Search Form
First, enter a politician or zip code
Now, choose a category

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: American Civil Liberties Union

1997-1998 Positions

State Office District Name Party Rating
AK U.S. House At-Large Donald Young Republican 20%
AL U.S. Senate Sr Richard Shelby Republican 17%
AL U.S. House 4 Robert Aderholt Republican 6%
AR Governor Asa Hutchinson Republican 19%
CA U.S. Senate Sr Dianne Feinstein Democratic 83%
CA U.S. House 12 Nancy Pelosi Democratic 94%
CA U.S. House 13 Barbara Lee Democratic 92%
CA U.S. House 18 Anna Eshoo Democratic 80%
CA U.S. House 19 Zoe Lofgren Democratic 88%
CA U.S. House 30 Brad Sherman Democratic 75%
CA U.S. House 40 Lucille Roybal-Allard Democratic 86%
CA U.S. House 42 Ken Calvert Republican 13%
CA U.S. House 43 Maxine Waters Democratic 93%
CA Attorney General Xavier Becerra Democratic 88%
CO U.S. House 1 Diana DeGette Democratic 94%
CO Commissioner 2 Scott McInnis 6%
CT U.S. House 3 Rosa DeLauro Democratic 81%
FL U.S. House 20 Alcee Hastings, Sr. Democratic 93%
FL Chief Justice of the Supreme Court Charles Canady 6%
GA U.S. House 2 Sanford Bishop, Jr. Democratic 44%
GA U.S. House 5 John Lewis Democratic 93%
IA U.S. Senate Sr Chuck Grassley Republican 17%
ID U.S. Senate Sr Mike Crapo Republican 13%
IL U.S. Senate Sr Dick Durbin Democratic 83%
IL U.S. House 1 Bobby Rush Democratic 87%
IL U.S. House 7 Danny Davis Democratic 81%
IL U.S. House 15 John Shimkus Republican 6%
IN U.S. House 1 Pete Visclosky Democratic 69%
KS U.S. Senate Sr Pat Roberts Republican 17%
KS U.S. Senate Jr Jerry Moran Republican 19%
KY U.S. Senate Sr Mitch McConnell Republican 17%
KY U.S. House 5 Hal Rogers Republican 6%
MA U.S. Senate Jr Ed Markey Democratic 87%
MA U.S. House 1 Richard Neal Democratic 69%
MA U.S. House 2 Jim McGovern Democratic 81%
MD U.S. Senate Sr Ben Cardin Democratic 81%
MD U.S. House 5 Steny Hoyer Democratic 81%
MD U.S. House 7 Elijah Cummings Democratic 88%
ME U.S. Senate Sr Susan Collins Republican 67%
ME Councilor At-Large Joseph Baldacci Democratic 81%
MI U.S. Senate Sr Debbie Stabenow Democratic 69%
MI U.S. House 6 Fred Upton Republican 19%
MN U.S. House 7 Collin Peterson Democratic 25%
MO U.S. Senate Sr Roy Blunt Republican 6%
MS U.S. Senate Sr Roger Wicker Republican 6%
MS U.S. House 2 Bennie Thompson Democratic 79%
NC U.S. Senate Sr Richard Burr Republican 13%
NC U.S. House 4 David Price Democratic 75%
NJ U.S. Senate Sr Bob Menendez Democratic 81%
NJ U.S. House 4 Chris Smith Republican 6%
NJ U.S. House 6 Frank Pallone, Jr. Democratic 81%
NJ U.S. House 9 Bill Pascrell, Jr. Democratic 56%
NY U.S. Senate Sr Chuck Schumer Democratic 93%
NY U.S. House 2 Pete King Republican 13%
NY U.S. House 5 Gregory Meeks Democratic 92%
NY U.S. House 7 Nydia Velázquez Democratic 94%
NY U.S. House 10 Jerry Nadler Democratic 87%
NY U.S. House 12 Carolyn Maloney Democratic 81%
NY U.S. House 15 José Serrano Democratic 93%
NY U.S. House 16 Eliot Engel Democratic 81%
NY U.S. House 17 Nita Lowey Democratic 81%
OH U.S. Senate Sr Sherrod Brown Democratic 75%
OH U.S. Senate Jr Rob Portman Republican 6%
OH U.S. House 1 Steve Chabot Republican 13%
OH U.S. House 9 Marcy Kaptur Democratic 63%
OH Governor Mike DeWine Republican 17%
OK U.S. Senate Sr Jim Inhofe Republican 17%
OK U.S. House 3 Frank Lucas Republican 6%
OR U.S. Senate Sr Ron Wyden Democratic 83%
OR U.S. House 3 Earl Blumenauer Democratic 94%
OR U.S. House 4 Peter DeFazio Democratic 88%
