Search Form
First, enter a politician or zip code
Now, choose a category

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: American Federation of Government Employees

1997 Positions

Issues: Labor Unions
State Office District Name Party Rating
AK U.S. House At-Large Donald Young Republican 50%
AL U.S. Senate Sr Richard Shelby Republican 25%
AL U.S. House 4 Robert Aderholt Republican 29%
AR Governor Asa Hutchinson Republican 36%
CA U.S. Senate Sr Dianne Feinstein Democratic 75%
CA U.S. House 12 Nancy Pelosi Democratic 79%
CA U.S. House 18 Anna Eshoo Democratic 79%
CA U.S. House 19 Zoe Lofgren Democratic 79%
CA U.S. House 30 Brad Sherman Democratic 64%
CA U.S. House 40 Lucille Roybal-Allard Democratic 79%
CA U.S. House 42 Ken Calvert Republican 21%
CA U.S. House 43 Maxine Waters Democratic 93%
CA Attorney General Xavier Becerra Democratic 79%
CO U.S. House 1 Diana DeGette Democratic 86%
CO Commissioner 2 Scott McInnis 21%
CT U.S. House 3 Rosa DeLauro Democratic 93%
FL U.S. House 20 Alcee Hastings, Sr. Democratic 86%
FL Chief Justice of the Supreme Court Charles Canady 29%
GA U.S. House 2 Sanford Bishop, Jr. Democratic 93%
GA U.S. House 5 John Lewis Democratic 93%
IA U.S. Senate Sr Chuck Grassley Republican 25%
ID U.S. Senate Sr Mike Crapo Republican 21%
IL U.S. Senate Sr Dick Durbin Democratic 100%
IL U.S. House 1 Bobby Rush Democratic 86%
IL U.S. House 7 Danny Davis Democratic 86%
IL U.S. House 15 John Shimkus Republican 43%
IN U.S. House 1 Pete Visclosky Democratic 93%
KS U.S. Senate Sr Pat Roberts Republican 25%
KS U.S. Senate Jr Jerry Moran Republican 29%
KY U.S. Senate Sr Mitch McConnell Republican 17%
KY U.S. House 5 Hal Rogers Republican 36%
MA U.S. Senate Jr Ed Markey Democratic 86%
MA U.S. House 1 Richard Neal Democratic 86%
MA U.S. House 2 Jim McGovern Democratic 86%
MD U.S. Senate Sr Ben Cardin Democratic 64%
MD U.S. House 5 Steny Hoyer Democratic 86%
MD U.S. House 7 Elijah Cummings Democratic 79%
ME U.S. Senate Sr Susan Collins Republican 33%
ME Councilor At-Large Joseph Baldacci Democratic 86%
MI U.S. Senate Sr Debbie Stabenow Democratic 86%
MI U.S. House 6 Fred Upton Republican 29%
MN U.S. House 7 Collin Peterson Democratic 79%
MO U.S. Senate Sr Roy Blunt Republican 31%
MS U.S. Senate Sr Roger Wicker Republican 21%
MS U.S. House 2 Bennie Thompson Democratic 93%
NC U.S. Senate Sr Richard Burr Republican 23%
NC U.S. House 4 David Price Democratic 100%
NJ U.S. Senate Sr Bob Menendez Democratic 92%
NJ U.S. House 4 Chris Smith Republican 77%
NJ U.S. House 6 Frank Pallone, Jr. Democratic 93%
NJ U.S. House 9 Bill Pascrell, Jr. Democratic 93%
NY U.S. Senate Sr Chuck Schumer Democratic 92%
NY U.S. House 2 Pete King Republican 64%
NY U.S. House 7 Nydia Velázquez Democratic 79%
NY U.S. House 10 Jerry Nadler Democratic 85%
NY U.S. House 12 Carolyn Maloney Democratic 100%
NY U.S. House 15 José Serrano Democratic 77%
NY U.S. House 16 Eliot Engel Democratic 86%
NY U.S. House 17 Nita Lowey Democratic 83%
OH U.S. Senate Sr Sherrod Brown Democratic 79%
OH U.S. Senate Jr Rob Portman Republican 21%
OH U.S. House 1 Steve Chabot Republican 21%
OH U.S. House 9 Marcy Kaptur Democratic 100%
OH Governor Mike DeWine Republican 25%
OK U.S. Senate Sr Jim Inhofe Republican 25%
OK U.S. House 3 Frank Lucas Republican 21%
OR U.S. Senate Sr Ron Wyden Democratic 83%
OR U.S. House 3 Earl Blumenauer Democratic 79%
OR U.S. House 4 Peter DeFazio Democratic 79%
PA U.S. House 18 Mike Doyle, Jr. Democratic 86%
