Search Form
First, enter a politician or zip code
Now, choose a category

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: Arab American Institute

2007-2008 Positions on Arab American Issues

State Office District Name Party Rating
Thomas Reynolds 0%
Laura Richardson 50%
KS U.S. Senate Sr Pat Roberts Republican 20%
Jay Rockefeller IV 0%
Ciro Rodriguez 60%
KY U.S. House 5 Hal Rogers Republican 0%
AL U.S. House 3 Mike Rogers Republican 0%
Mike Rogers 0%
CA U.S. House 48 Dana Rohrabacher Republican 33%
IL U.S. House 6 Peter Roskam Republican 0%
FL U.S. House 27 Ileana Ros-Lehtinen Republican 0%
Mike Ross 33%
Steve Rothman 75%
CA U.S. House 40 Lucille Roybal-Allard Democratic 50%
CA U.S. House 39 Ed Royce Republican 0%
MD U.S. House 2 Dutch Ruppersberger Democratic 33%
WI U.S. House 1 Paul Ryan Republican 0%
OH U.S. House 13 Tim Ryan Democratic 100%
John Salazar 33%
Ken Salazar 0%
William Sali 0%
Loretta Sanchez 100%
CA U.S. House 38 Linda Sánchez Democratic 67%
VT U.S. Senate Jr Bernie Sanders Independent 100%
MD U.S. House 3 John Sarbanes Democratic 67%
Jim Saxton 0%
LA U.S. House 1 Steve Scalise Republican 0%
IL U.S. House 9 Jan Schakowsky Democratic 83%
CA U.S. House 28 Adam Schiff Democratic 50%
Jean Schmidt 0%
NY U.S. Senate Sr Chuck Schumer Democratic 50%
Allyson Schwartz 50%
GA U.S. House 13 David Scott Democratic 60%
VA U.S. House 3 Bobby Scott Democratic 67%
WI U.S. House 5 Jim Sensenbrenner, Jr. Republican 0%
NY U.S. House 15 José Serrano Democratic 100%
NA U.S. Attorney General Jeff Sessions III Republican 0%
TX U.S. House 32 Pete Sessions Republican 0%
Joe Sestak, Jr. 50%
John Shadegg 0%
Christopher Shays 50%
NH U.S. House 1 Carol Shea-Porter Democratic 50%
AL U.S. Senate Sr Richard Shelby Republican 0%
CA U.S. House 30 Brad Sherman Democratic 33%
IL U.S. House 15 John Shimkus Republican 0%
Heath Shuler 0%
PA U.S. House 9 Bill Shuster Republican 0%
ID U.S. House 2 Mike Simpson Republican 0%
NJ U.S. House 8 Albio Sires Democratic 60%
Ike Skelton 33%
NY U.S. House 25 Louise Slaughter Democratic 100%
WA U.S. House 9 Adam Smith Democratic 80%
NE U.S. House 3 Adrian Smith Republican 0%
NJ U.S. House 4 Chris Smith Republican 25%
Gordon Smith 33%
TX U.S. House 21 Lamar Smith Republican 0%
Olympia Snowe 20%
Vic Snyder 50%
CA Supervisor 1 Hilda Solis 67%
Mark Souder 0%
Zack Space 25%
Arlen Specter 0%
CA U.S. House 14 Jackie Speier Democratic 0%
John Spratt, Jr. 50%
MI U.S. Senate Sr Debbie Stabenow Democratic 33%
Pete Stark 100%
Cliff Stearns 0%
Ted Stevens 0%
Bart Stupak 25%
John Sullivan 0%
John Sununu 25%
Betty Sutton 67%
Tom Tancredo 33%
John Tanner 25%
Ellen Tauscher 33%
Gene Taylor 33%
Lee Terry 0%
MS U.S. House 2 Bennie Thompson Democratic 50%
CA U.S. House 5 Mike Thompson Democratic 67%
TX U.S. House 13 Mac Thornberry Republican 0%
SD U.S. Senate Sr John Thune Republican 0%
Todd Tiahrt 0%
OH U.S. House 12 Pat Tiberi Republican 0%
John Tierney 80%
Ed Towns 50%
MA U.S. House 3 Niki Tsongas Democratic 67%
OH U.S. House 10 Mike Turner Republican 0%
Mark Udall 25%
NM U.S. Senate Sr Tom Udall Democratic 50%
MI U.S. House 6 Fred Upton Republican 0%
MD U.S. Senate Jr Chris Van Hollen, Jr. Democratic 67%
NY U.S. House 7 Nydia Velázquez Democratic 100%
IN U.S. House 1 Pete Visclosky Democratic 50%
David Vitter 0%
George Voinovich 20%
MI U.S. House 7 Tim Walberg Republican 0%
OR U.S. House 2 Greg Walden Republican 0%
James Walsh 0%
MN U.S. House 1 Tim Walz Democratic 50%
Zach Wamp 40%
John Warner 0%
FL U.S. House 23 Debbie Wasserman Schultz Democratic 67%
CA U.S. House 43 Maxine Waters Democratic 100%
Diane Watson 83%
Mel Watt 100%
Henry Waxman 67%
Jim Webb, Jr. 0%
Anthony Weiner 33%
VT U.S. House At-Large Peter Welch Democratic 100%
David Weldon 0%
Gerald Weller 0%
Lynn Westmoreland 0%
Robert Wexler 50%
RI U.S. Senate Jr Sheldon Whitehouse Democratic 25%
Ed Whitfield 0%
MS U.S. Senate Jr Roger Wicker Republican 0%
SC U.S. House 2 Joe Wilson, Sr. Republican 25%
Charlie Wilson, Jr. 33%
Heather Wilson 0%
VA U.S. House 1 Rob Wittman Republican 0%
Frank Wolf 0%
Lynn Woolsey 100%
David Wu 67%
OR U.S. Senate Sr Ron Wyden Democratic 33%
KY U.S. House 3 John Yarmuth Democratic 33%
Bill Young 0%
AK U.S. House At-Large Donald Young Republican 0%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Skip to top

Help us stay free for all your Fellow Americans

Just $5 from everyone reading this would do it.

Back to top