Search Form
First, enter a politician or zip code
Now, choose a category

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: American Conservative Union

1997 Positions

Issues: Conservative
State Office District Name Party Rating
AK U.S. House At-Large Donald Young Republican 86%
AL U.S. Senate Sr Richard Shelby Republican 92%
AL U.S. House 4 Robert Aderholt Republican 96%
AR Governor Asa Hutchinson Republican 88%
CA U.S. Senate Sr Dianne Feinstein Democratic 4%
CA U.S. House 12 Nancy Pelosi Democratic 4%
CA U.S. House 18 Anna Eshoo Democratic 8%
CA U.S. House 19 Zoe Lofgren Democratic 8%
CA U.S. House 30 Brad Sherman Democratic 32%
CA U.S. House 40 Lucille Roybal-Allard Democratic 8%
CA U.S. House 42 Ken Calvert Republican 92%
CA U.S. House 43 Maxine Waters Democratic 8%
CA Attorney General Xavier Becerra Democratic 0%
CO U.S. House 1 Diana DeGette Democratic 13%
CO Commissioner 2 Scott McInnis 91%
CT U.S. House 3 Rosa DeLauro Democratic 13%
FL U.S. House 20 Alcee Hastings, Sr. Democratic 19%
FL Chief Justice of the Supreme Court Charles Canady 92%
GA U.S. House 2 Sanford Bishop, Jr. Democratic 29%
GA U.S. House 5 John Lewis Democratic 4%
IA U.S. Senate Sr Chuck Grassley Republican 80%
ID U.S. Senate Sr Mike Crapo Republican 92%
IL U.S. Senate Sr Dick Durbin Democratic 4%
IL U.S. House 1 Bobby Rush Democratic 4%
IL U.S. House 7 Danny Davis Democratic 8%
IL U.S. House 15 John Shimkus Republican 88%
IN U.S. House 1 Pete Visclosky Democratic 29%
KS U.S. Senate Sr Pat Roberts Republican 68%
KS U.S. Senate Jr Jerry Moran Republican 96%
KY U.S. Senate Sr Mitch McConnell Republican 88%
KY U.S. House 5 Hal Rogers Republican 80%
MA U.S. Senate Jr Ed Markey Democratic 8%
MA U.S. House 1 Richard Neal Democratic 25%
MA U.S. House 2 Jim McGovern Democratic 4%
MD U.S. Senate Sr Ben Cardin Democratic 12%
MD U.S. House 5 Steny Hoyer Democratic 12%
MD U.S. House 7 Elijah Cummings Democratic 4%
ME U.S. Senate Sr Susan Collins Republican 48%
ME Councilor At-Large Joseph Baldacci Democratic 8%
MI U.S. Senate Sr Debbie Stabenow Democratic 12%
MI U.S. House 6 Fred Upton Republican 80%
MN U.S. House 7 Collin Peterson Democratic 52%
MO U.S. Senate Sr Roy Blunt Republican 80%
MS U.S. Senate Sr Roger Wicker Republican 80%
MS U.S. House 2 Bennie Thompson Democratic 16%
NC U.S. Senate Sr Richard Burr Republican 92%
NC U.S. House 4 David Price Democratic 8%
NJ U.S. Senate Sr Bob Menendez Democratic 13%
NJ U.S. House 4 Chris Smith Republican 64%
NJ U.S. House 6 Frank Pallone, Jr. Democratic 12%
NJ U.S. House 9 Bill Pascrell, Jr. Democratic 36%
NY U.S. Senate Sr Chuck Schumer Democratic 19%
NY U.S. House 2 Pete King Republican 64%
NY U.S. House 7 Nydia Velázquez Democratic 4%
NY U.S. House 10 Jerry Nadler Democratic 4%
NY U.S. House 12 Carolyn Maloney Democratic 8%
NY U.S. House 15 José Serrano Democratic 8%
NY U.S. House 16 Eliot Engel Democratic 8%
NY U.S. House 17 Nita Lowey Democratic 8%
OH U.S. Senate Sr Sherrod Brown Democratic 12%
OH U.S. Senate Jr Rob Portman Republican 92%
OH U.S. House 1 Steve Chabot Republican 96%
OH U.S. House 9 Marcy Kaptur Democratic 32%
OH Governor Mike DeWine Republican 68%
OK U.S. Senate Sr Jim Inhofe Republican 100%
OK U.S. House 3 Frank Lucas Republican 92%
OR U.S. Senate Sr Ron Wyden Democratic 8%
OR U.S. House 3 Earl Blumenauer Democratic 4%
OR U.S. House 4 Peter DeFazio Democratic 28%
PA U.S. House 18 Mike Doyle, Jr. Democratic 36%
RI U.S. Senate Sr Jack Reed Democratic 0%
