Search Form
First, enter a politician or zip code
Now, choose a category

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: American Conservative Union

2008 Positions

Issues: Conservative
State Office District Name Party Rating
Michele Bachmann 100%
UT U.S. House 1 Rob Bishop Republican 100%
Paul Broun 100%
Dan Burton 100%
TX U.S. House 7 John Culberson Republican 100%
GA Governor Nathan Deal Republican 100%
James DeMint 100%
AZ U.S. Senate Jr Jeff Flake Republican 100%
NC U.S. House 5 Virginia Foxx Republican 100%
Trent Franks 100%
Scott Garrett 100%
TX U.S. House 5 Jeb Hensarling Republican 100%
CA U.S. House 49 Darrell Issa Republican 100%
OH U.S. House 4 Jim Jordan Republican 100%
CO U.S. House 5 Doug Lamborn Republican 100%
John Linder 100%
Connie Mack IV 100%
TX U.S. House 24 Kenny Marchant Republican 100%
CA U.S. House 23 Kevin McCarthy Republican 100%
NC U.S. House 10 Patrick McHenry Republican 100%
John Mica 100%
Jeff Miller 100%
CA U.S. House 22 Devin Nunes Republican 100%
NA Vice President Mike Pence Republican 100%
Joe Pitts 100%
Tom Price 100%
CA U.S. House 39 Ed Royce Republican 100%
LA U.S. House 1 Steve Scalise Republican 100%
Cliff Stearns 100%
Lynn Westmoreland 100%
Todd Akin 96%
WY U.S. Senate Jr John Barrasso Republican 96%
J. Gresham Barrett 96%
Roscoe Bartlett 96%
TX U.S. House 6 Joe Barton Republican 96%
TN U.S. House 7 Marsha Blackburn Republican 96%
TX U.S. House 26 Michael Burgess Republican 96%
TX U.S. House 31 John Carter Republican 96%
Thomas Coburn 96%
Geoff Davis 96%
WY U.S. Senate Sr Mike Enzi Republican 96%
Phil Gingrey 96%
TX U.S. House 1 Louie Gohmert Republican 96%
VA U.S. House 6 Bob Goodlatte Republican 96%
Doc Hastings 96%
OK U.S. Senate Sr Jim Inhofe Republican 96%
TX U.S. House 3 Sam Johnson Republican 96%
IA U.S. House 4 Steve King Republican 96%
Jack Kingston 96%
Jon Kyl 96%
OH U.S. House 5 Bob Latta Republican 96%
OK U.S. House 3 Frank Lucas Republican 96%
TX U.S. House 10 Michael McCaul Republican 96%
Randy Neugebauer 96%
TX U.S. House 2 Ted Poe Republican 96%
CA U.S. House 48 Dana Rohrabacher Republican 96%
IL U.S. House 6 Peter Roskam Republican 96%
WI U.S. House 5 Jim Sensenbrenner, Jr. Republican 96%
John Shadegg 96%
NE U.S. House 3 Adrian Smith Republican 96%
Zach Wamp 96%
AL U.S. House 4 Robert Aderholt Republican 92%
Brian Bilbray 92%
John Boehner 92%
Eric Cantor 92%
TX U.S. House 11 Mike Conaway Republican 92%
John Ensign 92%
OK Governor Mary Fallin Republican 92%
Elton Gallegly 92%
TX U.S. House 12 Kay Granger Republican 92%
Don Manzullo 92%
WA U.S. House 5 Cathy McMorris Rodgers Republican 92%
KS U.S. Senate Jr Jerry Moran Republican 92%
TX U.S. House 32 Pete Sessions Republican 92%
PA U.S. House 9 Bill Shuster Republican 92%
John Sullivan 92%
Lee Terry 92%
TX U.S. House 13 Mac Thornberry Republican 92%
SC U.S. House 2 Joe Wilson, Sr. Republican 92%
VA U.S. House 1 Rob Wittman Republican 92%
Randy Forbes 91%
CA U.S. House 50 Duncan Hunter Republican 91%
Sue Myrick 91%
IL U.S. House 15 John Shimkus Republican 91%
Todd Tiahrt 91%
Ander Crenshaw 90%
Ron Paul 90%
FL U.S. House 12 Gus Bilirakis Republican 88%
MO U.S. Senate Jr Roy Blunt Republican 88%
Jim Bunning 88%
Howard Coble 88%
OK U.S. House 4 Tom Cole Republican 88%
ID U.S. Senate Sr Mike Crapo Republican 88%
MO U.S. House 6 Sam Graves Republican 88%
Wally Herger, Jr. 88%
Pete Hoekstra 88%
John Kline 88%
Tom Latham 88%
Dan Lungren 88%
Buck McKeon 88%
