Search Form
First, enter a politician or zip code
Now, choose a category

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: The John Birch Society

2009 Positions (June 2009 - November 2009)

State Office District Name Party Rating
MT U.S. Senate Sr Jon Tester Democratic 10%
MS U.S. House 2 Bennie Thompson Democratic 0%
CA U.S. House 5 Mike Thompson Democratic 0%
NV U.S. House 1 Dina Titus Democratic 0%
NY U.S. House 20 Paul Tonko Democratic 0%
MA U.S. House 3 Niki Tsongas Democratic 11%
NM U.S. Senate Sr Tom Udall Democratic 10%
MD U.S. Senate Jr Chris Van Hollen, Jr. Democratic 0%
NY U.S. House 7 Nydia Velázquez Democratic 0%
IN U.S. House 1 Pete Visclosky Democratic 10%
MN U.S. House 1 Tim Walz Democratic 0%
VA U.S. Senate Sr Mark Warner Democratic 20%
FL U.S. House 23 Debbie Wasserman Schultz Democratic 0%
CA U.S. House 43 Maxine Waters Democratic 10%
VT U.S. House At-Large Peter Welch Democratic 10%
RI U.S. Senate Jr Sheldon Whitehouse Democratic 0%
OR U.S. Senate Sr Ron Wyden Democratic 10%
KY U.S. House 3 John Yarmuth Democratic 0%
VT U.S. Senate Jr Bernie Sanders Independent 10%
AL U.S. House 4 Robert Aderholt Republican 70%
TN U.S. Senate Sr Lamar Alexander Republican 22%
WY U.S. Senate Jr John Barrasso Republican 80%
TX U.S. House 6 Joe Barton Republican 90%
FL U.S. House 12 Gus Bilirakis Republican 90%
UT U.S. House 1 Rob Bishop Republican 100%
TN U.S. House 7 Marsha Blackburn Republican 100%
MO U.S. Senate Jr Roy Blunt Republican 89%
AR U.S. Senate Sr John Boozman Republican 100%
TX U.S. House 8 Kevin Brady Republican 100%
FL U.S. House 16 Vern Buchanan Republican 67%
TX U.S. House 26 Michael Burgess Republican 100%
NC U.S. Senate Sr Richard Burr Republican 89%
CA U.S. House 42 Ken Calvert Republican 90%
WV U.S. Senate Jr Shelley Capito Republican 67%
TX U.S. House 31 John Carter Republican 90%
LA U.S. Senate Sr Bill Cassidy Republican 70%
MS U.S. Senate Sr Thad Cochran Republican 56%
CO U.S. House 6 Michael Coffman Republican 90%
OK U.S. House 4 Tom Cole Republican 80%
ME U.S. Senate Sr Susan Collins Republican 10%
TX U.S. House 11 Mike Conaway Republican 100%
TN U.S. Senate Jr Robert Corker Republican 67%
TX U.S. Senate Sr John Cornyn Republican 80%
ID U.S. Senate Sr Mike Crapo Republican 60%
TX U.S. House 7 John Culberson Republican 100%
GA Governor Nathan Deal Republican 100%
PA U.S. House 15 Charlie Dent Republican 70%
FL U.S. House 25 Mario Diaz-Balart Republican 50%
TN U.S. House 2 John Duncan, Jr. Republican 90%
WY U.S. Senate Sr Mike Enzi Republican 90%
OK Governor Mary Fallin Republican 90%
AZ U.S. Senate Jr Jeff Flake Republican 100%
NE U.S. House 1 Jeff Fortenberry Republican 80%
NC U.S. House 5 Virginia Foxx Republican 100%
NJ U.S. House 11 Rodney Frelinghuysen Republican 80%
TX U.S. House 1 Louie Gohmert Republican 100%
VA U.S. House 6 Bob Goodlatte Republican 100%
SC U.S. Senate Sr Lindsey Graham Republican 75%
TX U.S. House 12 Kay Granger Republican 89%
IA U.S. Senate Sr Chuck Grassley Republican 90%
MO U.S. House 6 Sam Graves Republican 100%
KY U.S. House 2 Brett Guthrie Republican 70%
MS U.S. House 3 Gregg Harper Republican 67%
UT U.S. Senate Sr Orrin Hatch Republican 70%
NV U.S. Senate Sr Dean Heller Republican 100%
