Search Form
First, enter a politician or zip code
Now, choose a category

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: National Council of Senior Citizens

1997 Positions

State Office District Name Party Rating
AK U.S. House At-Large Donald Young Republican 43%
AL U.S. Senate Sr Richard Shelby Republican 10%
AL U.S. House 4 Robert Aderholt Republican 33%
AR Governor Asa Hutchinson Republican 33%
CA U.S. Senate Sr Dianne Feinstein Democratic 60%
CA U.S. House 12 Nancy Pelosi Democratic 90%
CA U.S. House 18 Anna Eshoo Democratic 90%
CA U.S. House 19 Zoe Lofgren Democratic 90%
CA U.S. House 30 Brad Sherman Democratic 70%
CA U.S. House 40 Lucille Roybal-Allard Democratic 90%
CA U.S. House 42 Ken Calvert Republican 40%
CA U.S. House 43 Maxine Waters Democratic 90%
CA Attorney General Xavier Becerra Democratic 89%
CO U.S. House 1 Diana DeGette Democratic 90%
CO Commissioner 2 Scott McInnis 30%
CT U.S. House 3 Rosa DeLauro Democratic 90%
FL U.S. House 20 Alcee Hastings, Sr. Democratic 100%
FL Chief Justice of the Supreme Court Charles Canady 40%
GA U.S. House 2 Sanford Bishop, Jr. Democratic 70%
GA U.S. House 5 John Lewis Democratic 90%
IA U.S. Senate Sr Chuck Grassley Republican 10%
ID U.S. Senate Sr Mike Crapo Republican 40%
IL U.S. Senate Sr Dick Durbin Democratic 100%
IL U.S. House 1 Bobby Rush Democratic 100%
IL U.S. House 7 Danny Davis Democratic 100%
IL U.S. House 15 John Shimkus Republican 40%
IN U.S. House 1 Pete Visclosky Democratic 60%
KS U.S. Senate Sr Pat Roberts Republican 10%
KS U.S. Senate Jr Jerry Moran Republican 60%
KY U.S. Senate Sr Mitch McConnell Republican 10%
KY U.S. House 5 Hal Rogers Republican 40%
MA U.S. Senate Jr Ed Markey Democratic 89%
MA U.S. House 1 Richard Neal Democratic 89%
MA U.S. House 2 Jim McGovern Democratic 100%
MD U.S. Senate Sr Ben Cardin Democratic 90%
MD U.S. House 5 Steny Hoyer Democratic 90%
MD U.S. House 7 Elijah Cummings Democratic 90%
ME U.S. Senate Sr Susan Collins Republican 40%
ME Councilor At-Large Joseph Baldacci Democratic 90%
MI U.S. Senate Sr Debbie Stabenow Democratic 90%
MI U.S. House 6 Fred Upton Republican 30%
MN U.S. House 7 Collin Peterson Democratic 70%
MO U.S. Senate Sr Roy Blunt Republican 40%
MS U.S. Senate Sr Roger Wicker Republican 40%
MS U.S. House 2 Bennie Thompson Democratic 90%
NC U.S. Senate Sr Richard Burr Republican 50%
NC U.S. House 4 David Price Democratic 90%
NJ U.S. Senate Sr Bob Menendez Democratic 90%
NJ U.S. House 4 Chris Smith Republican 40%
NJ U.S. House 6 Frank Pallone, Jr. Democratic 78%
NJ U.S. House 9 Bill Pascrell, Jr. Democratic 90%
NY U.S. Senate Sr Chuck Schumer Democratic 90%
NY U.S. House 2 Pete King Republican 40%
NY U.S. House 7 Nydia Velázquez Democratic 100%
NY U.S. House 10 Jerry Nadler Democratic 100%
NY U.S. House 12 Carolyn Maloney Democratic 90%
NY U.S. House 15 José Serrano Democratic 100%
NY U.S. House 16 Eliot Engel Democratic 100%
NY U.S. House 17 Nita Lowey Democratic 89%
OH U.S. Senate Sr Sherrod Brown Democratic 89%
OH U.S. Senate Jr Rob Portman Republican 40%
OH U.S. House 1 Steve Chabot Republican 40%
OH U.S. House 9 Marcy Kaptur Democratic 100%
OH Governor Mike DeWine Republican 10%
OK U.S. Senate Sr Jim Inhofe Republican 10%
OK U.S. House 3 Frank Lucas Republican 40%
OR U.S. Senate Sr Ron Wyden Democratic 80%
OR U.S. House 3 Earl Blumenauer Democratic 80%
OR U.S. House 4 Peter DeFazio Democratic 90%
PA U.S. House 18 Mike Doyle, Jr. Democratic 70%
RI U.S. Senate Sr Jack Reed Democratic 100%
