Rating Group: South Dakota Farmers Union

2005 Positions

State Office Name Party Rating
SD Lieutenant Governor Matt Michels R 78%
SD State House-11 Mark Willadsen R 73%
SD State House-18 Jean Hunhoff R 66%
SD State House-21 Julie Bartling D 100%
SD State House-24 Tim Rounds R 78%
SD State House-29 Thomas Brunner R 100%
SD State House-29 Larry Rhoden R 90%
SD State House-31 Charles Turbiville R 90%
SD State Senate-2 Brock Greenfield R 89%
SD State Senate-3 Al Novstrup R 78%
SD State Senate-7 Larry Tidemann R 84%
SD State Senate-9 Deb Peters R 84%
SD Secretary of State Shantel Krebs R 84%
SD Commissioner-3 Tom Hansen 95%
SD Commissioner-At-Large Dick Kelly 67%
SD Commissioner-At-Large Jim Lintz 100%
SD Commissioner-At-Large Duane Sutton 88%
Gene Abdallah 78%
Stanford Adelstein 83%
Jerry Apa 89%
Eric Bogue 94%
Jamie Boomgarden 84%
James Bradford 88%
Bernard Michael Broderick, Jr. 78%
Michael Buckingham 65%
Joni Cutler 77%
Justin Davis 95%
Thomas Deadrick 84%
Thomas Dempster 76%
H. Dennert 94%
Jay Duenwald 95%
J.P. Duniphan 70%
Joel Dykstra 92%
William Earley 73%
Burt Elliott 78%
Bob Faehn 72%
Larry Frost 65%
Arthur Fryslie 89%
Jason Gant 98%
Cooper Garnos 97%
David Gassman 95%
Margaret Gillespie 86%
Mary Glenski 82%
Thomas Glover 100%
Bob Gray 76%
Tom Hackl 83%
Patrick Haley 94%
Clayton Halverson 98%
Alan Hanks 78%
Gary Hanson 95%
Dale Hargens 94%
Jeffrey Haverly 90%
Phyllis Heineman 73%
Thomas Hennies 73%
Thomas Hills 86%
Gordon Howie 85%
James Hundstad 100%
Roger Hunt 36%
Barry Jensen 98%
Gary Jerke 89%
Ted Klaudt 95%
Frank Kloucek 75%
David Knudson 70%
Gilbert Koetzle 94%
Al Koistinen 89%
Clarence Kooistra 53%
John Koskan 98%
Elizabeth Kraus 79%
Michael Kroger 86%
Gerald Lange 95%
Alice Lucille McCoy 78%
Royal McCracken 83%
Ed McLaughlin 78%
Kenneth McNenny 98%
Kathleen Miles 92%
Garry Allen Moore 89%
Casey Murschel 83%
William Napoli 83%
Paul Nelson 95%
Benjamin Nesselhuf 94%
Sean O'Brien 78%
Edwin Olson, Jr. 45%
Ryan Olson 75%
Gordon Pederson 71%
Jim Peterson 94%
J.E. Putnam 84%
Valentine Rausch 82%
Tim Rave 90%
Elaine Roberts 94%
Donna Schafer 84%
Lee Anton Schoenbeck 82%
Louis Sebert 72%
David Sigdestad 100%
Orville Smidt 88%
Steve Street 88%
Daniel Sutton 100%
William Thompson 94%
R. Shawn Tornow 77%
Theresa Two Bulls 100%
Paul Valandra 91%
Donald Van Etten 68%
Thomas Van Norman 97%
Mike Vehle 84%
Keri Weems 84%
Hal Wick 67%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Help us stay free for all your Fellow Americans

Just $5 from everyone reading this would do it.