Search Form
First, enter a politician or zip code
Now, choose a category

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: Christian Coalition of America

1997 Positions

State Office District Name Party Rating
AK U.S. House At-Large Donald Young Republican 86%
AL U.S. Senate Sr Richard Shelby Republican 100%
AL U.S. House 4 Robert Aderholt Republican 100%
AR Governor Asa Hutchinson Republican 78%
CA U.S. Senate Sr Dianne Feinstein Democratic 0%
CA U.S. House 12 Nancy Pelosi Democratic 11%
CA U.S. House 18 Anna Eshoo Democratic 22%
CA U.S. House 19 Zoe Lofgren Democratic 0%
CA U.S. House 30 Brad Sherman Democratic 33%
CA U.S. House 40 Lucille Roybal-Allard Democratic 0%
CA U.S. House 42 Ken Calvert Republican 89%
CA U.S. House 43 Maxine Waters Democratic 11%
CA Attorney General Xavier Becerra Democratic 0%
CO U.S. House 1 Diana DeGette Democratic 0%
CO Commissioner 2 Scott McInnis 78%
CT U.S. House 3 Rosa DeLauro Democratic 22%
FL U.S. House 20 Alcee Hastings, Sr. Democratic 11%
FL Chief Justice of the Supreme Court Charles Canady 89%
GA U.S. House 2 Sanford Bishop, Jr. Democratic 33%
GA U.S. House 5 John Lewis Democratic 11%
IA U.S. Senate Sr Chuck Grassley Republican 100%
ID U.S. Senate Sr Mike Crapo Republican 89%
IL U.S. Senate Sr Dick Durbin Democratic 0%
IL U.S. House 1 Bobby Rush Democratic 11%
IL U.S. House 7 Danny Davis Democratic 11%
IL U.S. House 15 John Shimkus Republican 89%
IN U.S. House 1 Pete Visclosky Democratic 33%
KS U.S. Senate Sr Pat Roberts Republican 100%
KS U.S. Senate Jr Jerry Moran Republican 89%
KY U.S. Senate Sr Mitch McConnell Republican 100%
KY U.S. House 5 Hal Rogers Republican 89%
MA U.S. Senate Jr Ed Markey Democratic 11%
MA U.S. House 1 Richard Neal Democratic 11%
MA U.S. House 2 Jim McGovern Democratic 0%
MD U.S. Senate Sr Ben Cardin Democratic 22%
MD U.S. House 5 Steny Hoyer Democratic 22%
ME U.S. Senate Sr Susan Collins Republican 14%
MI U.S. Senate Sr Debbie Stabenow Democratic 22%
MI U.S. House 6 Fred Upton Republican 89%
MN U.S. House 7 Collin Peterson Democratic 78%
MO U.S. Senate Sr Roy Blunt Republican 89%
MS U.S. Senate Sr Roger Wicker Republican 78%
MS U.S. House 2 Bennie Thompson Democratic 11%
NC U.S. Senate Sr Richard Burr Republican 100%
NC U.S. House 4 David Price Democratic 22%
NJ U.S. Senate Sr Bob Menendez Democratic 11%
NJ U.S. House 4 Chris Smith Republican 89%
NJ U.S. House 6 Frank Pallone, Jr. Democratic 22%
NJ U.S. House 9 Bill Pascrell, Jr. Democratic 44%
NY U.S. Senate Sr Chuck Schumer Democratic 0%
NY U.S. House 2 Pete King Republican 89%
NY U.S. House 7 Nydia Velázquez Democratic 11%
NY U.S. House 10 Jerry Nadler Democratic 13%
NY U.S. House 12 Carolyn Maloney Democratic 11%
NY U.S. House 15 José Serrano Democratic 0%
NY U.S. House 16 Eliot Engel Democratic 22%
NY U.S. House 17 Nita Lowey Democratic 13%
OH U.S. Senate Sr Sherrod Brown Democratic 33%
OH U.S. Senate Jr Rob Portman Republican 89%
OH U.S. House 1 Steve Chabot Republican 88%
OH U.S. House 9 Marcy Kaptur Democratic 38%
OH Governor Mike DeWine Republican 100%
OK U.S. Senate Sr Jim Inhofe Republican 100%
OK U.S. House 3 Frank Lucas Republican 89%
OR U.S. Senate Sr Ron Wyden Democratic 0%
OR U.S. House 3 Earl Blumenauer Democratic 0%
OR U.S. House 4 Peter DeFazio Democratic 22%
PA U.S. House 18 Mike Doyle, Jr. Democratic 56%
RI U.S. Senate Sr Jack Reed Democratic 0%
SC U.S. Senate Sr Lindsey Graham Republican 100%
