Search Form
First, enter a politician or zip code
Now, choose a category

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: National Rifle Association Political Victory Fund

2006 Lifetime Score

Issues: Guns
State Office District Name Party Rating
IA State Senate 37 Robert Dvorsky Democratic F
Wayne Ford F
IA State Senate 50 Pam Jochum Democratic F
IA State House 86 Mary Mascher Democratic F
IA State Senate 23 Herman Quirmbach Democratic F
Donald Shoultz F
Paul Bell D
Polly Bukta D
IA State House 81 Mary Gaskill Democratic D
Polly Granzow D
Jack Hatch D
IA State House 34 Bruce Hunter Democratic D
IA Supervisor At-Large Mark Kuhn Democratic D
IA State House 9 Helen Miller Democratic D
Pat Murphy D
IA State House 41 Jo Oldson Democratic D
IA State House 70 Todd Taylor Democratic D
John Whitaker D
Wesley Whitead D
IA State House 90 Cindy Winckler Democratic D
IA State House 85 Vicki Lensing Democratic C-
IA State Senate 18 Janet Petersen Democratic C-
Rod Roberts C-
Deborah Berry C
IA State Senate 43 Joe Bolkcom Democratic C
IA State House 87 Dennis Cohoon Democratic C
Swati Dandekar C
Mark Davitt C
Romaine Foege C
IA State House 46 Lisa Heddens Democratic C
IA State House 31 Rick Olson Democratic C
Michael Reasoner C
Joe Seng C
Richard Anderson C+
IA State House 71 Mark Smith Democratic C+
Marcella Frevert B-
Brian Quirk B-
IA State House 19 Ralph Watts Republican B-
Mary Lou Freeman B
Libby Jacobs B
Donovan Olson B
Chuck Soderberg B
Doug Struyk B
Rich Taylor B
George Eichhorn B+
IA State House 84 David Heaton Republican B+
IA State Senate 21 Matthew McCoy Democratic B+
Scott Raecker B+
Henry Rayhons B+
IA State Senate 31 Bill Dotzler, Jr. Democratic A-
David Lalk A-
Daniel Rasmussen A-
Daryl Beall A
Carmine Boal A
Danny Carroll A
Betty De Boef A
IA State House 24 Cecil Dolecheck Republican A
Sandy Greiner A
Clarence Hoffman A
Hubert Houser A
Geri Huser A
IA State Senate 1 David Johnson Independent A
Jeff Kaufmann A
Keith Kreiman A
Steven Lukan A
IA State Senate 45 Jim Lykam Democratic A
IA State Board of Education Mike May Republican A
Kevin McCarthy A
David Miller A
Steven Olson A
Kraig Paulsen A
IA State Senate 27 Amanda Ragan Democratic A
Nathan Reichert A
Tom Sands A
IA Council Member At-Large Bill Schickel Republican A
Paul Shomshor, Jr. A
Roger Stewart A
Kurt Swaim A
Roger Thomas A
Dave Tjepkes A
IA State House 54 Linda Upmeyer Republican A
James Van Engelenhoven A
Steven Warnstadt A
Ron Wieck A
Dwayne Alons A+
Rich Arnold A+
IA State House 20 Clel Baudler Republican A+
Dennis Black A+
Nancy Boettger A+
Royd Chambers A+
Jack Drake A+
Lance Horbach A+
IA State Senate 35 Wally Horn Democratic A+
IA State House 3 Daniel Huseman Republican A+
Dolores Mertz A+
Christopher Rants A+
Jodi Tymeson A+
James Van Fossen A+
Jim Van Fossen A+
Philip Wise A+

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Skip to top

Help us stay free for all your Fellow Americans

Just $5 from everyone reading this would do it.

Back to top