Radanovich 95%
CA U.S. House 39 Ed Royce Republican 95%
WI U.S. House 1 Paul Ryan Republican 95%
WI U.S. House 5 Jim Sensenbrenner, Jr. Republican 95%
NE U.S. House 3 Adrian Smith Republican 95%
TX U.S. House 21 Lamar Smith Republican 95%
UT U.S. House 1 Rob Bishop Republican 94%
John Boehner 94%
GA Governor Nathan Deal Republican 94%
TX U.S. House 1 Louie Gohmert Republican 94%
John Linder 94%
Randy Neugebauer 94%
Michele Bachmann 90%
TN U.S. House 7 Marsha Blackburn Republican 90%
AR U.S. Senate Sr John Boozman Republican 90%
TX U.S. House 31 John Carter Republican 90%
Jason Chaffetz 90%
OK Governor Mary Fallin Republican 90%
NC U.S. House 5 Virginia Foxx Republican 90%
AZ U.S. House 8 Trent Franks Republican 90%
Scott Garrett 90%
OK U.S. Senate Sr Jim Inhofe Republican 90%
KS U.S. House 2 Lynn Jenkins Republican 90%
IA U.S. House 4 Steve King Republican 90%
CO U.S. House 5 Doug Lamborn Republican 90%
OH U.S. House 5 Bob Latta Republican 90%
Jeff Miller 90%
Sue Myrick 90%
FL U.S. House 8 Bill Posey Republican 90%
NA U.S. Secretary of Health and Human Services Tom Price Republican 90%
TX U.S. House 13 Mac Thornberry Republican 90%
Lynn Westmoreland 90%
SC U.S. House 2 Joe Wilson, Sr. Republican 90%
Jim Bunning 89%
TX U.S. House 26 Michael Burgess Republican 89%
Connie Mack IV 89%
TX U.S. House 24 Kenny Marchant Republican 89%
CA U.S. House 23 Kevin McCarthy Republican 89%
TX U.S. House 10 Michael McCaul Republican 89%
NA Vice President Mike Pence Republican 89%
NA U.S. Attorney General Jeff Sessions III Republican 89%
TX U.S. House 32 Pete Sessions Republican 89%
J. Gresham Barrett 88%
WY U.S. Senate Jr John Barrasso Republican 85%
Eric Cantor 85%
TX U.S. Senate Sr John Cornyn Republican 85%
Geoff Davis 85%
WY U.S. Senate Sr Mike Enzi Republican 85%
Randy Forbes 85%
Elton Gallegly 85%
IA U.S. Senate Sr Chuck Grassley Republican 85%
Doc Hastings 85%
Wally Herger, Jr. 85%
CA U.S. House 50 Duncan Hunter Republican 85%
Bob Inglis, Sr. 85%
CA U.S. House 49 Darrell Issa Republican 85%
Tim Johnson 85%
Jack Kingston 85%
John Kline 85%
Jerry Lewis 85%
OK U.S. House 3 Frank Lucas Republican 85%
Dan Lungren 85%
Don Manzullo 85%
KY U.S. Senate Sr Mitch McConnell Republican 85%
John Mica 85%
Joe Pitts 85%
CA U.S. House 48 Dana Rohrabacher Republican 85%
IL U.S. House 6 Peter Roskam Republican 85%
LA U.S. House 1 Steve Scalise Republican 85%
John Shadegg 85%
SD U.S. Senate Sr John Thune Republican 85%
Todd Akin 84%
MO U.S. Senate Jr Roy Blunt Republican 84%
NC U.S. Senate Sr Richard Burr Republican 84%
Steve Buyer 84%
Saxby Chambliss 84%
MO U.S. House 6 Sam Graves Republican 84%
NV U.S. Senate Sr Dean Heller Republican 84%
AZ U.S. Senate Sr John McCain III Republican 84%
WA U.S. House 5 Cathy McMorris Rodgers Republican 84%
Gary Miller 84%
KS U.S. Senate Jr Jerry Moran Republican 84%
Jean Schmidt 84%
John Campbell III 83%
SC U.S. Senate Sr Lindsey Graham Republican 83%
Ed Whitfield 83%
TX U.S. House 12 Kay Granger Republican 82%
