Search Form
First, enter a politician or zip code
Now, choose a category

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: Massachusetts Teachers Association

2003-2004 Positions

Issues: Education
State Office District Name Party Rating
MA Lieutenant Governor Karyn Polito Republican 44%
MA State House Fourth Berkshire Smitty Pignatelli Democratic 89%
MA State House Fifth Bristol Patricia Haddad Democratic 85%
MA State House Tenth Bristol William Straus Democratic 79%
MA State House Eleventh Bristol Robert Koczera Democratic 74%
MA State House Thirteenth Bristol Antonio Cabral Democratic 81%
MA State House Fourteenth Bristol Elizabeth Poirier Republican 39%
MA State House Third Essex Brian Dempsey Democratic 70%
MA State House Fourth Essex Bradford Hill Republican 47%
MA State House Thirteenth Essex Theodore Speliotis Democratic 78%
MA State House First Franklin Stephen Kulik Democratic 91%
MA State House Seventh Hampden Thomas Petrolati Democratic 80%
MA State House Eighth Hampden Joseph Wagner Democratic 73%
MA State House First Hampshire Peter Kocot Democratic 97%
MA State House Second Hampshire John Scibak Democratic 88%
MA State House Fifth Middlesex David Linsky Democratic 91%
MA State House Ninth Middlesex Thomas Stanley Democratic 83%
MA State House Eleventh Middlesex Kay Khan Democratic 95%
MA State House Twelfth Middlesex Ruth Balser Democratic 99%
MA State House Fourteenth Middlesex Cory Atkins Democratic 85%
MA State House Fifteenth Middlesex Jay Kaufman Democratic 93%
MA State House Sixteenth Middlesex Thomas Golden, Jr. Democratic 72%
MA State House Seventeenth Middlesex David Nangle Democratic 74%
MA State House Nineteenth Middlesex James Miceli Democratic 71%
MA State House Twentieth Middlesex Brad Jones, Jr. Republican 35%
MA State House Thirty-Fifth Middlesex Paul Donato, Sr. Democratic 82%
MA State House Thirty-Sixth Middlesex Colleen Garry Democratic 75%
MA State House First Norfolk Bruce Ayers Democratic 74%
MA State House Third Norfolk Ronald Mariano Democratic 76%
MA State House Fourth Norfolk James Murphy Democratic 74%
MA State House Sixth Norfolk William Galvin Democratic 78%
MA State House Eighth Norfolk Louis Kafka Democratic 83%
MA State House Twelfth Norfolk John Rogers Democratic 73%
MA State House Fourteenth Norfolk Alice Peisch Democratic 88%
MA State House Fifteenth Norfolk Frank Smizik Democratic 98%
MA State House Second Plymouth Susan Gifford Republican 36%
MA State House Ninth Suffolk Byron Rushing Democratic 98%
MA State House Eleventh Suffolk Elizabeth Malia Democratic 89%
MA State House Fourteenth Suffolk Angelo Scaccia Democratic 76%
MA State House Fifteenth Suffolk Jeffrey Sánchez Democratic 85%
MA State House Seventeenth Suffolk Kevin Honan Democratic 80%
MA State House Nineteenth Suffolk Robert DeLeo Democratic 79%
MA State House Seventh Worcester Paul Frost Republican 55%
MA State House Twelfth Worcester Harold Naughton, Jr. Democratic 76%
MA State Senate First Bristol and Plymouth Michael Rodrigues Democratic 77%
MA State Senate Second Bristol and Plymouth Mark Montigny Democratic 89%
MA State Senate Third Essex Thomas McGee Democratic 95%
MA State Senate First Essex and Middlesex Bruce Tarr Republican 56%
MA State Senate Second Essex and Middlesex Barbara L'Italien Democratic 90%
