Search Form
First, enter a politician or zip code
Now, choose a category

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: AIDS United

1995-1996 Positions

State Office District Name Party Rating
AK U.S. House At-Large Donald Young Republican 18%
AL U.S. Senate Sr Richard Shelby Republican 28%
AZ U.S. Senate Jr Jon Kyl Republican 17%
CA U.S. Senate Sr Dianne Feinstein Democratic 89%
CA U.S. House 12 Nancy Pelosi Democratic 100%
CA U.S. House 18 Anna Eshoo Democratic 100%
CA U.S. House 19 Zoe Lofgren Democratic 93%
CA U.S. House 39 Ed Royce Republican 13%
CA U.S. House 40 Lucille Roybal-Allard Democratic 100%
CA U.S. House 42 Ken Calvert Republican 13%
CA U.S. House 43 Maxine Waters Democratic 87%
CA U.S. House 48 Dana Rohrabacher Republican 13%
CA Attorney General Xavier Becerra Democratic 92%
CO Commissioner 2 Scott McInnis 36%
CT U.S. House 3 Rosa DeLauro Democratic 100%
FL U.S. House 20 Alcee Hastings, Sr. Democratic 87%
FL U.S. House 27 Ileana Ros-Lehtinen Republican 21%
FL Chief Justice of the Supreme Court Charles Canady 20%
GA U.S. House 2 Sanford Bishop, Jr. Democratic 80%
GA U.S. House 5 John Lewis Democratic 100%
GA Governor Nathan Deal Republican 13%
IA U.S. Senate Sr Chuck Grassley Republican 22%
ID U.S. Senate Sr Mike Crapo Republican 13%
IL U.S. House 1 Bobby Rush Democratic 100%
IL U.S. House 4 Luis Gutiérrez Democratic 100%
IN U.S. House 1 Pete Visclosky Democratic 93%
IN Council Member At-Large John Myers Republican 0%
KY U.S. Senate Sr Mitch McConnell Republican 33%
KY U.S. House 5 Hal Rogers Republican 13%
MA U.S. Senate Jr Ed Markey Democratic 100%
MA U.S. House 1 Richard Neal Democratic 100%
MD U.S. Senate Sr Ben Cardin Democratic 93%
MD U.S. House 5 Steny Hoyer Democratic 93%
MD U.S. House 7 Elijah Cummings Democratic 100%
ME Councilor At-Large Joseph Baldacci Democratic 93%
MI U.S. House 6 Fred Upton Republican 53%
MI U.S. House 9 Sandy Levin Democratic 100%
MN U.S. House 7 Collin Peterson Democratic 50%
MS U.S. Senate Sr Roger Wicker Republican 13%
MS U.S. House 2 Bennie Thompson Democratic 87%
NC U.S. Senate Sr Richard Burr Republican 20%
NC U.S. House 3 Walter Jones, Jr. Republican 7%
NJ U.S. Senate Sr Bob Menendez Democratic 100%
NJ U.S. House 2 Frank LoBiondo Republican 47%
NJ U.S. House 4 Chris Smith Republican 20%
NJ U.S. House 6 Frank Pallone, Jr. Democratic 100%
NJ U.S. House 11 Rodney Frelinghuysen Republican 53%
NY U.S. Senate Sr Chuck Schumer Democratic 100%
NY U.S. House 2 Pete King Republican 13%
NY U.S. House 7 Nydia Velázquez Democratic 100%
NY U.S. House 10 Jerry Nadler Democratic 100%
NY U.S. House 12 Carolyn Maloney Democratic 100%
NY U.S. House 15 José Serrano Democratic 100%
NY U.S. House 16 Eliot Engel Democratic 100%
NY U.S. House 17 Nita Lowey Democratic 100%
OH U.S. Senate Sr Sherrod Brown Democratic 100%
OH U.S. Senate Jr Rob Portman Republican 13%
OH U.S. House 1 Steve Chabot Republican 13%
OH U.S. House 9 Marcy Kaptur Democratic 93%
OH Governor John Kasich Republican 20%
OH Attorney General Mike DeWine Republican 50%
OK U.S. Senate Sr Jim Inhofe Republican 22%
OK U.S. House 3 Frank Lucas Republican 13%
OR U.S. Senate Sr Ron Wyden Democratic 60%
OR U.S. House 3 Earl Blumenauer Democratic 100%
OR U.S. House 4 Peter DeFazio Democratic 93%
PA U.S. House 14 Mike Doyle, Jr. Democratic 73%
SC U.S. Senate Sr Lindsey Graham Republican 7%
SC U.S. House 1 Mark Sanford, Jr. Republican 7%
SC U.S. House 6 Jim Clyburn Democratic 87%
