Search Form
First, enter a politician or zip code
Now, choose a category

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: National Rifle Association Political Victory Fund

2006 Lifetime Score

Issues: Guns
State Office District Name Party Rating
IA State House 3 Daniel Huseman Republican A+
IA State House 9 Helen Miller Democratic D
IA State House 19 Ralph Watts Republican B-
IA State House 20 Clel Baudler Republican A+
IA State House 24 Cecil Dolecheck Republican A
IA State House 31 Rick Olson Democratic C
IA State House 34 Bruce Hunter Democratic D
IA State House 41 Jo Oldson Democratic D
IA State House 46 Lisa Heddens Democratic C
IA State House 54 Linda Upmeyer Republican A
IA State House 70 Todd Taylor Democratic D
IA State House 71 Mark Smith Democratic C+
IA State House 81 Mary Gaskill Democratic D
IA State House 84 David Heaton Republican B+
IA State House 85 Vicki Lensing Democratic C-
IA State House 86 Mary Mascher Democratic F
IA State House 87 Dennis Cohoon Democratic C
IA State House 90 Cindy Winckler Democratic D
IA State Senate 1 David Johnson Independent A
IA State Senate 18 Janet Petersen Democratic C-
IA State Senate 21 Matthew McCoy Democratic B+
IA State Senate 23 Herman Quirmbach Democratic F
IA State Senate 27 Amanda Ragan Democratic A
IA State Senate 31 Bill Dotzler, Jr. Democratic A-
IA State Senate 35 Wally Horn Democratic A+
IA State Senate 37 Robert Dvorsky Democratic F
IA State Senate 43 Joe Bolkcom Democratic C
IA State Senate 45 Jim Lykam Democratic A
IA State Senate 50 Pam Jochum Democratic F
IA Supervisor At-Large Mark Kuhn Democratic D
IA Council Member At-Large Bill Schickel Republican A
IA State Board of Education Mike May Republican A
Dwayne Alons A+
Richard Anderson C+
Rich Arnold A+
Daryl Beall A
Paul Bell D
Deborah Berry C
Dennis Black A+
Carmine Boal A
Nancy Boettger A+
Polly Bukta D
Danny Carroll A
Royd Chambers A+
Swati Dandekar C
Mark Davitt C
Betty De Boef A
Jack Drake A+
George Eichhorn B+
Romaine Foege C
Wayne Ford F
Mary Lou Freeman B
Marcella Frevert B-
Polly Granzow D
Sandy Greiner A
Jack Hatch D
Clarence Hoffman A
Lance Horbach A+
Hubert Houser A
Geri Huser A
Libby Jacobs B
Jeff Kaufmann A
Keith Kreiman A
David Lalk A-
Steven Lukan A
Kevin McCarthy A
Dolores Mertz A+
David Miller A
Pat Murphy D
Donovan Olson B
Steven Olson A
Kraig Paulsen A
Brian Quirk B-
Scott Raecker B+
Christopher Rants A+
Daniel Rasmussen A-
Henry Rayhons B+
Michael Reasoner C
Nathan Reichert A
Rod Roberts C-
Tom Sands A
Joe Seng C
Paul Shomshor, Jr. A
Donald Shoultz F
Chuck Soderberg B
Roger Stewart A
Doug Struyk B
Kurt Swaim A
Rich Taylor B
Roger Thomas A
Dave Tjepkes A
Jodi Tymeson A+
James Van Engelenhoven A
James Van Fossen A+
Jim Van Fossen A+
Steven Warnstadt A
John Whitaker D
Wesley Whitead D
Ron Wieck A
Philip Wise A+

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Skip to top

Help us stay free for all your Fellow Americans

Just $5 from everyone reading this would do it.

Back to top