Search Form
First, enter a politician or zip code
Now, choose a category

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: Public Citizen

1997 Positions

State Office District Name Party Rating
AK U.S. House At-Large Donald Young Republican 9%
AL U.S. Senate Sr Richard Shelby Republican 12%
AL U.S. House 4 Robert Aderholt Republican 27%
AR Governor Asa Hutchinson Republican 45%
CA U.S. Senate Sr Dianne Feinstein Democratic 88%
CA U.S. House 12 Nancy Pelosi Democratic 55%
CA U.S. House 18 Anna Eshoo Democratic 73%
CA U.S. House 19 Zoe Lofgren Democratic 45%
CA U.S. House 30 Brad Sherman Democratic 73%
CA U.S. House 40 Lucille Roybal-Allard Democratic 73%
CA U.S. House 42 Ken Calvert Republican 9%
CA U.S. House 43 Maxine Waters Democratic 55%
CA Attorney General Xavier Becerra Democratic 73%
CO U.S. House 1 Diana DeGette Democratic 82%
CO Commissioner 2 Scott McInnis 55%
CT U.S. House 3 Rosa DeLauro Democratic 82%
FL U.S. House 20 Alcee Hastings, Sr. Democratic 55%
FL Chief Justice of the Supreme Court Charles Canady 45%
GA U.S. House 2 Sanford Bishop, Jr. Democratic 36%
GA U.S. House 5 John Lewis Democratic 91%
IA U.S. Senate Sr Chuck Grassley Republican 12%
ID U.S. Senate Sr Mike Crapo Republican 36%
IL U.S. Senate Sr Dick Durbin Democratic 88%
IL U.S. House 1 Bobby Rush Democratic 36%
IL U.S. House 7 Danny Davis Democratic 55%
IL U.S. House 15 John Shimkus Republican 9%
IN U.S. House 1 Pete Visclosky Democratic 64%
KS U.S. Senate Sr Pat Roberts Republican 0%
KS U.S. Senate Jr Jerry Moran Republican 27%
KY U.S. Senate Sr Mitch McConnell Republican 0%
KY U.S. House 5 Hal Rogers Republican 18%
MA U.S. Senate Jr Ed Markey Democratic 100%
MA U.S. House 1 Richard Neal Democratic 73%
MA U.S. House 2 Jim McGovern Democratic 82%
MD U.S. Senate Sr Ben Cardin Democratic 55%
MD U.S. House 5 Steny Hoyer Democratic 9%
MD U.S. House 7 Elijah Cummings Democratic 55%
ME U.S. Senate Sr Susan Collins Republican 38%
ME Councilor At-Large Joseph Baldacci Democratic 55%
MI U.S. Senate Sr Debbie Stabenow Democratic 64%
MI U.S. House 6 Fred Upton Republican 45%
MN U.S. House 7 Collin Peterson Democratic 45%
MO U.S. Senate Sr Roy Blunt Republican 45%
MS U.S. Senate Sr Roger Wicker Republican 9%
MS U.S. House 2 Bennie Thompson Democratic 36%
NC U.S. Senate Sr Richard Burr Republican 36%
NC U.S. House 4 David Price Democratic 27%
NJ U.S. Senate Sr Bob Menendez Democratic 64%
NJ U.S. House 4 Chris Smith Republican 73%
NJ U.S. House 6 Frank Pallone, Jr. Democratic 100%
NJ U.S. House 9 Bill Pascrell, Jr. Democratic 82%
NY U.S. Senate Sr Chuck Schumer Democratic 73%
NY U.S. House 2 Pete King Republican 27%
NY U.S. House 7 Nydia Velázquez Democratic 91%
NY U.S. House 10 Jerry Nadler Democratic 91%
NY U.S. House 12 Carolyn Maloney Democratic 55%
NY U.S. House 15 José Serrano Democratic 55%
NY U.S. House 16 Eliot Engel Democratic 64%
NY U.S. House 17 Nita Lowey Democratic 73%
OH U.S. Senate Sr Sherrod Brown Democratic 73%
OH U.S. Senate Jr Rob Portman Republican 55%
OH U.S. House 1 Steve Chabot Republican 73%
OH U.S. House 9 Marcy Kaptur Democratic 55%
OH Governor Mike DeWine Republican 25%
OK U.S. Senate Sr Jim Inhofe Republican 0%
OK U.S. House 3 Frank Lucas Republican 27%
OR U.S. Senate Sr Ron Wyden Democratic 50%
OR U.S. House 3 Earl Blumenauer Democratic 45%
OR U.S. House 4 Peter DeFazio Democratic 91%
PA U.S. House 18 Mike Doyle, Jr. Democratic 55%
RI U.S. Senate Sr Jack Reed Democratic 100%
