Search Form
First, enter a politician or zip code
Now, choose a category

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: Legion for the Survival of Freedom, Inc. (formerly Liberty Lobby)

1995 Positions

State Office District Name Party Rating
AK U.S. House At-Large Donald Young Republican 40%
AL U.S. Senate Sr Richard Shelby Republican 30%
AZ U.S. Senate Jr Jon Kyl Republican 40%
CA U.S. Senate Sr Dianne Feinstein Democratic 40%
CA U.S. House 12 Nancy Pelosi Democratic 20%
CA U.S. House 18 Anna Eshoo Democratic 10%
CA U.S. House 19 Zoe Lofgren Democratic 20%
CA U.S. House 39 Ed Royce Republican 70%
CA U.S. House 40 Lucille Roybal-Allard Democratic 20%
CA U.S. House 42 Ken Calvert Republican 50%
CA U.S. House 43 Maxine Waters Democratic 40%
CA U.S. House 48 Dana Rohrabacher Republican 70%
CA Attorney General Xavier Becerra Democratic 30%
CO Commissioner 2 Scott McInnis 60%
CT U.S. House 3 Rosa DeLauro Democratic 20%
FL U.S. House 20 Alcee Hastings, Sr. Democratic 20%
FL U.S. House 27 Ileana Ros-Lehtinen Republican 50%
FL Chief Justice of the Supreme Court Charles Canady 50%
GA U.S. House 2 Sanford Bishop, Jr. Democratic 20%
GA U.S. House 5 John Lewis Democratic 30%
GA Governor Nathan Deal Republican 50%
IA U.S. Senate Sr Chuck Grassley Republican 40%
ID U.S. Senate Sr Mike Crapo Republican 50%
IL U.S. House 1 Bobby Rush Democratic 10%
IL U.S. House 4 Luis Gutiérrez Democratic 30%
IN U.S. House 1 Pete Visclosky Democratic 10%
KY U.S. Senate Sr Mitch McConnell Republican 10%
KY U.S. House 5 Hal Rogers Republican 50%
MA U.S. Senate Jr Ed Markey Democratic 30%
MA U.S. House 1 Richard Neal Democratic 30%
MD U.S. Senate Sr Ben Cardin Democratic 20%
MD U.S. House 5 Steny Hoyer Democratic 20%
ME Councilor At-Large Joseph Baldacci Democratic 20%
MI U.S. House 6 Fred Upton Republican 50%
MI U.S. House 9 Sandy Levin Democratic 20%
MN U.S. House 7 Collin Peterson Democratic 30%
MS U.S. Senate Sr Roger Wicker Republican 50%
MS U.S. House 2 Bennie Thompson Democratic 60%
NC U.S. Senate Sr Richard Burr Republican 60%
NC U.S. House 3 Walter Jones, Jr. Republican 70%
NJ U.S. Senate Sr Bob Menendez Democratic 30%
NJ U.S. House 2 Frank LoBiondo Republican 50%
NJ U.S. House 4 Chris Smith Republican 60%
NJ U.S. House 6 Frank Pallone, Jr. Democratic 30%
NJ U.S. House 11 Rodney Frelinghuysen Republican 50%
NY U.S. Senate Sr Chuck Schumer Democratic 10%
NY U.S. House 2 Pete King Republican 50%
NY U.S. House 7 Nydia Velázquez Democratic 40%
NY U.S. House 10 Jerry Nadler Democratic 30%
NY U.S. House 12 Carolyn Maloney Democratic 20%
NY U.S. House 15 José Serrano Democratic 20%
NY U.S. House 16 Eliot Engel Democratic 30%
NY U.S. House 17 Nita Lowey Democratic 20%
OH U.S. Senate Sr Sherrod Brown Democratic 30%
OH U.S. Senate Jr Rob Portman Republican 40%
OH U.S. House 1 Steve Chabot Republican 50%
OH U.S. House 9 Marcy Kaptur Democratic 30%
OH Governor John Kasich Republican 50%
OH Attorney General Mike DeWine Republican 30%
OK U.S. Senate Sr Jim Inhofe Republican 40%
OK U.S. House 3 Frank Lucas Republican 60%
OR U.S. House 4 Peter DeFazio Democratic 30%
PA U.S. House 14 Mike Doyle, Jr. Democratic 10%
SC U.S. Senate Sr Lindsey Graham Republican 60%
SC U.S. House 1 Mark Sanford, Jr. Republican 50%
SC U.S. House 6 Jim Clyburn Democratic 30%
TN U.S. House 2 John Duncan, Jr. Republican 70%
TX U.S. House 3 Sam Johnson Republican 50%
TX U.S. House 6 Joe Barton Republican 50%
