Search Form
First, enter a politician or zip code
Now, choose a category

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: South Dakota National Federation of Independent Business

1999-2000 Positions

State Office District Name Party Rating
Kenneth Albers 100%
Jerry Apa 67%
Robert Benson 83%
Eric Bogue 83%
Bernard Michael Broderick, Jr. 67%
Roger Brooks 67%
Don Brosz 83%
Arnold Brown 83%
Jarvis Brown 100%
Richard Brown 83%
Quinten Burg 67%
William Cerny, Jr. 83%
Roland Chicoine 83%
Judy Clark 60%
Kevin Crisp 83%
Steve Cutler 50%
Kay Davis 67%
H. Dennert 83%
Michael Derby 83%
Larry Diedrich 83%
Elmer Diedtrich 83%
Robert Drake 67%
Jay Duenwald 80%
J.P. Duniphan 67%
James Dunn 83%
Rebecca Dunn 67%
Robert Duxbury 83%
William Earley 67%
Scott Eccarius 67%
H. Junior Engbrecht 83%
Barbara Everist 80%
Kristie Fiegen 67%
Deb Fischer-Clemens 83%
Carol Fitzgerald 75%
Charles Flowers 83%
Randall Frederick 60%
Arthur Fryslie 83%
Cooper Garnos 67%
Richard Hagen 83%
Richard Hainje 40%
Patrick Haley 83%
Harold Halverson 80%
Arlene Ham-Burr 100%
Gary Hanson 83%
Thomas Hennies 67%
Roger Hunt 80%
James Hutmacher 83%
Mike Jaspers 83%
Kent Juhnke 83%
Douglas Kazmerzak 83%
Ted Klaudt 60%
Marguerite Kleven 100%
Frank Kloucek 83%
Mike Koehn 80%
Gilbert Koetzle 60%
Claire Konold 50%
Clarence Kooistra 83%
John Koskan 67%
Gerald Lange 80%
James Lawler 67%
SD Commissioner At-Large Jim Lintz 80%
Joanne Lockner 67%
Larry Lucas 67%
Cheryl Madden 100%
Alice Lucille McCoy 83%
Kenneth McNenny 83%
Garry Allen Moore 67%
David Munson 83%
Donald Munson 67%
Sam Nachtigal 60%
William Napoli 67%
Mel Olson 83%
Keith Paisley 67%
Mary Patterson 80%
William Peterson 67%
Willard Pummel 83%
J.E. Putnam 67%
John Reedy 83%
Mitchell Richter 67%
Robert Roe 83%
Louis Sebert 83%
Jerry Shoener 80%
Walter Slaughter 83%
Orville Smidt 80%
Burdette Solum 100%
SD Council Member At-Large Kermit Staggers 100%
Daniel Sutton 83%
SD Commissioner At-Large Duane Sutton 83%
SD Commissioner 3 Paul Symens 80%
Paul Valandra 67%
Drue Vitter 100%
Ron Volesky 80%
Alfred Waltman 67%
Robert Weber 100%
Kenneth Wetz 83%
Fred Cavanaugh Whiting 83%
Mike Wilson 83%
Richard Wudel 67%
Mark Young 67%
SD Governor Dennis Daugaard Republican 83%
SD Lieutenant Governor Matt Michels Republican 60%
SD State Senate 24 Jeff Monroe Republican 83%
SD U.S. Senate Jr Mike Rounds Republican 83%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Skip to top

Help us stay free for all your Fellow Americans

Just $5 from everyone reading this would do it.

Back to top