Search Form
First, enter a politician or zip code
Now, choose a category

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: Neighbor to Neighbor Massachusetts

2004 Positions

State Office District Name Party Rating
MA State House Twelfth Middlesex Ruth Balser Democratic 100%
Jarrett Barrios 100%
Frederick Berry 100%
Deborah Blumer 100%
MA State Senate First Worcester Harriette Chandler Democratic 100%
MA State House Thirty-Fifth Middlesex Paul Donato, Sr. Democratic 100%
Christopher Donelan 100%
Mark Falzone 100%
Susan Fargo 100%
Michael Festa 100%
Gloria Fox 100%
MA State Senate Second Middlesex Pat Jehlen Democratic 100%
Rachel Kaprielian 100%
MA State House Fifteenth Middlesex Jay Kaufman Democratic 100%
MA State House Eleventh Middlesex Kay Khan Democratic 100%
MA State House First Hampshire Peter Kocot Democratic 100%
James Leary 100%
MA State House Eleventh Suffolk Elizabeth Malia Democratic 100%
J. James Marzilli, Jr. 100%
MA State Senate Third Essex Thomas McGee Democratic 100%
Shirley Owens-Hicks 100%
Steven Panagiotakos 100%
Matthew Patrick 100%
Anne Marie Paulsen 100%
MA State House Ninth Suffolk Byron Rushing Democratic 100%
MA State House Fifteenth Norfolk Frank Smizik Democratic 100%
Robert Spellane 100%
Ellen Story 100%
David Sullivan 100%
Benjamin Swan, Sr. 100%
Steven Tolman 100%
Steven Walsh 100%
Dianne Wilkerson 100%
Alice Wolf 100%
MA State Senate First Middlesex and Norfolk Cindy Creem Democratic 92%
Pamela Resor 92%
Susan Tucker 92%
Charles Shannon, Jr. 91%
MA State House Thirteenth Bristol Antonio Cabral Democratic 89%
Robert Fennell 89%
MA State House Fifteenth Suffolk Jeffrey Sánchez Democratic 89%
MA State House Fourteenth Suffolk Angelo Scaccia Democratic 89%
MA Council Member At-Large Tim Toomey, Jr. 89%
Daniel Bosley 88%
Geraldine Creedon 88%
MA State Senate Middlesex and Worcester James Eldridge Democratic 88%
MA State Senate Worcester, Hampden, Hampshire and Middlesex Anne Gobi Democratic 88%
MA State House Seventeenth Suffolk Kevin Honan Democratic 88%
MA State House Eighth Norfolk Louis Kafka Democratic 88%
Thomas Kennedy 88%
MA State House First Franklin Stephen Kulik Democratic 88%
MA State House Fifth Middlesex David Linsky Democratic 88%
MA State Senate Second Essex and Middlesex Barbara L'Italien Democratic 88%
Vincent Pedone 88%
MA State House Fourth Berkshire Smitty Pignatelli Democratic 88%
Kathi-Anne Reinstein 88%
Joyce Spiliotis 88%
Kathleen Teahan 88%
Anthony Verga 88%
Michael Costello 86%
Robert Coughlin 86%
William Lantigua 86%
Douglas Petersen 86%
Eric Turkington 86%
Robert Antonioni 83%
James Fagan 83%
John Hart, Jr. 83%
Robert Havern III 83%
Joan Menard 83%
MA State Senate Second Bristol and Plymouth Mark Montigny Democratic 83%
Robert O'Leary 83%
MA State Senate First Plymouth and Bristol Marc Pacheco Democratic 83%
MA State Senate Hampshire, Franklin and Worcester Stan Rosenberg Democratic 83%
Robert Travaglini 83%
Marian Walsh 83%
Therese Murray 80%
Andrea Nuciforo, Jr. 80%
MA Mayor At-Large Martin Walsh Democratic 78%
John Binienda, Sr. 75%
Stephen Brewer 75%
Christine Canavan 75%
Gale Candaras 75%
Robert Correia 75%
Robert Creedon, Jr. 75%
Salvatore DiMasi 75%
Christopher Fallon 75%
David Flynn 75%
Emile Goguen 75%
MA State House Fifth Bristol Patricia Haddad Democratic 75%
Lida Harkins 75%