RI U.S. Senate Sr Jack Reed Democratic 92%
SC U.S. Senate Sr Lindsey Graham Republican 21%
SC U.S. House 6 Jim Clyburn Democratic 93%
SD U.S. Senate Sr John Thune Republican 36%
TX U.S. House 8 Kevin Brady Republican 14%
TX U.S. House 12 Kay Granger Republican 14%
TX U.S. House 13 Mac Thornberry Republican 14%
TX U.S. House 18 Sheila Jackson Lee Democratic 79%
TX U.S. House 30 Eddie Johnson Democratic 100%
TX U.S. House 35 Lloyd Doggett II Democratic 71%
VA U.S. House 3 Bobby Scott Democratic 100%
VT U.S. Senate Sr Patrick Leahy Democratic 73%
VT U.S. Senate Jr Bernie Sanders Independent 79%
WA U.S. Senate Sr Patty Murray Democratic 83%
WA U.S. House 9 Adam Smith Democratic 93%
WI U.S. House 3 Ron Kind Democratic 79%
WI U.S. House 5 Jim Sensenbrenner, Jr. Republican 14%
WI Mayor At-Large Tom Barrett 79%
WY U.S. Senate Sr Mike Enzi Republican 17%
Neil Abercrombie 100%
Edmond Spencer Abraham 25%
Gary Ackerman 85%
Daniel Akaka, Sr. 92%
Wayne Allard 17%
Thomas Allen 100%
Rob Andrews 83%
Bill Archer 21%
Richard Armey 21%
John Ashcroft 17%
Spencer Bachus 29%
Henry Scott Baesler 93%
Kay Bailey Hutchison 17%
Richard Hugh Baker 23%
Cass Ballenger 23%
James Barcia 86%
Bob Barr, Jr. 21%
Bill Barrett 43%
Roscoe Bartlett 21%
Joe Barton 14%
Charlie Bass 21%
Herbert Bateman, Sr. 50%
Max Baucus 67%
Bob Bennett 25%
Kenneth Bentsen, Jr. 93%
Douglas Bereuter 46%
Howard Berman 77%
Marion Berry 86%
Joe Biden, Jr. 58%
Brian Bilbray 36%
Michael Bilirakis 31%
Jeff Bingaman 75%
Rod Blagojevich 93%
Thomas Bliley, Jr. 21%
Sherwood Boehlert 64%
John Boehner 21%
Kit Bond 17%
Henry Bonilla 14%
David Edward Bonior 93%
Sonny Bono 21%
Robert Borski, Jr. 100%
Leonard Boswell 93%
Rick Boucher 100%
Barbara Boxer 92%
Allen Boyd, Jr. 86%
John Breaux 42%
Corrine Brown 100%
George Brown, Jr. 85%
Sam Brownback 17%
Richard Bryan 50%
Ed Bryant 21%
Dale Bumpers 75%
Jim Bunning 21%
Conrad Burns 25%
Dan Burton 21%
Steve Buyer 21%
Robert Byrd 75%
Herbert Callahan 46%
Dave Camp 36%
Ben Campbell 25%
Thomas Campbell 29%
Chris Cannon 31%
Walter Holden Capps 92%
Julia Carson 92%
Mike Castle 50%
John Chafee 33%
Saxby Chambliss 23%
Helen Chenoweth-Hage 15%
Jon Lynn Christensen 21%
William Clay, Sr. 79%
Eva Clayton 93%
Joseph Maxwell Cleland 75%
Robert Clement 93%
Dan Coats 0%
Howard Coble 21%
Thomas Coburn 23%
Thad Cochran 25%
Michael Collins 29%
Larry Combest 14%
Gary Condit 71%
Kent Conrad 75%
John Conyers, Jr. 85%
Merrill Cook 21%
John Cooksey 21%
Jerry Costello 85%
Paul Coverdell 25%
Christopher Cox 9%
William Coyne 86%
Larry Craig 17%
Robert Cramer 71%
Philip Crane 15%
Barbara Cubin 18%
Randall Cunningham 21%
Alfonse D'Amato 42%
Patsy Ann Danner 71%
Thomas Daschle 83%
James Davis 93%
Thomas Davis III 50%
Nathan Deal 21%
Bill Delahunt 86%
Thomas DeLay 21%
Ronald Dellums 75%
Peter Deutsch 86%
Lincoln Diaz-Balart 64%
Jay Dickey 31%
Norm Dicks 86%
John Dingell 79%
Julian Dixon 86%
Chris Dodd 75%
Pete Domenici, Jr. 25%
Calvin Dooley 64%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Skip to top

Help us stay free for all your Fellow Americans

Just $5 from everyone reading this would do it.

Thank You!

You are about to be redirected to a secure checkout page.

Please note:

The total order amount will read $0.01. This is a card processor fee. Please know that a recurring donation of the amount and frequency that you selected will be processed and initiated tomorrow. You may see a one-time charge of $0.01 on your statement.

Continue to secure page »

Back to top