Search Form
First, enter a politician or zip code
Now, choose a category

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: Congress of California Seniors

2001 Positions

State Office District Name Party Rating
Richard Alarcón 100%
Deirdre Alpert 100%
Debra Bowen 100%
John Burton 100%
CA Council Member 1 Gilbert Cedillo 100%
CA Supervisor 3 Wilma Chan 100%
Wesley Chesbro 100%
CA U.S. House 27 Judy Chu Democratic 100%
Rebecca Cohn 100%
Ellen Corbett 100%
Manny Diaz 100%
John Anthony Dutra 100%
Martha Escutia 100%
Liz Figueroa 100%
Marco Antonio Firebaugh 100%
Jackie Goldberg 100%
CA State Senate 19 Hannah-Beth Jackson Democratic 100%
Betty Karnette 100%
Christine Kehoe 100%
CA Council Member 5 Paul Koretz 100%
CA Supervisor 3 Sheila Kuehl 100%
Carol Liu 100%
John Longville 100%
CA U.S. House 47 Alan Lowenthal Democratic 100%
Gloria Negrete McLeod 100%
Jenny Oropeza 100%
Fran Pavley 100%
Gloria Romero 100%
Simón Salinas 100%
Jack Scott 100%
CA Supervisor 5 Joe Simitian No Party Affiliation 100%
Nell Soto 100%
CA Mayor At-Large Darrell Steinberg Democratic 100%
CA U.S. House 51 Juan Vargas Democratic 100%
Edward Vincent 100%
CA Council Member 10 Herb Wesson, Jr. 100%
Patricia Wiggins 100%
Edward Chavez 92%
Joe Dunn 92%
Dean Florez 92%
Dario Frommer 92%
Kevin Murray 92%
George Nakano 92%
Deborah Ortiz 92%
Sarah Reyes 92%
Byron Sher 92%
CA U.S. House 14 Jackie Speier Democratic 92%
CA State Superintendent of Public Instruction Tom Torlakson Non-partisan 92%
Joseph Canciamilla 83%
Joseph Nation 83%
Don Perata 83%
John Vasconcellos 83%
Jerome Horton 75%
Barbara Matthews 75%
CA U.S. House 46 Lou Correa Democratic 67%
Michael Machado 67%
James Battin 58%
Abel Maldonado 58%
CA State Senate 36 Pat Bates Republican 50%
Russell Bogh 50%
Lynn Daucher 50%
Tom Harman 50%
Ken Maddox 50%
CA Supervisor 5 Bruce McPherson 50%
Keith Stuart Richman 50%
Tony Strickland 50%
Samuel Aanestad 42%
Jay La Suer 42%
Robert Leslie 42%
Mark Wyland 42%
Roy Ashburn 33%
John Campbell III 33%
David Cogdill 33%
Dave Cox 33%
Bob Margett 33%
William Phillip Morrow 33%
Robert Pacheco 33%
Charles Poochigian 33%
James Brulte 25%
Richard Ackerman 17%
Dennis Hollingsworth 17%
Ross Johnson 17%
CA U.S. House 4 Tom McClintock Republican 17%
Dennis Lee Mountjoy 17%
William Knight 8%
Thomas Oller 8%
Ray Haynes, Jr. 0%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Skip to top

Help us stay free for all your Fellow Americans

Just $5 from everyone reading this would do it.

Back to top