Search Form
First, enter a politician or zip code
Now, choose a category

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: South Dakota National Federation of Independent Business

2002 Positions

State Office District Name Party Rating
SD Governor Dennis Daugaard Republican 67%
SD Lieutenant Governor Matt Michels Republican 86%
SD State House 18 Jean Hunhoff Republican 86%
SD State House 21 Julie Bartling Democratic 57%
SD State House 29 Larry Rhoden Republican 86%
SD State Senate 2 Brock Greenfield Republican 83%
SD State Senate 24 Jeff Monroe Republican 100%
SD Council Member At-Large Kermit Staggers 100%
SD Commissioner 3 Tom Hansen 71%
SD Commissioner 3 Paul Symens 50%
SD Commissioner At-Large Jim Lintz 71%
SD Commissioner At-Large Duane Sutton 86%
Gene Abdallah 86%
Stanford Adelstein 86%
Kenneth Albers 83%
Jerry Apa 100%
Timothy Begalka 71%
Eric Bogue 67%
James Bradford 57%
Bernard Michael Broderick, Jr. 71%
Don Brosz 67%
Arnold Brown 67%
Jarvis Brown 71%
Richard Brown 71%
Quinten Burg 43%
Judy Clark 57%
Kay Davis 71%
Patricia de Hueck 50%
H. Dennert 50%
Michael Derby 83%
Larry Diedrich 80%
Elmer Diedtrich 100%
Robert Drake 83%
Jay Duenwald 83%
J.P. Duniphan 57%
Robert Duxbury 50%
Scott Eccarius 83%
Burt Elliott 43%
Barbara Everist 40%
Charles Flowers 71%
Larry Frost 71%
Arthur Fryslie 71%
Cooper Garnos 71%
Margaret Gillespie 14%
Mary Glenski 57%
Arlene Ham-Burr 83%
Gary Hanson 14%
Dale Hargens 43%
Phyllis Heineman 86%
Donald Hennies 86%
Thomas Hennies 86%
James Holbeck 71%
James Hundstad 43%
James Hutmacher 60%
Mike Jaspers 86%
Kent Juhnke 71%
Ted Klaudt 57%
Marguerite Kleven 33%
Frank Kloucek 43%
Gilbert Koetzle 50%
Al Koistinen 86%
Claire Konold 71%
Clarence Kooistra 43%
John Koskan 100%
Gerald Lange 57%
Cheryl Madden 33%
Christopher Madsen 57%
Matt McCaulley 83%
Alice Lucille McCoy 43%
Royal McCracken 40%
John McIntyre 50%
Garry Allen Moore 67%
David Munson 67%
Casey Murschel 57%
Sam Nachtigal 57%
William Napoli 86%
Benjamin Nesselhuf 43%
Edwin Olson, Jr. 80%
Mel Olson 43%
Gordon Pederson 57%
Jim Peterson 57%
William Peterson 67%
Carol Pitts 71%
Willard Pummel 57%
J.E. Putnam 50%
John Reedy 67%
Mitchell Richter 86%
Louis Sebert 86%
David Sigdestad 57%
Walter Slaughter 86%
Orville Smidt 71%
Burdette Solum 71%
Daniel Sutton 67%
John Teupel 57%
Paul Valandra 43%
Donald Van Etten 57%
Bill Van Gerpen 43%
Thomas Van Norman 17%
Drue Vitter 67%
Ron Volesky 50%
Fred Cavanaugh Whiting 50%
Hal Wick 100%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Skip to top

Help us stay free for all your Fellow Americans

Just $5 from everyone reading this would do it.

Back to top