Search Form
First, enter a politician or zip code
Now, choose a category

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: California Labor Federation

2008 Positions

Issues: Labor Unions
State Office District Name Party Rating
CA U.S. House 2 Jared Huffman Democratic 100%
CA U.S. House 8 Paul Cook Republican 20%
CA U.S. House 10 Jeff Denham Republican 7%
CA U.S. House 26 Julia Brownley Democratic 100%
CA U.S. House 33 Ted Lieu Democratic 95%
CA U.S. House 37 Karen Bass Democratic 95%
CA U.S. House 46 Lou Correa Democratic 67%
CA U.S. House 47 Alan Lowenthal Democratic 100%
CA State Assembly 30 Anna Caballero Democratic 94%
CA State Senate 1 Ted Gaines Republican 10%
CA State Senate 5 Cathleen Galgiani Democratic 80%
CA State Senate 8 Tom Berryhill Republican 17%
CA State Senate 15 Jim Beall, Jr. Democratic 100%
CA State Senate 16 Jean Fuller Republican 10%
CA State Senate 22 Ed Hernandez Democratic 100%
CA State Senate 24 Kevin de Leon Democratic 95%
CA State Senate 25 Anthony Portantino, Jr. Democratic 95%
CA State Senate 38 Joel Anderson Republican 15%
CA Secretary of State Alex Padilla Democratic 87%
CA Mayor At-Large Mary Salas 100%
CA Mayor At-Large Darrell Steinberg Democratic 93%
CA Supervisor 1 Kevin Jeffries 15%
CA Supervisor 5 Joe Simitian No Party Affiliation 93%
CA Council Member 1 Gilbert Cedillo 100%
CA Council Member 2 Paul Krekorian 85%
CA Council Member 7 Felipe Fuentes 95%
CA Council Member 9 Curren Price, Jr. 100%
CA Council Member Ward 3 Jose Solorio 85%
CA State Superintendent of Public Instruction Tom Torlakson Non-partisan 100%
Samuel Aanestad 0%
Anthony Adams 17%
Elaine Alquist 93%
Juan Arambula 80%
Roy Ashburn 7%
John Benoit 10%
Sam Blakeslee 15%
Charles Calderon 82%
Ron Calderon 80%
Amina Carter 95%
David Cogdill 13%
Ellen Corbett 100%
Joe Coto 95%
Dave Cox 7%
Mike Davis 95%
Hector De La Torre 90%
Charles DeVore 15%
Denise Ducheny 60%
Robert Dutton 20%
Michael Duvall 10%
Bill Emmerson 15%
Mike Eng 100%
Noreen Evans 95%
Mike Feuer 100%
Dean Florez 86%
Warren Furutani 100%
Martin Garrick 15%
Loni Hancock 100%
Tom Harman 13%
Mary Hayashi 100%
Dennis Hollingsworth 0%
Robert Huff 15%
Dave Jones 100%
Christine Kehoe 100%
Mark Leno 100%
Fiona Ma 95%
Abel Maldonado 29%
Tony Mendoza 100%
Pedro Nava 100%
Gloria Negrete McLeod 80%
Roger Niello 15%
Jenny Oropeza 93%
Gloria Romero 100%
George Runner, Jr. 14%
Ira Ruskin 90%
Lori Saldaña 95%
Jim Silva 16%
Cameron Smyth 15%
Audra Strickland 15%
Sandré Swanson 100%
Alberto Torrico 95%
Van Tran 16%
Mike Villines 15%
Patricia Wiggins 93%
Mark Wyland 14%
Leland Yee 100%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Skip to top

Help us stay free for all your Fellow Americans

Just $5 from everyone reading this would do it.

Thank You!

You are about to be redirected to a secure checkout page.

Please note:

The total order amount will read $0.00 but know that a recurring donation of the amount and frequency that you selected will be processed and initiated tomorrow. You may see a charge of $0.00 on your statement.

Continue to secure page »

Back to top