MA State Senate Second Hampden and Hampshire Don Humason, Jr. Republican 37%
MA State Senate Hampshire, Franklin and Worcester Stan Rosenberg Democratic 92%
MA State Senate Second Middlesex Pat Jehlen Democratic 96%
MA State Senate First Middlesex and Norfolk Cindy Creem Democratic 93%
MA State Senate Middlesex and Worcester James Eldridge Democratic 86%
MA State Senate Norfolk and Suffolk Mike Rush Democratic 82%
MA State Senate Norfolk, Bristol and Plymouth Walter Timilty Democratic 78%
MA State Senate Plymouth and Barnstable Vinny deMacedo Republican 37%
MA State Senate First Plymouth and Bristol Marc Pacheco Democratic 92%
MA State Senate First Worcester Harriette Chandler Democratic 94%
MA State Senate Worcester, Hampden, Hampshire and Middlesex Anne Gobi Democratic 86%
MA Mayor At-Large Martin Walsh Democratic 88%
MA Council Member At-Large Tim Toomey, Jr. 80%
MA Councilor At-Large Thomas Stanley 83%
Robert Antonioni 91%
Demetrius Atsalis 73%
Steven Baddour 79%
Jarrett Barrios 95%
Frederick Berry 94%
John Binienda, Sr. 79%
Deborah Blumer 94%
Daniel Bosley 84%
Garrett Bradley 77%
Stephen Brewer 87%
Arthur Broadhurst, Jr. 68%
Jennifer Callahan 86%
Christine Canavan 80%
Gale Candaras 76%
Mark Carron 88%
Paul Casey 77%
Cheryl Coakley-Rivera 81%
Edward Connolly 80%
Michael Coppola 40%
Robert Correia 73%
Michael Costello 87%
Robert Coughlin 86%
Geraldine Creedon 85%
Robert Creedon, Jr. 86%
Salvatore DiMasi 75%
Christopher Donelan 93%
Joseph Driscoll, Jr. 73%
Lewis Evangelidis 45%
James Fagan 76%
Christopher Fallon 81%
Mark Falzone 87%
Susan Fargo 91%
Robert Fennell 78%
Michael Festa 92%
Barry Finegold 83%
David Flynn 75%
Gloria Fox 97%
John Fresolo 77%
Emile Goguen 81%
Shirley Gomes 52%
Mary Grant 87%
William Greene, Jr. 75%
Geoffrey Hall 71%
Robert Hargraves 43%
Lida Harkins 76%
John Hart, Jr. 87%
Robert Havern III 95%
Robert Hedlund, Jr. 49%
Frank Hynes 75%
Brian Joyce 94%
Michael Kane 75%
Rachel Kaprielian 92%
Daniel Keenan 74%
Thomas Kennedy 97%
Michael Knapik 46%
Brian Knuuttila 71%
Peter Koutoujian 82%
Paul Kujawski 71%
William Lantigua 74%
James Leary 82%
Stephen LeDuc 74%
Brian Lees 41%
John Lepper 34%
Paul Loscocco 56%
J. James Marzilli, Jr. 93%
Joan Menard 94%
Richard Moore 90%
Michael Morrissey 84%
Charles Murphy 85%
Kevin Murphy 78%
Therese Murray 91%
Andrea Nuciforo, Jr. 95%
Robert Nyman 76%
Thomas O'Brien 79%
Eugene O'Flaherty 76%
Robert O'Leary 90%
Shirley Owens-Hicks 81%
Steven Panagiotakos 93%
Marie Parente 75%
Matthew Patrick 86%
Anne Marie Paulsen 95%
Vincent Pedone 78%
Jeff Perry 44%
Douglas Petersen 89%
George Peterson, Jr. 31%
Anthony Petruccelli 79%
Susan Pope 50%
John Quinn 75%
Kathi-Anne Reinstein 83%
Pamela Resor 95%
Mary Rogeness 39%
Charles Shannon, Jr. 97%
Robert Spellane 85%
Joyce Spiliotis 82%
Harriett Stanley 76%
Marie St. Fleur 77%
Ellen Story 99%
David Sullivan 87%
Benjamin Swan, Sr. 89%
Kathleen Teahan 86%
Richard Tisei 54%
Stephen Tobin 72%
Steven Tolman 96%
David Torrisi 75%
Philip Travis 82%
Susan Tucker 87%
Eric Turkington 83%
Jim Vallee 78%
Anthony Verga 78%
Brian Wallace 78%
Patricia Walrath 77%
Marian Walsh 90%
Steven Walsh 94%
Daniel Webster 35%
Dianne Wilkerson 98%
Alice Wolf 87%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Skip to top

Help us stay free for all your Fellow Americans

Just $5 from everyone reading this would do it.

Back to top