PA U.S. House 18 Mike Doyle, Jr. Democratic 53%
RI U.S. Senate Sr Jack Reed Democratic 83%
SC U.S. Senate Sr Lindsey Graham Republican 0%
SC U.S. House 6 Jim Clyburn Democratic 81%
SD U.S. Senate Sr John Thune Republican 6%
TX U.S. House 8 Kevin Brady Republican 6%
TX U.S. House 12 Kay Granger Republican 19%
TX U.S. House 13 Mac Thornberry Republican 6%
TX U.S. House 18 Sheila Jackson Lee Democratic 88%
TX U.S. House 30 Eddie Johnson Democratic 88%
TX U.S. House 35 Lloyd Doggett II Democratic 88%
VA U.S. House 3 Bobby Scott Democratic 100%
VT U.S. Senate Sr Patrick Leahy Democratic 60%
VT U.S. Senate Jr Bernie Sanders Independent 94%
WA U.S. Senate Sr Patty Murray Democratic 83%
WA U.S. House 9 Adam Smith Democratic 75%
WI U.S. House 3 Ron Kind Democratic 75%
WI U.S. House 5 Jim Sensenbrenner, Jr. Republican 6%
WI Mayor At-Large Tom Barrett 81%
WY U.S. Senate Sr Mike Enzi Republican 17%
Neil Abercrombie 81%
Edmond Spencer Abraham 17%
Gary Ackerman 88%
Daniel Akaka, Sr. 80%
Wayne Allard 17%
Thomas Allen 81%
Rob Andrews 75%
Bill Archer 7%
Richard Armey 6%
John Ashcroft 17%
Spencer Bachus 0%
Henry Scott Baesler 20%
Kay Bailey Hutchison 20%
Richard Hugh Baker 6%
Cass Ballenger 6%
James Barcia 31%
Bob Barr, Jr. 7%
Bill Barrett 6%
Roscoe Bartlett 6%
Joe Barton 6%
Charlie Bass 25%
Herbert Bateman, Sr. 15%
Max Baucus 80%
Bob Bennett 40%
Kenneth Bentsen, Jr. 75%
Douglas Bereuter 6%
Howard Berman 88%
Marion Berry 38%
Joe Biden, Jr. 67%
Brian Bilbray 20%
Michael Bilirakis 6%
Jeff Bingaman 83%
Rod Blagojevich 69%
Thomas Bliley, Jr. 13%
Sherwood Boehlert 69%
John Boehner 7%
Kit Bond 33%
Henry Bonilla 25%
David Edward Bonior 81%
Mary Bono Mack 25%
Robert Borski, Jr. 63%
Leonard Boswell 56%
Rick Boucher 75%
Barbara Boxer 83%
Allen Boyd, Jr. 44%
Bob Brady 89%
John Breaux 50%
Corrine Brown 87%
George Brown, Jr. 87%
Sam Brownback 17%
Richard Bryan 83%
Ed Bryant 6%
Dale Bumpers 83%
Jim Bunning 7%
Conrad Burns 33%
Dan Burton 7%
Steve Buyer 14%
Robert Byrd 33%
Herbert Callahan 7%
Dave Camp 13%
Ben Campbell 33%
Thomas Campbell 56%
Chris Cannon 13%
Lois Capps 83%
Julia Carson 86%
Mike Castle 44%
John Chafee 83%
Saxby Chambliss 6%
Helen Chenoweth-Hage 6%
Jon Lynn Christensen 0%
William Clay, Sr. 93%
Eva Clayton 87%
Joseph Maxwell Cleland 83%
Robert Clement 33%
Dan Coats 20%
Howard Coble 6%
Thomas Coburn 6%
Thad Cochran 33%
Michael Collins 6%
Larry Combest 6%
Gary Condit 47%
Kent Conrad 50%
John Conyers, Jr. 100%
Merrill Cook 6%
John Cooksey 14%
Jerry Costello 33%
Paul Coverdell 17%
Christopher Cox 13%
William Coyne 88%
Larry Craig 17%
Robert Cramer 29%
Philip Crane 7%
Barbara Cubin 13%
Randall Cunningham 8%
Alfonse D'Amato 67%
Patsy Ann Danner 38%
Thomas Daschle 67%
James Davis 56%
Thomas Davis III 69%
Nathan Deal 0%
Bill Delahunt 88%
Thomas DeLay 6%
Peter Deutsch 69%
Lincoln Diaz-Balart 27%
Jay Dickey 13%
Norm Dicks 87%
John Dingell 80%
Julian Dixon 93%
Chris Dodd 83%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Skip to top

Help us stay free for all your Fellow Americans

Just $5 from everyone reading this would do it.

Thank You!

You are about to be redirected to a secure checkout page.

Please note:

The total order amount will read $0.01. This is a card processor fee. Please know that a recurring donation of the amount and frequency that you selected will be processed and initiated tomorrow. You may see a one-time charge of $0.01 on your statement.

Continue to secure page »

Back to top