SC U.S. House 6 Jim Clyburn Democratic 22%
SD U.S. Senate Sr John Thune Republican 78%
TX U.S. House 8 Kevin Brady Republican 78%
TX U.S. House 12 Kay Granger Republican 89%
TX U.S. House 13 Mac Thornberry Republican 89%
TX U.S. House 18 Sheila Jackson Lee Democratic 0%
TX U.S. House 30 Eddie Johnson Democratic 0%
TX U.S. House 35 Lloyd Doggett II Democratic 0%
VA U.S. House 3 Bobby Scott Democratic 11%
VT U.S. Senate Sr Patrick Leahy Democratic 29%
VT U.S. Senate Jr Bernie Sanders Independent 11%
WA U.S. Senate Sr Patty Murray Democratic 0%
WA U.S. House 9 Adam Smith Democratic 22%
WI U.S. House 3 Ron Kind Democratic 33%
WI U.S. House 5 Jim Sensenbrenner, Jr. Republican 89%
WI Mayor At-Large Tom Barrett 22%
WY U.S. Senate Sr Mike Enzi Republican 100%
Neil Abercrombie 22%
Edmond Spencer Abraham 100%
Gary Ackerman 0%
Daniel Akaka, Sr. 0%
Wayne Allard 100%
Thomas Allen 11%
Rob Andrews 22%
Bill Archer 78%
Richard Armey 89%
John Ashcroft 100%
Spencer Bachus 89%
Henry Scott Baesler 33%
Richard Hugh Baker 89%
Joseph Baldacci 0%
Cass Ballenger 89%
James Barcia 89%
Bob Barr, Jr. 100%
Bill Barrett 89%
Roscoe Bartlett 100%
Joe Barton 100%
Charlie Bass 67%
Herbert Bateman, Sr. 67%
Max Baucus 14%
Bob Bennett 100%
Kenneth Bentsen, Jr. 11%
Douglas Bereuter 67%
Howard Berman 11%
Marion Berry 56%
Joe Biden, Jr. 57%
Brian Bilbray 78%
Michael Bilirakis 89%
Jeff Bingaman 0%
Rod Blagojevich 22%
Thomas Bliley, Jr. 78%
Sherwood Boehlert 22%
John Boehner 89%
Kit Bond 100%
Henry Bonilla 89%
David Edward Bonior 22%
Sonny Bono 89%
Robert Borski, Jr. 56%
Leonard Boswell 33%
Rick Boucher 22%
Barbara Boxer 0%
Allen Boyd, Jr. 33%
John Breaux 85%
Corrine Brown 0%
George Brown, Jr. 0%
Sam Brownback 100%
Richard Bryan 14%
Ed Bryant 89%
Dale Bumpers 0%
Jim Bunning 100%
Conrad Burns 100%
Dan Burton 100%
Steve Buyer 89%
Robert Byrd 14%
Herbert Callahan 89%
Dave Camp 89%
Ben Campbell 71%
Thomas Campbell 33%
Chris Cannon 78%
Walter Holden Capps 11%
Julia Carson 17%
Mike Castle 56%
John Chafee 14%
Saxby Chambliss 100%
Helen Chenoweth-Hage 89%
Jon Lynn Christensen 78%
William Clay, Sr. 17%
Eva Clayton 11%
Joseph Maxwell Cleland 14%
Robert Clement 33%
Dan Coats 100%
Howard Coble 89%
Thomas Coburn 100%
Thad Cochran 100%
Michael Collins 100%
Larry Combest 89%
Gary Condit 78%
Kent Conrad 29%
John Conyers, Jr. 0%
Merrill Cook 89%
John Cooksey 89%
Jerry Costello 71%
Paul Coverdell 100%
Christopher Cox 100%
William Coyne 11%
Larry Craig 100%
Robert Cramer 56%
Philip Crane 89%
Barbara Cubin 100%
Elijah Cummings 11%
Randall Cunningham 89%
Alfonse D'Amato 100%
Patsy Ann Danner 78%
Thomas Daschle 14%
James Davis 33%
Thomas Davis III 78%
Nathan Deal 100%
Bill Delahunt 11%
Thomas DeLay 78%
Ronald Dellums 11%
Peter Deutsch 22%
Lincoln Diaz-Balart 100%
Jay Dickey 89%
Norm Dicks 11%
John Dingell 22%
Julian Dixon 0%
Chris Dodd 0%
Pete Domenici, Jr. 100%
Calvin Dooley 11%
John Doolittle 100%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Skip to top

Help us stay free for all your Fellow Americans

Just $5 from everyone reading this would do it.

Thank You!

You are about to be redirected to a secure checkout page.

Please note:

The total order amount will read $0.01. This is a card processor fee. Please know that a recurring donation of the amount and frequency that you selected will be processed and initiated tomorrow. You may see a one-time charge of $0.01 on your statement.

Continue to secure page »

Back to top