SC U.S. Senate Sr Lindsey Graham Republican 92%
SC U.S. House 6 Jim Clyburn Democratic 16%
SD U.S. Senate Sr John Thune Republican 88%
TX U.S. House 8 Kevin Brady Republican 100%
TX U.S. House 12 Kay Granger Republican 92%
TX U.S. House 13 Mac Thornberry Republican 96%
TX U.S. House 18 Sheila Jackson Lee Democratic 13%
TX U.S. House 30 Eddie Johnson Democratic 16%
TX U.S. House 35 Lloyd Doggett II Democratic 16%
VA U.S. House 3 Bobby Scott Democratic 8%
VT U.S. Senate Sr Patrick Leahy Democratic 13%
VT U.S. Senate Jr Bernie Sanders Independent 12%
WA U.S. Senate Sr Patty Murray Democratic 0%
WA U.S. House 9 Adam Smith Democratic 20%
WI U.S. House 3 Ron Kind Democratic 28%
WI U.S. House 5 Jim Sensenbrenner, Jr. Republican 88%
WI Mayor At-Large Tom Barrett 20%
WY U.S. Senate Sr Mike Enzi Republican 88%
Neil Abercrombie 20%
Edmond Spencer Abraham 76%
Gary Ackerman 13%
Daniel Akaka, Sr. 4%
Wayne Allard 100%
Thomas Allen 8%
Rob Andrews 22%
Bill Archer 80%
Richard Armey 88%
John Ashcroft 100%
Spencer Bachus 96%
Henry Scott Baesler 36%
Kay Bailey Hutchison 92%
Richard Hugh Baker 92%
Cass Ballenger 83%
James Barcia 64%
Bob Barr, Jr. 96%
Bill Barrett 79%
Roscoe Bartlett 100%
Joe Barton 92%
Charlie Bass 80%
Herbert Bateman, Sr. 64%
Max Baucus 4%
Bob Bennett 68%
Kenneth Bentsen, Jr. 13%
Douglas Bereuter 68%
Howard Berman 9%
Marion Berry 44%
Joe Biden, Jr. 16%
Brian Bilbray 76%
Michael Bilirakis 84%
Jeff Bingaman 0%
Rod Blagojevich 16%
Thomas Bliley, Jr. 75%
Sherwood Boehlert 32%
John Boehner 87%
Kit Bond 76%
Henry Bonilla 95%
David Edward Bonior 12%
Robert Borski, Jr. 17%
Leonard Boswell 28%
Rick Boucher 8%
Barbara Boxer 0%
Allen Boyd, Jr. 44%
John Breaux 20%
Corrine Brown 17%
George Brown, Jr. 4%
Sam Brownback 100%
Richard Bryan 4%
Ed Bryant 100%
Dale Bumpers 4%
Jim Bunning 92%
Conrad Burns 88%
Dan Burton 96%
Steve Buyer 83%
Robert Byrd 16%
Herbert Callahan 88%
Dave Camp 84%
Ben Campbell 72%
Thomas Campbell 68%
Chris Cannon 96%
Julia Carson 9%
Mike Castle 56%
John Chafee 24%
Saxby Chambliss 88%
Helen Chenoweth-Hage 96%
Jon Lynn Christensen 92%
William Clay, Sr. 9%
Eva Clayton 4%
Joseph Maxwell Cleland 8%
Robert Clement 25%
Dan Coats 88%
Howard Coble 88%
Thomas Coburn 95%
Thad Cochran 56%
Michael Collins 83%
Larry Combest 92%
Gary Condit 52%
Kent Conrad 16%
John Conyers, Jr. 4%
Merrill Cook 88%
John Cooksey 91%
Jerry Costello 25%
Paul Coverdell 92%
Christopher Cox 96%
William Coyne 0%
Larry Craig 84%
Robert Cramer 48%
Philip Crane 96%
Barbara Cubin 100%
Randall Cunningham 92%
Alfonse D'Amato 56%
Patsy Ann Danner 56%
Thomas Daschle 4%
James Davis 16%
Thomas Davis III 72%
Nathan Deal 96%
Bill Delahunt 0%
Thomas DeLay 88%
Peter Deutsch 21%
Lincoln Diaz-Balart 72%
Jay Dickey 88%
Norm Dicks 17%
John Dingell 8%
Julian Dixon 12%
Chris Dodd 4%
Pete Domenici, Jr. 60%
Calvin Dooley 12%
John Doolittle 96%
Byron Dorgan 16%
David Dreier 88%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Skip to top

Help us stay free for all your Fellow Americans

Just $5 from everyone reading this would do it.

Thank You!

You are about to be redirected to a secure checkout page.

Please note:

The total order amount will read $0.01. This is a card processor fee. Please know that a recurring donation of the amount and frequency that you selected will be processed and initiated tomorrow. You may see a one-time charge of $0.01 on your statement.

Continue to secure page »

Back to top