Search Form
First, enter a politician or zip code
Now, choose a category

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: Consumer Federation of America

1997 Positions

State Office District Name Party Rating
AK U.S. House At-Large Donald Young Republican 50%
AL U.S. Senate Sr Richard Shelby Republican 29%
AL U.S. House 4 Robert Aderholt Republican 50%
AR Governor Asa Hutchinson Republican 50%
CA U.S. Senate Sr Dianne Feinstein Democratic 86%
CA U.S. House 12 Nancy Pelosi Democratic 83%
CA U.S. House 18 Anna Eshoo Democratic 83%
CA U.S. House 19 Zoe Lofgren Democratic 83%
CA U.S. House 30 Brad Sherman Democratic 83%
CA U.S. House 40 Lucille Roybal-Allard Democratic 100%
CA U.S. House 42 Ken Calvert Republican 50%
CA U.S. House 43 Maxine Waters Democratic 100%
CA Attorney General Xavier Becerra Democratic 100%
CO U.S. House 1 Diana DeGette Democratic 100%
CO Commissioner 2 Scott McInnis 50%
CT U.S. House 3 Rosa DeLauro Democratic 100%
FL U.S. House 20 Alcee Hastings, Sr. Democratic 67%
FL Chief Justice of the Supreme Court Charles Canady 67%
GA U.S. House 2 Sanford Bishop, Jr. Democratic 67%
GA U.S. House 5 John Lewis Democratic 100%
IA U.S. Senate Sr Chuck Grassley Republican 29%
ID U.S. Senate Sr Mike Crapo Republican 50%
IL U.S. Senate Sr Dick Durbin Democratic 71%
IL U.S. House 1 Bobby Rush Democratic 67%
IL U.S. House 7 Danny Davis Democratic 100%
IL U.S. House 15 John Shimkus Republican 50%
IN U.S. House 1 Pete Visclosky Democratic 83%
KS U.S. Senate Sr Pat Roberts Republican 29%
KS U.S. Senate Jr Jerry Moran Republican 50%
KY U.S. Senate Sr Mitch McConnell Republican 14%
KY U.S. House 5 Hal Rogers Republican 50%
MA U.S. Senate Jr Ed Markey Democratic 100%
MA U.S. House 1 Richard Neal Democratic 83%
MA U.S. House 2 Jim McGovern Democratic 83%
MD U.S. Senate Sr Ben Cardin Democratic 100%
MD U.S. House 5 Steny Hoyer Democratic 67%
MD U.S. House 7 Elijah Cummings Democratic 100%
ME U.S. Senate Sr Susan Collins Republican 43%
ME Councilor At-Large Joseph Baldacci Democratic 67%
MI U.S. Senate Sr Debbie Stabenow Democratic 67%
MI U.S. House 6 Fred Upton Republican 67%
MN U.S. House 7 Collin Peterson Democratic 67%
MO U.S. Senate Sr Roy Blunt Republican 50%
MS U.S. Senate Sr Roger Wicker Republican 50%
MS U.S. House 2 Bennie Thompson Democratic 83%
NC U.S. Senate Sr Richard Burr Republican 50%
NC U.S. House 4 David Price Democratic 67%
NJ U.S. Senate Sr Bob Menendez Democratic 83%
NJ U.S. House 4 Chris Smith Republican 67%
NJ U.S. House 6 Frank Pallone, Jr. Democratic 100%
NJ U.S. House 9 Bill Pascrell, Jr. Democratic 83%
NY U.S. Senate Sr Chuck Schumer Democratic 100%
NY U.S. House 2 Pete King Republican 50%
NY U.S. House 7 Nydia Velázquez Democratic 100%
NY U.S. House 10 Jerry Nadler Democratic 100%
NY U.S. House 12 Carolyn Maloney Democratic 100%
NY U.S. House 15 José Serrano Democratic 100%
NY U.S. House 16 Eliot Engel Democratic 83%
NY U.S. House 17 Nita Lowey Democratic 83%
OH U.S. Senate Sr Sherrod Brown Democratic 83%
OH U.S. Senate Jr Rob Portman Republican 50%
OH U.S. House 1 Steve Chabot Republican 50%
OH U.S. House 9 Marcy Kaptur Democratic 100%
OH Governor Mike DeWine Republican 29%
OK U.S. Senate Sr Jim Inhofe Republican 29%
OK U.S. House 3 Frank Lucas Republican 50%
OR U.S. Senate Sr Ron Wyden Democratic 86%
OR U.S. House 3 Earl Blumenauer Democratic 83%
OR U.S. House 4 Peter DeFazio Democratic 83%
PA U.S. House 18 Mike Doyle, Jr. Democratic 67%
RI U.S. Senate Sr Jack Reed Democratic 100%