MA State House Eleventh Bristol Robert Koczera Democratic 75%
Paul Kujawski 75%
MA State House Third Norfolk Ronald Mariano Democratic 75%
Michael Morrissey 75%
Charles Murphy 75%
MA State House Fourth Norfolk James Murphy Democratic 75%
Kevin Murphy 75%
Thomas O'Brien 75%
Eugene O'Flaherty 75%
MA State House Fourteenth Norfolk Alice Peisch Democratic 75%
MA State House Seventh Hampden Thomas Petrolati Democratic 75%
Anthony Petruccelli 75%
John Quinn 75%
MA State Senate First Bristol and Plymouth Michael Rodrigues Democratic 75%
MA State House Twelfth Norfolk John Rogers Democratic 75%
MA State Senate Norfolk and Suffolk Mike Rush Democratic 75%
MA State House Second Hampshire John Scibak Democratic 75%
MA State House Thirteenth Essex Theodore Speliotis Democratic 75%
MA Councilor At-Large Thomas Stanley 75%
MA State House Ninth Middlesex Thomas Stanley Democratic 75%
Marie St. Fleur 75%
MA State House Tenth Bristol William Straus Democratic 75%
Stephen Tobin 75%
David Torrisi 75%
Brian Wallace 75%
Patricia Walrath 75%
Richard Moore 73%
MA State House Fourteenth Middlesex Cory Atkins Democratic 71%
Peter Koutoujian 71%
MA State House Twelfth Worcester Harold Naughton, Jr. Democratic 71%
Marie Parente 71%
Brian Joyce 67%
MA State Senate First Essex and Middlesex Bruce Tarr Republican 67%
Jim Vallee 67%
Jennifer Callahan 63%
Mark Carron 63%
MA State House Nineteenth Suffolk Robert DeLeo Democratic 63%
MA State House Sixth Norfolk William Galvin Democratic 63%
Mary Grant 63%
Frank Hynes 63%
Stephen LeDuc 63%
Robert Nyman 63%
MA State House Eighth Hampden Joseph Wagner Democratic 63%
Brian Knuuttila 57%
Demetrius Atsalis 50%
MA State House First Norfolk Bruce Ayers Democratic 50%
Steven Baddour 50%
Paul Casey 50%
Cheryl Coakley-Rivera 50%
Edward Connolly 50%
Joseph Driscoll, Jr. 50%
Barry Finegold 50%
Michael Kane 50%
Daniel Keenan 50%
MA State Senate Norfolk, Bristol and Plymouth Walter Timilty Democratic 50%
John Fresolo 43%
Philip Travis 43%
Garrett Bradley 38%
Arthur Broadhurst, Jr. 38%
MA State House Thirty-Sixth Middlesex Colleen Garry Democratic 38%
William Greene, Jr. 38%
Geoffrey Hall 38%
MA State House Nineteenth Middlesex James Miceli Democratic 38%
MA State House Seventeenth Middlesex David Nangle Democratic 38%
Harriett Stanley 38%
Robert Hedlund, Jr. 33%
Brian Lees 33%
Richard Tisei 33%
MA State House Third Essex Brian Dempsey Democratic 29%
MA State House Sixteenth Middlesex Thomas Golden, Jr. Democratic 29%
MA State Senate Plymouth and Barnstable Vinny deMacedo Republican 25%
Shirley Gomes 25%
Michael Knapik 25%
Michael Coppola 14%
Paul Loscocco 14%
Lewis Evangelidis 13%
MA State House Seventh Worcester Paul Frost Republican 13%
MA State House Second Plymouth Susan Gifford Republican 13%
Robert Hargraves 13%
MA State House Fourth Essex Bradford Hill Republican 13%
MA State House Twentieth Middlesex Brad Jones, Jr. Republican 13%
John Lepper 13%
Jeff Perry 13%
George Peterson, Jr. 13%
MA State House Fourteenth Bristol Elizabeth Poirier Republican 13%
MA Lieutenant Governor Karyn Polito Republican 13%
Susan Pope 13%
Mary Rogeness 13%
MA State Senate Second Hampden and Hampshire Don Humason, Jr. Republican 0%
Daniel Webster 0%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Skip to top

Help us stay free for all your Fellow Americans

Just $5 from everyone reading this would do it.

Back to top