John Sullivan 81%
TX U.S. House 6 Joe Barton Republican 80%
Howard Coble 80%
Ander Crenshaw 80%
GA U.S. Senate Sr Johnny Isakson Republican 80%
Jon Kyl 80%
George LeMieux 80%
MO U.S. House 3 Blaine Luetkemeyer Republican 80%
Buck McKeon 80%
Todd Tiahrt 80%
Phil Gingrey 79%
TX U.S. House 2 Ted Poe Republican 79%
IL U.S. House 15 John Shimkus Republican 79%
David Vitter 79%
Zach Wamp 79%
MS U.S. House 3 Gregg Harper Republican 78%
Spencer Bachus 75%
FL U.S. House 12 Gus Bilirakis Republican 75%
Jo Bonner, Jr. 75%
Dan Burton 75%
CA U.S. House 42 Ken Calvert Republican 75%
Dave Camp 75%
CO U.S. House 6 Michael Coffman Republican 75%
OK U.S. House 4 Tom Cole Republican 75%
ID U.S. Senate Sr Mike Crapo Republican 75%
David Dreier 75%
John Fleming, Jr. 75%
NE U.S. House 1 Jeff Fortenberry Republican 75%
Pete Hoekstra 75%
ID U.S. Senate Jr James Risch Republican 75%
KY U.S. House 5 Hal Rogers Republican 75%
PA U.S. House 9 Bill Shuster Republican 75%
VA U.S. House 1 Rob Wittman Republican 75%
Rodney Alexander 74%
Charles Boustany, Jr. 74%
Mike Johanns 74%
NC U.S. House 3 Walter Jones, Jr. Republican 74%
UT U.S. Senate Sr Orrin Hatch Republican 71%
Ralph Hall 70%
MN U.S. House 3 Erik Paulsen Republican 70%
Tom Petri 70%
Denny Rehberg 70%
KS U.S. Senate Sr Pat Roberts Republican 70%
TN U.S. House 1 Phil Roe Republican 70%
FL U.S. House 17 Tom Rooney Republican 70%
Aaron Schock 70%
AL U.S. Senate Sr Richard Shelby Republican 70%
Cliff Stearns 70%
AL U.S. House 4 Robert Aderholt Republican 68%
Kay Bailey Hutchison 68%
TN U.S. Senate Jr Robert Corker Republican 68%
Adam Putnam 68%
Bob Bennett 65%
KS Governor Sam Brownback Republican 65%
Ginny Brown-Waite 65%
Jo Ann Emerson 65%
KY U.S. House 2 Brett Guthrie Republican 65%
Tom Latham 65%
Mike Rogers 65%
ID U.S. House 2 Mike Simpson Republican 65%
Gene Taylor 65%
Lee Terry 65%
PA U.S. House 5 G.T. Thompson, Jr. Republican 65%
OR U.S. House 2 Greg Walden Republican 65%
MS U.S. Senate Jr Roger Wicker Republican 65%
Frank Wolf 65%
MS U.S. Senate Sr Thad Cochran Republican 63%
Bill Young 63%
FL U.S. House 16 Vern Buchanan Republican 61%
Steve Austria 60%
Judy Biggert 60%
Brian Bilbray 60%
LA U.S. Senate Sr Bill Cassidy Republican 60%
Vern Ehlers 60%
Thaddeus McCotter 60%
MI U.S. House 6 Fred Upton Republican 60%
OH U.S. House 12 Pat Tiberi Republican 58%
PA U.S. House 15 Charlie Dent Republican 55%
NJ U.S. House 11 Rodney Frelinghuysen Republican 55%
OH U.S. House 10 Mike Turner Republican 55%
Mary Bono Mack 53%
WV U.S. Senate Jr Shelley Capito Republican 53%
AK U.S. House At-Large Donald Young Republican 53%
Judd Gregg 50%
NY U.S. House 2 Pete King Republican 50%
Dennis Kucinich 50%
Jim Matheson 50%
Todd Platts 50%
AL U.S. House 3 Mike Rogers Republican 50%
Mark Souder 50%
Kit Bond 47%
Chris Lee 47%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Skip to top

Help us stay free for all your Fellow Americans

Just $5 from everyone reading this would do it.

Back to top