TX U.S. House 21 Lamar Smith Republican 88%
Bill Young 88%
George Radanovich 87%
Jean Schmidt 87%
TX U.S. House 8 Kevin Brady Republican 86%
John Campbell III 86%
David Dreier 86%
Rodney Alexander 84%
Spencer Bachus 84%
Judy Biggert 84%
AR U.S. Senate Sr John Boozman Republican 84%
Steve Buyer 84%
TN U.S. House 2 John Duncan, Jr. Republican 84%
NE U.S. House 1 Jeff Fortenberry Republican 84%
Ralph Hall 84%
Bob Inglis, Sr. 84%
Jerry Lewis 84%
Denny Rehberg 84%
KY U.S. House 5 Hal Rogers Republican 84%
Mike Rogers 84%
WI U.S. House 1 Paul Ryan Republican 84%
NA U.S. Attorney General Jeff Sessions III Republican 84%
AL U.S. Senate Sr Richard Shelby Republican 84%
SD U.S. Senate Sr John Thune Republican 84%
David Vitter 84%
Jo Bonner, Jr. 83%
Charles Boustany, Jr. 83%
Henry Brown, Jr. 83%
CA U.S. House 42 Ken Calvert Republican 83%
Dave Camp 83%
TN U.S. Senate Jr Robert Corker Republican 83%
Judd Gregg 83%
Adam Putnam 83%
SC U.S. Senate Sr Lindsey Graham Republican 82%
Gary Miller 81%
NJ U.S. House 11 Rodney Frelinghuysen Republican 80%
UT U.S. Senate Sr Orrin Hatch Republican 80%
NV U.S. Senate Sr Dean Heller Republican 80%
KY U.S. Senate Sr Mitch McConnell Republican 80%
Tom Petri 80%
ID U.S. House 2 Mike Simpson Republican 80%
MS U.S. Senate Sr Roger Wicker Republican 80%
NC U.S. Senate Sr Richard Burr Republican 79%
TX U.S. Senate Sr John Cornyn Republican 79%
Frank Wolf 79%
Ed Whitfield 78%
Ginny Brown-Waite 77%
Kay Bailey Hutchison 76%
Sam Brownback 76%
Saxby Chambliss 76%
IA U.S. Senate Sr Chuck Grassley Republican 76%
GA U.S. Senate Sr Johnny Isakson Republican 76%
Kit Bond 75%
John Sununu 75%
OR U.S. House 2 Greg Walden Republican 75%
Mary Bono Mack 74%
Charles Hagel 73%
TN U.S. Senate Sr Lamar Alexander Republican 72%
Thaddeus McCotter 72%
KS U.S. Senate Sr Pat Roberts Republican 72%
Mark Souder 72%
Pat Tiberi 72%
AK U.S. House At-Large Donald Young Republican 71%
Thad Cochran 68%
Tim Johnson 68%
Todd Platts 68%
Bob Bennett 64%
Dick Lugar 63%
AZ U.S. Senate Sr John McCain III Republican 63%
Candice Miller 63%
OH U.S. House 10 Mike Turner Republican 63%
Vern Ehlers 61%
FL U.S. House 16 Vern Buchanan Republican 60%
Melquiades Martinez 60%
NC U.S. House 3 Walter Jones, Jr. Republican 58%
AK U.S. Senate Sr Lisa Murkowski Republican 58%
PA U.S. House 15 Charlie Dent Republican 56%
Jo Ann Emerson 56%
WA U.S. House 8 Dave Reichert Republican 56%
Lincoln Diaz-Balart 52%
FL U.S. House 25 Mario Diaz-Balart Republican 52%
Steve LaTourette 52%
NJ U.S. House 2 Frank LoBiondo Republican 52%
George Voinovich 52%
NY U.S. House 2 Pete King Republican 50%
AL U.S. House 3 Mike Rogers Republican 50%
Ted Stevens 50%
WV U.S. Senate Jr Shelley Capito Republican 48%
Norm Coleman 48%
Jim Gerlach 48%
Mark Kirk 48%
Tim Murphy 48%
MI U.S. House 6 Fred Upton Republican 44%
Arlen Specter 42%
Travis Childers 41%
John McHugh 40%
Jim Matheson 36%
Mary Landrieu 32%
Mike McIntyre 32%
Harry Mitchell 32%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Skip to top

Help us stay free for all your Fellow Americans

Just $5 from everyone reading this would do it.

Thank You!

You are about to be redirected to a secure checkout page.

Please note:

The total order amount will read $0.00 but know that a recurring donation of the amount and frequency that you selected will be processed and initiated tomorrow. You may see a charge of $0.00 on your statement.

Continue to secure page »

Back to top