Search Form
First, enter a politician or zip code
Now, choose a category

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: The John Birch Society

2009 Positions (Full Year)

State Office District Name Party Rating
Neil Abercrombie 5%
Gary Ackerman 0%
AL U.S. House 4 Robert Aderholt Republican 68%
John Adler 21%
Daniel Akaka, Sr. 5%
Todd Akin 84%
TN U.S. Senate Sr Lamar Alexander Republican 37%
Rodney Alexander 74%
Jason Altmire 25%
Rob Andrews 5%
Michael Arcuri 15%
Steve Austria 60%
Joe Baca, Sr. 5%
Michele Bachmann 90%
Spencer Bachus 75%
Kay Bailey Hutchison 68%
Brian Baird 30%
WI U.S. Senate Jr Tammy Baldwin Democratic 15%
WY U.S. Senate Jr John Barrasso Republican 85%
J. Gresham Barrett 88%
John Barrow 30%
Roscoe Bartlett 95%
TX U.S. House 6 Joe Barton Republican 80%
Max Baucus 10%
Evan Bayh 45%
Melissa Bean 5%
CA Attorney General Xavier Becerra Democratic 5%
Mark Begich 11%
CO U.S. Senate Sr Michael Bennet Democratic 5%
Bob Bennett 65%
Shelley Berkley 11%
Howard Berman 5%
Marion Berry 16%
Judy Biggert 60%
Brian Bilbray 60%
FL U.S. House 12 Gus Bilirakis Republican 75%
Jeff Bingaman 5%
UT U.S. House 1 Rob Bishop Republican 94%
GA U.S. House 2 Sanford Bishop, Jr. Democratic 10%
Tim Bishop 0%
TN U.S. House 7 Marsha Blackburn Republican 90%
OR U.S. House 3 Earl Blumenauer Democratic 5%
MO U.S. Senate Jr Roy Blunt Republican 84%
OH State House 59 John Boccieri Democratic 15%
John Boehner 94%
Kit Bond 47%
Jo Bonner, Jr. 75%
Mary Bono Mack 53%
AR U.S. Senate Sr John Boozman Republican 90%
Dan Boren 25%
Leonard Boswell 0%
Rick Boucher 11%
Charles Boustany, Jr. 74%
Barbara Boxer 5%
Allen Boyd, Jr. 25%
TX U.S. House 8 Kevin Brady Republican 95%
PA U.S. House 1 Bob Brady Democratic 5%
Bruce Braley 5%
Bobby Bright 40%
Paul Broun 95%
Corrine Brown 5%
Henry Brown, Jr. 95%
OH U.S. Senate Sr Sherrod Brown Democratic 5%
Sam Brownback 65%
Ginny Brown-Waite 65%
FL U.S. House 16 Vern Buchanan Republican 61%
Jim Bunning 89%
TX U.S. House 26 Michael Burgess Republican 89%
NC U.S. Senate Sr Richard Burr Republican 84%
Roland Burris 0%
Dan Burton 75%
NC U.S. House 1 G.K. Butterfield, Jr. Democratic 0%
Steve Buyer 84%
Robert Byrd 17%
CA U.S. House 42 Ken Calvert Republican 75%
Dave Camp 75%
John Campbell III 83%
Eric Cantor 85%
WA U.S. Senate Jr Maria Cantwell Democratic 10%
Joseph Cao 25%
WV U.S. Senate Jr Shelley Capito Republican 53%
Lois Capps 5%
MA U.S. House 7 Mike Capuano Democratic 16%
MD U.S. Senate Sr Ben Cardin Democratic 5%
Dennis Cardoza 10%
Russ Carnahan 0%
Christopher Carney 17%
DE U.S. Senate Sr Tom Carper Democratic 5%
IN U.S. House 7 André Carson Democratic 5%
TX U.S. House 31 John Carter Republican 90%
PA U.S. Senate Sr Bob Casey, Jr. Democratic 0%
LA U.S. Senate Sr Bill Cassidy Republican 60%
Mike Castle 40%
FL U.S. House 14 Kathy Castor Democratic 5%
Jason Chaffetz 90%
Saxby Chambliss 84%
Ben Chandler III 15%
Travis Childers 35%
CA U.S. House 27 Judy Chu Democratic 0%
NY U.S. House 9 Yvette Clarke Democratic 10%
MO U.S. House 1 Lacy Clay, Jr. Democratic 5%
MO U.S. House 5 Emanuel Cleaver II Democratic 5%
SC U.S. House 6 Jim Clyburn Democratic 0%
Howard Coble 80%
Thomas Coburn 100%
Thad Cochran 63%
CO U.S. House 6 Michael Coffman Republican 75%
TN U.S. House 9 Steve Cohen Democratic 10%
OK U.S. House 4 Tom Cole Republican 75%
ME U.S. Senate Sr Susan Collins Republican 20%
TX U.S. House 11 Mike Conaway Republican 95%