SC U.S. Senate Sr Lindsey Graham Republican 40%
SC U.S. House 6 Jim Clyburn Democratic 90%
SD U.S. Senate Sr John Thune Republican 40%
TX U.S. House 8 Kevin Brady Republican 30%
TX U.S. House 12 Kay Granger Republican 40%
TX U.S. House 13 Mac Thornberry Republican 40%
TX U.S. House 18 Sheila Jackson Lee Democratic 90%
TX U.S. House 30 Eddie Johnson Democratic 90%
TX U.S. House 35 Lloyd Doggett II Democratic 80%
VA U.S. House 3 Bobby Scott Democratic 90%
VT U.S. Senate Sr Patrick Leahy Democratic 100%
VT U.S. Senate Jr Bernie Sanders Independent 100%
WA U.S. Senate Sr Patty Murray Democratic 90%
WA U.S. House 9 Adam Smith Democratic 80%
WI U.S. House 3 Ron Kind Democratic 80%
WI U.S. House 5 Jim Sensenbrenner, Jr. Republican 30%
WI Mayor At-Large Tom Barrett 80%
WY U.S. Senate Sr Mike Enzi Republican 10%
Neil Abercrombie 89%
Edmond Spencer Abraham 20%
Gary Ackerman 90%
Daniel Akaka, Sr. 100%
Wayne Allard 10%
Thomas Allen 89%
Rob Andrews 67%
Bill Archer 33%
Richard Armey 33%
John Ashcroft 10%
Spencer Bachus 40%
Henry Scott Baesler 80%
Kay Bailey Hutchison 10%
Richard Hugh Baker 40%
Cass Ballenger 40%
James Barcia 60%
Bob Barr, Jr. 20%
Bill Barrett 40%
Roscoe Bartlett 40%
Joe Barton 30%
Charlie Bass 30%
Herbert Bateman, Sr. 50%
Max Baucus 50%
Bob Bennett 10%
Kenneth Bentsen, Jr. 80%
Douglas Bereuter 50%
Howard Berman 90%
Marion Berry 90%
Joe Biden, Jr. 80%
Brian Bilbray 40%
Michael Bilirakis 40%
Jeff Bingaman 78%
Rod Blagojevich 90%
Thomas Bliley, Jr. 30%
Sherwood Boehlert 50%
John Boehner 40%
Kit Bond 20%
Henry Bonilla 50%
David Edward Bonior 90%
Robert Borski, Jr. 100%
Leonard Boswell 50%
Rick Boucher 100%
Barbara Boxer 100%
Allen Boyd, Jr. 60%
John Breaux 30%
Corrine Brown 89%
George Brown, Jr. 90%
Sam Brownback 10%
Richard Bryan 50%
Ed Bryant 50%
Dale Bumpers 80%
Jim Bunning 40%
Conrad Burns 10%
Dan Burton 33%
Steve Buyer 40%
Robert Byrd 100%
Herbert Callahan 40%
Dave Camp 40%
Ben Campbell 10%
Thomas Campbell 30%
Chris Cannon 40%
Julia Carson 90%
Mike Castle 30%
John Chafee 10%
Saxby Chambliss 30%
Helen Chenoweth-Hage 40%
Jon Lynn Christensen 40%
William Clay, Sr. 100%
Eva Clayton 90%
Joseph Maxwell Cleland 90%
Robert Clement 70%
Dan Coats 10%
Howard Coble 56%
Thomas Coburn 40%
Thad Cochran 10%
Michael Collins 40%
Larry Combest 30%
Gary Condit 50%
Kent Conrad 60%
John Conyers, Jr. 100%
Merrill Cook 40%
John Cooksey 40%
Jerry Costello 89%
Paul Coverdell 40%
Christopher Cox 44%
William Coyne 90%
Larry Craig 10%
Robert Cramer 50%
Philip Crane 40%
Barbara Cubin 40%
Randall Cunningham 40%
Alfonse D'Amato 50%
Patsy Ann Danner 60%
Thomas Daschle 100%
James Davis 70%
Thomas Davis III 40%
Nathan Deal 40%
Bill Delahunt 100%
Thomas DeLay 40%
Peter Deutsch 80%
Lincoln Diaz-Balart 40%
Jay Dickey 50%
Norm Dicks 80%
John Dingell 89%
Julian Dixon 89%
Chris Dodd 60%
Pete Domenici, Jr. 10%
Calvin Dooley 60%
John Doolittle 50%
Byron Dorgan 100%
David Dreier 40%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Skip to top

Help us stay free for all your Fellow Americans

Just $5 from everyone reading this would do it.

Thank You!

You are about to be redirected to a secure checkout page.

Please note:

The total order amount will read $0.01. This is a card processor fee. Please know that a recurring donation of the amount and frequency that you selected will be processed and initiated tomorrow. You may see a one-time charge of $0.01 on your statement.

Continue to secure page »

Back to top