Search Form
First, enter a politician or zip code
Now, choose a category

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: Massachusetts Teachers Association

2001-2002 Positions

Issues: Education
State Office District Name Party Rating
MA Lieutenant Governor Karyn Polito Republican 37%
MA State House Fifth Bristol Patricia Haddad Democratic 90%
MA State House Tenth Bristol William Straus Democratic 80%
MA State House Eleventh Bristol Robert Koczera Democratic 76%
MA State House Thirteenth Bristol Antonio Cabral Democratic 78%
MA State House Fourteenth Bristol Elizabeth Poirier Republican 34%
MA State House Fourth Essex Bradford Hill Republican 35%
MA State House Thirteenth Essex Theodore Speliotis Democratic 73%
MA State House First Franklin Stephen Kulik Democratic 100%
MA State House Seventh Hampden Thomas Petrolati Democratic 80%
MA State House Eighth Hampden Joseph Wagner Democratic 78%
MA State House Fifth Middlesex David Linsky Democratic 93%
MA State House Ninth Middlesex Thomas Stanley Democratic 78%
MA State House Eleventh Middlesex Kay Khan Democratic 89%
MA State House Twelfth Middlesex Ruth Balser Democratic 84%
MA State House Fourteenth Middlesex Cory Atkins Democratic 86%
MA State House Fifteenth Middlesex Jay Kaufman Democratic 92%
MA State House Sixteenth Middlesex Thomas Golden, Jr. Democratic 80%
MA State House Seventeenth Middlesex David Nangle Democratic 80%
MA State House Nineteenth Middlesex James Miceli Democratic 50%
MA State House Twentieth Middlesex Brad Jones, Jr. Republican 29%
MA State House Thirty-Fifth Middlesex Paul Donato, Sr. Democratic 73%
MA State House Thirty-Sixth Middlesex Colleen Garry Democratic 70%
MA State House First Norfolk Bruce Ayers Democratic 80%
MA State House Third Norfolk Ronald Mariano Democratic 80%
MA State House Fourth Norfolk James Murphy Democratic 84%
MA State House Sixth Norfolk William Galvin Democratic 72%
MA State House Eighth Norfolk Louis Kafka Democratic 83%
MA State House Twelfth Norfolk John Rogers Democratic 74%
MA State House Fifteenth Norfolk Frank Smizik Democratic 91%
MA State House Ninth Suffolk Byron Rushing Democratic 76%
MA State House Eleventh Suffolk Elizabeth Malia Democratic 93%
MA State House Fourteenth Suffolk Angelo Scaccia Democratic 79%
MA State House Seventeenth Suffolk Kevin Honan Democratic 87%
MA State House Nineteenth Suffolk Robert DeLeo Democratic 80%
MA State House Seventh Worcester Paul Frost Republican 31%
MA State House Twelfth Worcester Harold Naughton, Jr. Democratic 80%
MA State Senate First Bristol and Plymouth Michael Rodrigues Democratic 84%
MA State Senate Second Bristol and Plymouth Mark Montigny Democratic 92%
MA State Senate First Essex and Middlesex Bruce Tarr Republican 34%
MA State Senate Hampshire, Franklin and Worcester Stan Rosenberg Democratic 99%
MA State Senate Second Middlesex Pat Jehlen Democratic 83%
MA State Senate First Middlesex and Norfolk Cindy Creem Democratic 94%
MA State Senate Second Middlesex and Norfolk Karen Spilka Democratic 81%
MA State Senate Norfolk, Bristol and Plymouth Walter Timilty Democratic 78%
MA State Senate Plymouth and Barnstable Vinny deMacedo Republican 49%
MA State Senate First Plymouth and Bristol Marc Pacheco Democratic 100%
