Search Form
First, enter a politician or zip code
Now, choose a category

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: South Dakota Farmers Union

2008 Positions

State Office District Name Party Rating
SD U.S. House At-Large Kristi Noem Republican 60%
SD State House 11 Mark Willadsen Republican 40%
SD State House 18 Jean Hunhoff Republican 75%
SD State House 20 Lance Carson Republican 60%
SD State House 21 Julie Bartling Democratic 100%
SD State House 24 Tim Rounds Republican 60%
SD State House 25 Dan Ahlers Democratic 100%
SD State House 29 Thomas Brunner Republican 60%
SD State House 29 Larry Rhoden Republican 60%
SD State House 31 Charles Turbiville Republican 60%
SD State House 34 David Lust Republican 40%
SD State Senate 2 Brock Greenfield Republican 75%
SD State Senate 3 Al Novstrup Republican 40%
SD State Senate 7 Larry Tidemann Republican 60%
SD State Senate 9 Deb Peters Republican 40%
SD State Senate 28 Ryan Maher Republican 100%
SD Secretary of State Shantel Krebs Republican 60%
SD Commissioner 3 Tom Hansen 75%
SD Commissioner At-Large Jim Lintz 75%
Gene Abdallah 75%
Kenneth Albers 75%
Jerry Apa 50%
Jamie Boomgarden 60%
James Bradford 100%
Michael Buckingham 60%
Quinten Burg 100%
Joni Cutler 40%
Justin Davis 60%
Thomas Deadrick 75%
Thomas Dempster 75%
H. Dennert 100%
Mark DeVries 60%
Brian Dreyer 60%
Jay Duenwald 75%
Joel Dykstra 60%
Burt Elliott 100%
Richard Engels 80%
Bob Faehn 40%
Marc Feinstein 80%
Jason Gant 50%
Cooper Garnos 75%
David Gassman 100%
Margaret Gillespie 100%
Charlotte Gilson 60%
Mary Glenski 80%
Brian Gosch 60%
Bob Gray 75%
Tom Hackl 40%
Clayton Halverson 100%
Gary Hanson 100%
Dale Hargens 100%
Arlen Hauge 75%
Jeffrey Haverly 40%
Scott Heidepriem 100%
Phyllis Heineman 40%
Thomas Hills 60%
Alan Hoerth 100%
Gordon Howie 60%
James Hundstad 100%
Roger Hunt 50%
Gary Jerke 60%
Sandy Jerstad 75%
Kent Juhnke 50%
Thomas Katus 100%
Mark Kirkeby 60%
Frank Kloucek 100%
David Knudson 75%
Gilbert Koetzle 75%
Al Koistinen 40%
Larry Lucas 100%
Royal McCracken 75%
Ed McLaughlin 25%
Kenneth McNenny 67%
Kathleen Miles 60%
Garry Allen Moore 100%
William Napoli 50%
Paul Nelson 60%
Benjamin Nesselhuf 100%
David Novstrup 40%
Eldon Nygaard 75%
Betty Olson 60%
Edwin Olson, Jr. 75%
Russell Olson 40%
Ryan Olson 60%
Gordon Pederson 40%
Jim Peterson 100%
Carol Pitts 60%
J.E. Putnam 60%
Valentine Rausch 60%
Tim Rave 60%
Dennis Schmidt 75%
David Sigdestad 100%
Orville Smidt 75%
Manny Steele 40%
Steve Street 100%
Daniel Sutton 100%
William Thompson 60%
Nancy Turbak Berry 100%
Theresa Two Bulls 100%
Donald Van Etten 40%
Kim Vanneman 60%
Thomas Van Norman 100%
Mike Vehle 60%
Keri Weems 40%
Hal Wick 25%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Skip to top

Help us stay free for all your Fellow Americans

Just $5 from everyone reading this would do it.

Thank You!

You are about to be redirected to a secure checkout page.

Please note:

The total order amount will read $0.00 but know that a recurring donation of the amount and frequency that you selected will be processed and initiated tomorrow. You may see a charge of $0.00 on your statement.

Continue to secure page »

Back to top