TN U.S. House 2 John Duncan, Jr. Republican 13%
TX U.S. House 3 Sam Johnson Republican 7%
TX U.S. House 6 Joe Barton Republican 7%
TX U.S. House 13 Mac Thornberry Republican 7%
TX U.S. House 18 Sheila Jackson Lee Democratic 100%
TX U.S. House 21 Lamar Smith Republican 14%
TX U.S. House 29 Gene Green Democratic 93%
TX U.S. House 30 Eddie Johnson Democratic 93%
TX U.S. House 35 Lloyd Doggett II Democratic 100%
UT U.S. Senate Sr Orrin Hatch Republican 44%
VA U.S. House 3 Bobby Scott Democratic 93%
VA U.S. House 6 Bob Goodlatte Republican 13%
VT U.S. Senate Sr Patrick Leahy Democratic 89%
VT U.S. Senate Jr Bernie Sanders Independent 100%
WA U.S. Senate Sr Patty Murray Democratic 94%
WI U.S. House 5 Jim Sensenbrenner, Jr. Republican 13%
WI Mayor At-Large Tom Barrett 100%
Neil Abercrombie 93%
Edmond Spencer Abraham 50%
Gary Ackerman 100%
Daniel Akaka, Sr. 94%
Rob Andrews 92%
Bill Archer 13%
Richard Armey 13%
John Ashcroft 28%
Spencer Bachus 13%
Henry Scott Baesler 64%
Kay Bailey Hutchison 33%
Richard Hugh Baker 13%
William Baker 0%
Cass Ballenger 8%
James Barcia 67%
Bob Barr, Jr. 13%
Bill Barrett 13%
Roscoe Bartlett 13%
Charlie Bass 33%
Herbert Bateman, Sr. 15%
Max Baucus 72%
Anthony Beilenson 100%
Bob Bennett 36%
Kenneth Bentsen, Jr. 87%
Douglas Bereuter 50%
Howard Berman 100%
Tom Bevill 56%
Joe Biden, Jr. 83%
Brian Bilbray 60%
Michael Bilirakis 13%
Jeff Bingaman 89%
Thomas Bliley, Jr. 7%
Peter Blute 44%
Sherwood Boehlert 87%
John Boehner 13%
Kit Bond 41%
Henry Bonilla 7%
David Edward Bonior 93%
Sonny Bono 20%
Robert Borski, Jr. 93%
Rick Boucher 86%
Barbara Boxer 88%
Bill Bradley 100%
John Breaux 89%
Bill Brewster 33%
Corrine Brown 93%
George Brown, Jr. 100%
Hank Brown 15%
Richard Bryan 89%
Ed Bryant 013%
John Bryant 100%
Dale Bumpers 83%
Jim Bunn 0%
Jim Bunning 13%
Conrad Burns 39%
Dan Burton 13%
Steve Buyer 13%
Robert Byrd 83%
Herbert Callahan 013%
Dave Camp 27%
Ben Campbell 50%
Thomas Campbell 71%
Mike Castle 60%
John Chafee 61%
Saxby Chambliss 13%
Jim Chapman 78%
Helen Chenoweth-Hage 14%
Jon Lynn Christensen 13%
Dick Chrysler 0%
William Clay, Sr. 100%
Eva Clayton 100%
Robert Clement 80%
William Clinger 11%
Dan Coats 33%
Howard Coble 13%
Thomas Coburn 13%
Thad Cochran 28%
William Cohen 77%
Ronald Coleman 89%
Barbara-Rose Collins 100%
Cardiss Collins 100%
Michael Collins 13%
Larry Combest 13%
Gary Condit 67%
Kent Conrad 83%
John Conyers, Jr. 100%
Wes Cooley 0%
Jerry Costello 60%
Paul Coverdell 44%
Christopher Cox 14%
William Coyne 100%
Larry Craig 44%
Robert Cramer 67%
Philip Crane 15%
Frank Arnold Cremeans 0%
Barbara Cubin 21%
Randall Cunningham 13%
Alfonse D'Amato 50%
Patsy Ann Danner 60%
Thomas Daschle 100%
Thomas Davis III 33%
Eligio de la Garza II 67%
Thomas DeLay 13%
Ronald Dellums 100%
Peter Deutsch 100%
Lincoln Diaz-Balart 13%
Jay Dickey 13%
Norm Dicks 100%
John Dingell 93%
Julian Dixon 93%
Chris Dodd 100%
Robert Dole 23%
Pete Domenici, Jr. 50%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Skip to top

Help us stay free for all your Fellow Americans

Just $5 from everyone reading this would do it.

Thank You!

You are about to be redirected to a secure checkout page.

Please note:

The total order amount will read $0.01. This is a card processor fee. Please know that a recurring donation of the amount and frequency that you selected will be processed and initiated tomorrow. You may see a one-time charge of $0.01 on your statement.

Continue to secure page »

Back to top