Search Form
First, enter a politician or zip code
Now, choose a category

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: California Alliance for Retired Americans

2005 Positions

State Office District Name Party Rating
CA U.S. House 1 Doug LaMalfa Republican 19%
CA U.S. House 4 Tom McClintock Republican 25%
CA U.S. House 14 Jackie Speier Democratic 100%
CA U.S. House 23 Kevin McCarthy Republican 33%
CA U.S. House 27 Judy Chu Democratic 100%
CA U.S. House 37 Karen Bass Democratic 100%
CA U.S. House 47 Alan Lowenthal Democratic 100%
CA U.S. House 51 Juan Vargas Democratic 94%
CA State Senate 34 Thomas Umberg Democratic 100%
CA Supervisor 2 Mark Ridley-Thomas 93%
CA Supervisor 3 Wilma Chan 100%
CA Supervisor 3 Sheila Kuehl 100%
CA Supervisor 3 Todd Spitzer 38%
CA Supervisor 5 Joe Simitian No Party Affiliation 100%
CA Council Member 1 Gilbert Cedillo 88%
CA Council Member 5 Paul Koretz 100%
CA Council Member At-Large Alan Nakanishi 25%
CA Mayor Pro Tempore At-Large Joe Baca, Jr. 94%
Samuel Aanestad 25%
Richard Ackerman 19%
Gregory Aghazarian 25%
Richard Alarcón 94%
Elaine Alquist 100%
Juan Arambula 94%
Roy Ashburn 25%
James Battin 25%
John Benoit 31%
Patty Berg 100%
Rudy Bermúdez 88%
Sam Blakeslee 31%
Russell Bogh 44%
Debra Bowen 100%
Ron Calderon 88%
Joseph Canciamilla 75%
Edward Chavez 81%
Wesley Chesbro 88%
David Cogdill 31%
Rebecca Cohn 100%
Joe Coto 100%
Dave Cox 13%
Lynn Daucher 44%
Hector De La Torre 100%
Jeff Denham 38%
Charles DeVore 25%
Denise Ducheny 88%
Joe Dunn 93%
Robert Dutton 20%
Mervyn Dymally 100%
Bill Emmerson 31%
Martha Escutia 71%
Noreen Evans 100%
Liz Figueroa 88%
Dean Florez 93%
Dario Frommer 100%
Bonnie Garcia 56%
Jackie Goldberg 100%
Loni Hancock 94%
Tom Harman 33%
Ray Haynes, Jr. 25%
Dennis Hollingsworth 19%
Jerome Horton 88%
Shirley Horton 63%
Guy Houston 38%
Robert Huff 19%
Dave Jones 100%
Betty Karnette 100%
Richard Keene 25%
Christine Kehoe 100%
Johan Klehs 100%
John Laird 100%
Jay La Suer 25%
Mark Leno 100%
Robert Leslie 25%
Lloyd Levine 94%
Sally Lieber 100%
Carol Liu 100%
Michael Machado 100%
Abel Maldonado 50%
Bob Margett 29%
Barbara Matthews 81%
Bill Maze 25%
Carole Migden 94%
Cindy Montañez 94%
William Phillip Morrow 27%
Dennis Lee Mountjoy 25%
Eugene Mullin 94%
Kevin Murray 70%
Joseph Nation 100%
Pedro Nava 100%
Gloria Negrete McLeod 94%
Roger Niello 19%
Fabian Núñez 100%
Jenny Oropeza 93%
Deborah Ortiz 94%
Nicole Parra 88%
Fran Pavley 100%
Don Perata 93%
George Plescia 19%
Charles Poochigian 25%
Keith Stuart Richman 50%
Gloria Romero 100%
George Runner, Jr. 20%
Sharon Runner 25%
Ira Ruskin 100%
Lori Saldaña 94%
Simón Salinas 100%
Jack Scott 100%
Nell Soto 100%
Audra Strickland 25%
Tom Torlakson 100%
Alberto Torrico 94%
Van Tran 50%
Mike Villines 19%
Edward Vincent 92%
Mimi Walters 6%
Lois Wolk 94%
Mark Wyland 31%
Leland Yee 100%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Skip to top

Help us stay free for all your Fellow Americans

Just $5 from everyone reading this would do it.

Thank You!

You are about to be redirected to a secure checkout page.

Please note:

The total order amount will read $0.01. This is a card processor fee. Please know that a recurring donation of the amount and frequency that you selected will be processed and initiated tomorrow. You may see a one-time charge of $0.01 on your statement.

Continue to secure page »

Back to top