TX U.S. House 5 Jeb Hensarling Republican 100%
CA U.S. House 50 Duncan Hunter Republican 90%
OK U.S. Senate Sr Jim Inhofe Republican 90%
GA U.S. Senate Sr Johnny Isakson Republican 80%
CA U.S. House 49 Darrell Issa Republican 80%
KS U.S. House 2 Lynn Jenkins Republican 90%
TX U.S. House 3 Sam Johnson Republican 100%
NC U.S. House 3 Walter Jones, Jr. Republican 67%
OH U.S. House 4 Jim Jordan Republican 100%
NY U.S. House 2 Pete King Republican 50%
IA U.S. House 4 Steve King Republican 100%
CO U.S. House 5 Doug Lamborn Republican 90%
NJ U.S. House 7 Leonard Lance Republican 60%
OH U.S. House 5 Bob Latta Republican 100%
NJ U.S. House 2 Frank LoBiondo Republican 20%
OK U.S. House 3 Frank Lucas Republican 100%
MO U.S. House 3 Blaine Luetkemeyer Republican 80%
TX U.S. House 24 Kenny Marchant Republican 89%
AZ U.S. Senate Sr John McCain III Republican 89%
CA U.S. House 23 Kevin McCarthy Republican 89%
TX U.S. House 10 Michael McCaul Republican 100%
CA U.S. House 4 Tom McClintock Republican 100%
KY U.S. Senate Sr Mitch McConnell Republican 80%
NC U.S. House 10 Patrick McHenry Republican 100%
WA U.S. House 5 Cathy McMorris Rodgers Republican 90%
KS U.S. Senate Jr Jerry Moran Republican 90%
AK U.S. Senate Sr Lisa Murkowski Republican 40%
CA U.S. House 22 Devin Nunes Republican 100%
TX U.S. House 22 Pete Olson Republican 100%
MN U.S. House 3 Erik Paulsen Republican 90%
NA Vice President Mike Pence Republican 89%
TX U.S. House 2 Ted Poe Republican 90%
FL U.S. House 8 Bill Posey Republican 100%
WA U.S. House 8 Dave Reichert Republican 30%
ID U.S. Senate Jr James Risch Republican 60%
KS U.S. Senate Sr Pat Roberts Republican 50%
TN U.S. House 1 Phil Roe Republican 80%
KY U.S. House 5 Hal Rogers Republican 90%
AL U.S. House 3 Mike Rogers Republican 50%
CA U.S. House 48 Dana Rohrabacher Republican 90%
FL U.S. House 17 Tom Rooney Republican 70%
IL U.S. House 6 Peter Roskam Republican 90%
FL U.S. House 27 Ileana Ros-Lehtinen Republican 40%
CA U.S. House 39 Ed Royce Republican 100%
WI U.S. House 1 Paul Ryan Republican 100%
LA U.S. House 1 Steve Scalise Republican 90%
WI U.S. House 5 Jim Sensenbrenner, Jr. Republican 100%
NA U.S. Attorney General Jeff Sessions III Republican 90%
TX U.S. House 32 Pete Sessions Republican 90%
AL U.S. Senate Sr Richard Shelby Republican 50%
IL U.S. House 15 John Shimkus Republican 90%
PA U.S. House 9 Bill Shuster Republican 70%
ID U.S. House 2 Mike Simpson Republican 80%
NE U.S. House 3 Adrian Smith Republican 100%
NJ U.S. House 4 Chris Smith Republican 30%
TX U.S. House 21 Lamar Smith Republican 100%
PA U.S. House 5 GT Thompson, Jr. Republican 70%
TX U.S. House 13 Mac Thornberry Republican 90%
SD U.S. Senate Sr John Thune Republican 80%
OH U.S. House 10 Mike Turner Republican 60%
MI U.S. House 6 Fred Upton Republican 70%
OR U.S. House 2 Greg Walden Republican 90%
MS U.S. Senate Jr Roger Wicker Republican 60%
SC U.S. House 2 Joe Wilson, Sr. Republican 90%
VA U.S. House 1 Rob Wittman Republican 90%
AK U.S. House At-Large Donald Young Republican 60%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Skip to top

Help us stay free for all your Fellow Americans

Just $5 from everyone reading this would do it.

Back to top