Search Form
First, enter a politician or zip code
Now, choose a category

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: South Dakota National Federation of Independent Business

2004 Positions

State Office District Name Party Rating
SD Lieutenant Governor Matt Michels Republican 83%
SD State House 18 Jean Hunhoff Republican 83%
SD State House 21 Julie Bartling Democratic 50%
SD State House 24 Tim Rounds Republican 67%
SD State House 29 Larry Rhoden Republican 83%
SD State Senate 2 Brock Greenfield Republican 60%
SD State Senate 3 Al Novstrup Republican 67%
SD Commissioner 3 Paul Symens 60%
SD Commissioner At-Large Dick Kelly 83%
SD Commissioner At-Large Jim Lintz 75%
SD Commissioner At-Large Duane Sutton 80%
Gene Abdallah 100%
Stanford Adelstein 83%
Kenneth Albers 83%
Jerry Apa 40%
Timothy Begalka 100%
Eric Bogue 80%
James Bradford 60%
Arnold Brown 40%
Michael Buckingham 67%
Quinten Burg 67%
Daryl Christensen 67%
Rebekah Cradduck 60%
Joni Cutler 50%
Justin Davis 83%
Thomas Deadrick 67%
Patricia de Hueck 60%
Thomas Dempster 67%
H. Dennert 60%
Jay Duenwald 67%
J.P. Duniphan 50%
Robert Duxbury 40%
Joel Dykstra 83%
William Earley 80%
Burt Elliott 75%
Richard Engels 83%
Larry Frost 60%
Arthur Fryslie 67%
Cooper Garnos 67%
David Gassman 67%
Margaret Gillespie 67%
Mary Glenski 67%
Tom Hackl 67%
Arlene Ham-Burr 67%
Gary Hanson 80%
Dale Hargens 67%
Jeffrey Haverly 83%
Phyllis Heineman 100%
Thomas Hennies 83%
James Hundstad 83%
Mike Jaspers 80%
Kent Juhnke 50%
Ted Klaudt 80%
Marguerite Kleven 60%
Frank Kloucek 67%
Gilbert Koetzle 67%
Al Koistinen 100%
Claire Konold 67%
Clarence Kooistra 33%
John Koskan 83%
Elizabeth Kraus 83%
Michael Kroger 75%
Gerald Lange 67%
Michael LaPointe 67%
Maurice LaRue 67%
Christopher Madsen 67%
Matt McCaulley 100%
Alice Lucille McCoy 33%
Royal McCracken 50%
Ed McLaughlin 83%
Kathleen Miles 83%
Garry Allen Moore 67%
Casey Murschel 100%
Sam Nachtigal 50%
William Napoli 80%
Benjamin Nesselhuf 67%
Sean O'Brien 67%
Edwin Olson, Jr. 67%
Mel Olson 50%
Ryan Olson 67%
Gordon Pederson 83%
Jim Peterson 67%
William Peterson 67%
J.E. Putnam 50%
Tim Rave 67%
John Reedy 83%
Donna Schafer 83%
Lee Anton Schoenbeck 67%
Louis Sebert 83%
David Sigdestad 83%
Orville Smidt 83%
Burdette Solum 67%
Daniel Sutton 67%
John Teupel 83%
William Thompson 67%
Paul Valandra 50%
Donald Van Etten 83%
Bill Van Gerpen 100%
Thomas Van Norman 40%
Drue Vitter 50%
Keri Weems 67%
Hal Wick 67%
Ron Williamson 80%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Skip to top

Help us stay free for all your Fellow Americans

Just $5 from everyone reading this would do it.

Back to top