TX U.S. House 13 Mac Thornberry Republican 50%
TX U.S. House 18 Sheila Jackson Lee Democratic 20%
TX U.S. House 21 Lamar Smith Republican 50%
TX U.S. House 29 Gene Green Democratic 30%
TX U.S. House 30 Eddie Johnson Democratic 30%
TX U.S. House 35 Lloyd Doggett II Democratic 10%
UT U.S. Senate Sr Orrin Hatch Republican 30%
VA U.S. House 3 Bobby Scott Democratic 30%
VA U.S. House 6 Bob Goodlatte Republican 50%
VT U.S. Senate Sr Patrick Leahy Democratic 30%
VT U.S. Senate Jr Bernie Sanders Independent 60%
WA U.S. Senate Sr Patty Murray Democratic 40%
WI U.S. House 5 Jim Sensenbrenner, Jr. Republican 70%
WI Mayor At-Large Tom Barrett 10%
Neil Abercrombie 40%
Edmond Spencer Abraham 40%
Gary Ackerman 20%
Daniel Akaka, Sr. 20%
Rob Andrews 50%
Bill Archer 50%
Richard Armey 50%
John Ashcroft 20%
Spencer Bachus 50%
Henry Scott Baesler 10%
Kay Bailey Hutchison 30%
Richard Hugh Baker 40%
Cass Ballenger 60%
James Barcia 10%
Bob Barr, Jr. 60%
Bill Barrett 60%
Roscoe Bartlett 50%
Charlie Bass 50%
Herbert Bateman, Sr. 40%
Max Baucus 40%
Bob Bennett 10%
Kenneth Bentsen, Jr. 30%
Douglas Bereuter 60%
Howard Berman 20%
Joe Biden, Jr. 20%
Brian Bilbray 50%
Michael Bilirakis 50%
Jeff Bingaman 40%
Thomas Bliley, Jr. 40%
Sherwood Boehlert 50%
John Boehner 50%
Kit Bond 20%
Henry Bonilla 50%
David Edward Bonior 30%
Robert Borski, Jr. 20%
Rick Boucher 30%
Barbara Boxer 30%
John Breaux 30%
Corrine Brown 30%
George Brown, Jr. 20%
Richard Bryan 40%
Ed Bryant 60%
Dale Bumpers 40%
Jim Bunning 70%
Conrad Burns 20%
Dan Burton 60%
Steve Buyer 50%
Robert Byrd 80%
Herbert Callahan 40%
Dave Camp 50%
Ben Campbell 40%
Mike Castle 50%
John Chafee 20%
Saxby Chambliss 50%
Helen Chenoweth-Hage 70%
Jon Lynn Christensen 50%
William Clay, Sr. 20%
Eva Clayton 40%
Robert Clement 20%
Dan Coats 30%
Howard Coble 60%
Thomas Coburn 70%
Thad Cochran 20%
Michael Collins 50%
Larry Combest 50%
Gary Condit 50%
Kent Conrad 50%
John Conyers, Jr. 40%
Jerry Costello 20%
Paul Coverdell 30%
Christopher Cox 60%
William Coyne 20%
Larry Craig 50%
Robert Cramer 50%
Philip Crane 50%
Barbara Cubin 50%
Randall Cunningham 50%
Alfonse D'Amato 40%
Patsy Ann Danner 50%
Thomas Daschle 30%
Thomas Davis III 30%
Thomas DeLay 50%
Peter Deutsch 10%
Lincoln Diaz-Balart 50%
Jay Dickey 50%
Norm Dicks 20%
John Dingell 40%
Julian Dixon 20%
Chris Dodd 40%
Pete Domenici, Jr. 30%
Calvin Dooley 10%
John Doolittle 70%
Byron Dorgan 40%
David Dreier 50%
Jennifer Dunn 50%
Chet Edwards 10%
Vern Ehlers 40%
Bob Ehrlich, Jr. 60%
Philip English 50%
John Ensign 50%
Lane Evans 40%
Terry Everett 60%
Thomas Ewing 50%
Duncan McLauchlin Faircloth 40%
Sam Farr 20%
Chaka Fattah, Sr. 20%
Harris Fawell 50%
Victor Fazio 20%
Russ Feingold 60%
Bob Filner 20%
Thomas Foglietta 20%
Mark Foley 50%
Michael Patrick Forbes 60%
Harold Ford, Sr. 20%
Wendell Ford 40%
Tillie Fowler 50%
Jon David Fox 50%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Skip to top

Help us stay free for all your Fellow Americans

Just $5 from everyone reading this would do it.

Thank You!

You are about to be redirected to a secure checkout page.

Please note:

The total order amount will read $0.01. This is a card processor fee. Please know that a recurring donation of the amount and frequency that you selected will be processed and initiated tomorrow. You may see a one-time charge of $0.01 on your statement.

Continue to secure page »

Back to top