SC U.S. Senate Sr Lindsey Graham Republican 50%
SC U.S. House 6 Jim Clyburn Democratic 67%
SD U.S. Senate Sr John Thune Republican 50%
TX U.S. House 8 Kevin Brady Republican 50%
TX U.S. House 12 Kay Granger Republican 50%
TX U.S. House 13 Mac Thornberry Republican 50%
TX U.S. House 18 Sheila Jackson Lee Democratic 83%
TX U.S. House 30 Eddie Johnson Democratic 83%
TX U.S. House 35 Lloyd Doggett II Democratic 83%
VA U.S. House 3 Bobby Scott Democratic 80%
VT U.S. Senate Sr Patrick Leahy Democratic 71%
VT U.S. Senate Jr Bernie Sanders Independent 100%
WA U.S. Senate Sr Patty Murray Democratic 86%
WA U.S. House 9 Adam Smith Democratic 83%
WI U.S. House 3 Ron Kind Democratic 83%
WI U.S. House 5 Jim Sensenbrenner, Jr. Republican 33%
WI Mayor At-Large Tom Barrett 83%
WY U.S. Senate Sr Mike Enzi Republican 29%
Neil Abercrombie 100%
Edmond Spencer Abraham 29%
Gary Ackerman 100%
Daniel Akaka, Sr. 86%
Wayne Allard 29%
Thomas Allen 67%
Rob Andrews 83%
Bill Archer 50%
Richard Armey 50%
John Ashcroft 14%
Spencer Bachus 50%
Henry Scott Baesler 83%
Kay Bailey Hutchison 29%
Richard Hugh Baker 50%
Cass Ballenger 33%
James Barcia 67%
Bob Barr, Jr. 50%
Bill Barrett 50%
Roscoe Bartlett 50%
Joe Barton 50%
Charlie Bass 50%
Herbert Bateman, Sr. 50%
Max Baucus 71%
Bob Bennett 14%
Kenneth Bentsen, Jr. 83%
Douglas Bereuter 50%
Howard Berman 100%
Marion Berry 67%
Joe Biden, Jr. 71%
Brian Bilbray 67%
Michael Bilirakis 50%
Jeff Bingaman 57%
Rod Blagojevich 100%
Thomas Bliley, Jr. 50%
Sherwood Boehlert 67%
John Boehner 50%
Kit Bond 29%
Henry Bonilla 50%
David Edward Bonior 67%
Robert Borski, Jr. 100%
Leonard Boswell 100%
Rick Boucher 83%
Barbara Boxer 86%
Allen Boyd, Jr. 67%
John Breaux 71%
Corrine Brown 67%
George Brown, Jr. 83%
Sam Brownback 29%
Richard Bryan 57%
Ed Bryant 33%
Dale Bumpers 71%
Jim Bunning 50%
Conrad Burns 29%
Dan Burton 50%
Steve Buyer 50%
Robert Byrd 86%
Herbert Callahan 50%
Dave Camp 67%
Ben Campbell 29%
Thomas Campbell 33%
Chris Cannon 50%
Julia Carson 100%
Mike Castle 67%
John Chafee 43%
Saxby Chambliss 67%
Helen Chenoweth-Hage 50%
Jon Lynn Christensen 50%
William Clay, Sr. 83%
Eva Clayton 83%
Joseph Maxwell Cleland 71%
Robert Clement 50%
Dan Coats 29%
Howard Coble 50%
Thomas Coburn 33%
Thad Cochran 43%
Michael Collins 50%
Larry Combest 50%
Gary Condit 67%
Kent Conrad 86%
John Conyers, Jr. 100%
Merrill Cook 50%
John Cooksey 50%
Jerry Costello 50%
Paul Coverdell 29%
Christopher Cox 50%
William Coyne 83%
Larry Craig 29%
Robert Cramer 67%
Philip Crane 33%
Barbara Cubin 50%
Randall Cunningham 50%
Alfonse D'Amato 29%
Patsy Ann Danner 67%
Thomas Daschle 86%
James Davis 67%
Thomas Davis III 50%
Nathan Deal 50%
Bill Delahunt 83%
Thomas DeLay 33%
Peter Deutsch 67%
Lincoln Diaz-Balart 67%
Jay Dickey 50%
Norm Dicks 83%
John Dingell 83%
Julian Dixon 83%
Chris Dodd 71%
Pete Domenici, Jr. 29%
Calvin Dooley 67%
John Doolittle 33%
Byron Dorgan 86%
David Dreier 50%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Skip to top

Help us stay free for all your Fellow Americans

Just $5 from everyone reading this would do it.

Thank You!

You are about to be redirected to a secure checkout page.

Please note:

The total order amount will read $0.01. This is a card processor fee. Please know that a recurring donation of the amount and frequency that you selected will be processed and initiated tomorrow. You may see a one-time charge of $0.01 on your statement.

Continue to secure page »

Back to top