Search Form
First, enter a politician or zip code
Now, choose a category

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: Americans for Immigration Control

1996-1998 Positions

Issues: Immigration
State Office District Name Party Rating
Robert Byrd 75%
Y. Tim Hutchinson 66%
Craig Thomas 66%
Robert Torricelli 33%
Daniel Akaka, Sr. 25%
Max Baucus 25%
Joe Biden, Jr. 25%
Richard Bryan 25%
Conrad Burns 25%
IL U.S. Senate Sr Dick Durbin Democratic 25%
Russ Feingold 25%
William Phillip Gramm 25%
IA U.S. Senate Sr Chuck Grassley Republican 25%
Tom Harkin 25%
Ernest Hollings 25%
James Merrill Jeffords 25%
Edward Kennedy, Sr. 25%
John Kerry 25%
Jon Kyl 25%
Carl Levin 25%
Trent Lott, Sr. 25%
Barbara Mikulski 25%
Patrick Moynihan 25%
Harry Reid 25%
KS U.S. Senate Sr Pat Roberts Republican 25%
Jay Rockefeller IV 25%
William Roth, Jr. 25%
Paul Sarbanes 25%
AL U.S. Senate Sr Richard Shelby Republican 25%
Paul Wellstone 25%
Edmond Spencer Abraham 0%
Wayne Allard 0%
John Ashcroft 0%
Kay Bailey Hutchison 0%
Bob Bennett 0%
Jeff Bingaman 0%
Kit Bond 0%
Barbara Boxer 0%
John Breaux 0%
KS Governor Sam Brownback Republican 0%
Ben Campbell 0%
Lincoln Chafee 0%
Joseph Maxwell Cleland 0%
MS U.S. Senate Sr Thad Cochran Republican 0%
ME U.S. Senate Sr Susan Collins Republican 0%
Kent Conrad 0%
Larry Craig 0%
Thomas Daschle 0%
OH Attorney General Mike DeWine Republican 0%
Chris Dodd 0%
Pete Domenici, Jr. 0%
Byron Dorgan 0%
WY U.S. Senate Sr Mike Enzi Republican 0%
CA U.S. Senate Sr Dianne Feinstein Democratic 0%
William Frist 0%
Slade Gorton 0%
Daniel Graham 0%
Rodney Grams 0%
Judd Gregg 0%
Charles Hagel 0%
UT U.S. Senate Sr Orrin Hatch Republican 0%
Jesse Helms 0%
OK U.S. Senate Sr Jim Inhofe Republican 0%
Daniel Inouye 0%
Timothy Johnson 0%
Bob Kerrey 0%
Herb Kohl 0%
Mary Landrieu 0%
Frank Lautenberg 0%
VT U.S. Senate Sr Patrick Leahy Democratic 0%
Joe Lieberman 0%
Dick Lugar 0%
Connie Mack 0%
AZ U.S. Senate Sr John McCain III Republican 0%
KY U.S. Senate Sr Mitch McConnell Republican 0%
Frank Murkowski 0%
WA U.S. Senate Sr Patty Murray Democratic 0%
Don Nickles 0%
RI U.S. Senate Sr Jack Reed Democratic 0%
Charles Robb 0%
Rick Santorum 0%
NA U.S. Attorney General Jeff Sessions III Republican 0%
Gordon Smith 0%
Bob Smith 0%
Olympia Snowe 0%
Arlen Specter 0%
Ted Stevens 0%
Fred Thompson 0%
Strom Thurmond 0%
John Warner 0%
OR U.S. Senate Sr Ron Wyden Democratic 0%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Skip to top

Help us stay free for all your Fellow Americans

Just $5 from everyone reading this would do it.

Back to top