SC U.S. Senate Sr Lindsey Graham Republican 36%
SC U.S. House 6 Jim Clyburn Democratic 36%
SD U.S. Senate Sr John Thune Republican 36%
TX U.S. House 8 Kevin Brady Republican 9%
TX U.S. House 12 Kay Granger Republican 9%
TX U.S. House 13 Mac Thornberry Republican 18%
TX U.S. House 18 Sheila Jackson Lee Democratic 27%
TX U.S. House 30 Eddie Johnson Democratic 9%
TX U.S. House 35 Lloyd Doggett II Democratic 73%
VA U.S. House 3 Bobby Scott Democratic 36%
VT U.S. Senate Sr Patrick Leahy Democratic 62%
VT U.S. Senate Jr Bernie Sanders Independent 100%
WA U.S. Senate Sr Patty Murray Democratic 62%
WA U.S. House 9 Adam Smith Democratic 73%
WI U.S. House 3 Ron Kind Democratic 73%
WI U.S. House 5 Jim Sensenbrenner, Jr. Republican 73%
WI Mayor At-Large Tom Barrett 91%
WY U.S. Senate Sr Mike Enzi Republican 0%
Neil Abercrombie 45%
Edmond Spencer Abraham 12%
Gary Ackerman 45%
Daniel Akaka, Sr. 75%
Wayne Allard 0%
Thomas Allen 64%
Rob Andrews 82%
Bill Archer 18%
Richard Armey 45%
John Ashcroft 0%
Spencer Bachus 45%
Henry Scott Baesler 36%
Kay Bailey Hutchison 38%
Richard Hugh Baker 0%
Cass Ballenger 0%
James Barcia 55%
Bob Barr, Jr. 64%
Bill Barrett 0%
Roscoe Bartlett 45%
Joe Barton 27%
Charlie Bass 64%
Herbert Bateman, Sr. 0%
Max Baucus 75%
Bob Bennett 25%
Kenneth Bentsen, Jr. 27%
Douglas Bereuter 9%
Howard Berman 45%
Marion Berry 18%
Joe Biden, Jr. 62%
Brian Bilbray 36%
Michael Bilirakis 27%
Jeff Bingaman 88%
Rod Blagojevich 82%
Thomas Bliley, Jr. 9%
Sherwood Boehlert 27%
John Boehner 18%
Kit Bond 12%
Henry Bonilla 9%
David Edward Bonior 55%
Robert Borski, Jr. 64%
Leonard Boswell 64%
Rick Boucher 27%
Barbara Boxer 88%
Allen Boyd, Jr. 18%
John Breaux 50%
Corrine Brown 36%
George Brown, Jr. 45%
Sam Brownback 12%
Richard Bryan 62%
Ed Bryant 27%
Dale Bumpers 75%
Jim Bunning 27%
Conrad Burns 0%
Dan Burton 36%
Steve Buyer 18%
Robert Byrd 88%
Herbert Callahan 18%
Dave Camp 18%
Ben Campbell 12%
Thomas Campbell 55%
Chris Cannon 36%
Julia Carson 82%
Mike Castle 55%
John Chafee 38%
Saxby Chambliss 36%
Helen Chenoweth-Hage 36%
Jon Lynn Christensen 27%
William Clay, Sr. 45%
Eva Clayton 36%
Joseph Maxwell Cleland 50%
Robert Clement 9%
Dan Coats 25%
Howard Coble 55%
Thomas Coburn 27%
Thad Cochran 0%
Michael Collins 45%
Larry Combest 9%
Gary Condit 82%
Kent Conrad 75%
John Conyers, Jr. 73%
Merrill Cook 45%
John Cooksey 27%
Jerry Costello 55%
Paul Coverdell 0%
Christopher Cox 55%
William Coyne 73%
Larry Craig 0%
Robert Cramer 18%
Philip Crane 27%
Barbara Cubin 18%
Randall Cunningham 36%
Alfonse D'Amato 25%
Patsy Ann Danner 36%
Thomas Daschle 62%
James Davis 36%
Thomas Davis III 9%
Nathan Deal 64%
Bill Delahunt 82%
Thomas DeLay 9%
Ronald Dellums 91%
Peter Deutsch 55%
Lincoln Diaz-Balart 36%
Jay Dickey 36%
Norm Dicks 0%
John Dingell 18%
Julian Dixon 27%
Chris Dodd 50%
Pete Domenici, Jr. 0%
Calvin Dooley 0%
John Doolittle 27%
Byron Dorgan 75%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Skip to top

Help us stay free for all your Fellow Americans

Just $5 from everyone reading this would do it.

Thank You!

You are about to be redirected to a secure checkout page.

Please note:

The total order amount will read $0.01. This is a card processor fee. Please know that a recurring donation of the amount and frequency that you selected will be processed and initiated tomorrow. You may see a one-time charge of $0.01 on your statement.

Continue to secure page »

Back to top