MA State Senate First Worcester Harriette Chandler Democratic 95%
MA State Senate Worcester, Hampden, Hampshire and Middlesex Anne Gobi Democratic 62%
MA Mayor At-Large Michael Cahill 76%
MA Mayor At-Large Martin Walsh Democratic 93%
MA Council Member At-Large Tim Toomey, Jr. 88%
MA Councilor At-Large Thomas Stanley 78%
Robert Antonioni 92%
Christopher Asselin 76%
Demetrius Atsalis 79%
Steven Baddour 26%
Jarrett Barrios 88%
Frederick Berry 96%
John Binienda, Sr. 79%
Deborah Blumer 89%
Daniel Bosley 93%
Garrett Bradley 59%
Stephen Brewer 86%
Arthur Broadhurst, Jr. 76%
Scott Brown 31%
David Bunker 74%
Stephen Buoniconti 83%
Christine Canavan 77%
Gale Candaras 80%
Paul Caron 90%
Paul Casey 74%
Vincent Paul Ciampa 77%
Carol Cleven 69%
Cheryl Coakley-Rivera 69%
Edward Connolly 72%
Michael Coppola 32%
Robert Correia 76%
Geraldine Creedon 80%
Robert Creedon, Jr. 87%
Paul Demakis 87%
Brian Dempsey 80%
Salvatore DiMasi 80%
David Donnelly 82%
Carol Donovan 83%
James Fagan 76%
Christopher Fallon 78%
Mark Falzone 93%
Susan Fargo 95%
Robert Fennell 85%
Michael Festa 89%
Barry Finegold 59%
Thomas Finneran 70%
Kevin Fitzgerald 93%
Nancy Flavin 88%
David Flynn 81%
Gloria Fox 84%
John Fresolo 65%
Thomas George 31%
Guy Glodis 49%
Emile Goguen 80%
Brian Golden 92%
Shirley Gomes 39%
William Greene, Jr. 75%
Cele Hahn 34%
Geoffrey Hall 80%
Robert Hargraves 34%
Lida Harkins 80%
John Hart, Jr. 94%
Robert Havern III 92%
Robert Hedlund, Jr. 47%
Reed Hillman 24%
Christopher Hodgkins 82%
Frank Hynes 72%
Cheryl Ann Jacques 95%
Brian Joyce 62%
Michael Kane 76%
Rachel Kaprielian 93%
Daniel Keenan 83%
Shaun Kelly 42%
Thomas Kennedy 79%
Michael Knapik 43%
Brian Knuuttila 76%
Peter Koutoujian 79%
Paul Kujawski 76%
Peter Larkin 87%
James Leary 93%
Stephen LeDuc 76%
Brian Lees 31%
John Lepper 27%
Maryanne Lewis 71%
John Locke 34%
Paul Loscocco 45%
David Magnani 88%
Francis Marini 22%
J. James Marzilli, Jr. 87%
Thomas McGee 99%
Linda Melconian 92%
Joan Menard 95%
John Merrigan 80%
Richard Moore 92%
Michael Morrissey 92%
Charles Murphy 70%
Kevin Murphy 80%
Therese Murray 69%
Andrea Nuciforo, Jr. 92%
Robert Nyman 80%
Thomas O'Brien 79%
Eugene O'Flaherty 93%
Robert O'Leary 91%
Shirley Owens-Hicks 86%
Steven Panagiotakos 88%
Marie Parente 75%
Matthew Patrick 91%
Anne Marie Paulsen 97%
Vincent Pedone 87%
Douglas Petersen 77%
George Peterson, Jr. 22%
Anthony Petruccelli 80%
Susan Pope 36%
Ruth Provost 84%
John Quinn 79%
Kathi-Anne Reinstein 87%
Pamela Resor 91%
Mary Rogeness 25%
George Rogers 82%
J. Michael Ruane 75%
Jose Santiago 77%
Charles Shannon, Jr. 92%
Mary Jane Simmons 53%
John Slattery 88%
Robert Spellane 93%
Jo Ann Sprague 35%
Harriett Stanley 61%
Marie St. Fleur 93%
Ellen Story 85%
David Sullivan 86%
Joseph Sullivan 72%
Benjamin Swan, Sr. 90%
Kathleen Teahan 95%
Paul Tirone 75%
Richard Tisei 33%
Stephen Tobin 74%
Steven Tolman 96%
David Torrisi 51%
Robert Travaglini 92%
Philip Travis 64%
Susan Tucker 91%
Eric Turkington 77%
Jim Vallee 78%
Anthony Verga 81%
Patricia Walrath 76%
Marian Walsh 92%
Dianne Wilkerson 95%
Alice Wolf 94%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Skip to top

Help us stay free for all your Fellow Americans

Just $5 from everyone reading this would do it.

Back to top