VA U.S. House 11 Gerry Connolly Democratic 10%
Kent Conrad 5%
John Conyers, Jr. 21%
TN U.S. House 5 Jim Cooper Democratic 10%
TN U.S. Senate Jr Robert Corker Republican 68%
TX U.S. Senate Sr John Cornyn Republican 85%
CA U.S. House 16 Jim Costa Democratic 15%
Jerry Costello 20%
CT U.S. House 2 Joe Courtney Democratic 5%
ID U.S. Senate Sr Mike Crapo Republican 75%
Ander Crenshaw 80%
NY U.S. House 14 Joe Crowley Democratic 5%
TX U.S. House 28 Henry Cuellar Democratic 10%
TX U.S. House 7 John Culberson Republican 95%
MD U.S. House 7 Elijah Cummings Democratic 5%
Kathy Dahlkemper 16%
Artur Davis 25%
IL U.S. House 7 Danny Davis Democratic 5%
Geoff Davis 85%
Lincoln Davis 20%
CA U.S. House 53 Susan Davis Democratic 5%
GA Governor Nathan Deal Republican 94%
OR U.S. House 4 Peter DeFazio Democratic 15%
CO U.S. House 1 Diana DeGette Democratic 0%
Bill Delahunt 11%
CT U.S. House 3 Rosa DeLauro Democratic 0%
James DeMint 95%
Charlie Dent 55%
Lincoln Diaz-Balart 45%
FL U.S. House 25 Mario Diaz-Balart Republican 45%
Norm Dicks 0%
John Dingell 5%
Chris Dodd 5%
TX U.S. House 35 Lloyd Doggett II Democratic 30%
IN U.S. Senate Sr Joe Donnelly, Sr. Democratic 20%
Byron Dorgan 11%
PA U.S. House 14 Mike Doyle, Jr. Democratic 5%
David Dreier 75%
Steve Driehaus 15%
TN U.S. House 2 John Duncan, Jr. Republican 95%
IL U.S. Senate Sr Dick Durbin Democratic 0%
Donna Edwards 15%
Chet Edwards 10%
Vern Ehlers 60%
MN U.S. House 5 Keith Ellison Democratic 15%
Brad Ellsworth 20%
Jo Ann Emerson 65%
NY U.S. House 16 Eliot Engel Democratic 5%
John Ensign 95%
WY U.S. Senate Sr Mike Enzi Republican 85%
CA U.S. House 18 Anna Eshoo Democratic 0%
Bob Etheridge 5%
OK Governor Mary Fallin Republican 90%
Sam Farr 15%
Chaka Fattah, Sr. 5%
Russ Feingold 35%
CA U.S. Senate Sr Dianne Feinstein Democratic 5%
Bob Filner 20%
AZ U.S. Senate Jr Jeff Flake Republican 100%
John Fleming, Jr. 75%
Randy Forbes 85%
NE U.S. House 1 Jeff Fortenberry Republican 75%
IL U.S. House 11 Bill Foster Democratic 10%
NC U.S. House 5 Virginia Foxx Republican 90%
Barney Frank 5%
Al Franken 13%
Trent Franks 90%
NJ U.S. House 11 Rodney Frelinghuysen Republican 55%
OH U.S. House 11 Marcia Fudge Democratic 5%
Elton Gallegly 85%
Scott Garrett 90%
Jim Gerlach 45%
Gabrielle Giffords 15%
NY U.S. Senate Jr Kirsten Gillibrand Democratic 0%
Phil Gingrey 79%
TX U.S. House 1 Louie Gohmert Republican 94%
Charlie Gonzalez 5%
VA U.S. House 6 Bob Goodlatte Republican 95%
Bart Gordon 10%
SC U.S. Senate Sr Lindsey Graham Republican 83%
TX U.S. House 12 Kay Granger Republican 82%
IA U.S. Senate Sr Chuck Grassley Republican 85%
MO U.S. House 6 Sam Graves Republican 84%
Alan Grayson 20%
TX U.S. House 9 Al Green Democratic 5%
TX U.S. House 29 Gene Green Democratic 10%
Judd Gregg 50%
Parker Griffith, Jr. 40%
AZ U.S. House 3 Raul Grijalva Democratic 15%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Skip to top

Help us stay free for all your Fellow Americans

Just $5 from everyone reading this would do it.

Thank You!

You are about to be redirected to a secure checkout page.

Please note:

The total order amount will read $0.01. This is a card processor fee. Please know that a recurring donation of the amount and frequency that you selected will be processed and initiated tomorrow. You may see a one-time charge of $0.01 on your statement.

Continue to secure page »

Back to top