Search Form
First, enter a politician or zip code
Now, choose a category

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: Council for Citizens Against Government Waste

2003 Positions

State Office District Name Party Rating
CT U.S. House 1 John Larson Democratic 13%
VT U.S. Senate Sr Patrick Leahy Democratic 24%
CA U.S. House 13 Barbara Lee Democratic 11%
MI U.S. House 9 Sandy Levin Democratic 13%
GA U.S. House 5 John Lewis Democratic 11%
CA U.S. House 19 Zoe Lofgren Democratic 17%
NY U.S. House 17 Nita Lowey Democratic 11%
MA U.S. House 8 Stephen Lynch Democratic 11%
NY U.S. House 12 Carolyn Maloney Democratic 13%
MA U.S. Senate Jr Ed Markey Democratic 13%
MN U.S. House 4 Betty McCollum Democratic 13%
MA U.S. House 2 Jim McGovern Democratic 11%
NY U.S. House 5 Gregory Meeks Democratic 16%
NJ U.S. Senate Sr Bob Menendez Democratic 13%
WA U.S. Senate Sr Patty Murray Democratic 24%
NY U.S. House 10 Jerry Nadler Democratic 8%
CA U.S. House 32 Grace Napolitano Democratic 8%
MA U.S. House 1 Richard Neal Democratic 14%
FL U.S. Senate Sr Bill Nelson, Sr. Democratic 16%
NJ U.S. House 6 Frank Pallone, Jr. Democratic 11%
NJ U.S. House 9 Bill Pascrell, Jr. Democratic 14%
CA U.S. House 12 Nancy Pelosi Democratic 11%
MN U.S. House 7 Collin Peterson Democratic 45%
NC U.S. House 4 David Price Democratic 13%
RI U.S. Senate Sr Jack Reed Democratic 16%
CA U.S. House 40 Lucille Roybal-Allard Democratic 11%
MD U.S. House 2 Dutch Ruppersberger Democratic 18%
IL U.S. House 1 Bobby Rush Democratic 19%
OH U.S. House 13 Tim Ryan Democratic 11%
CA U.S. House 38 Linda Sánchez Democratic 11%
IL U.S. House 9 Jan Schakowsky Democratic 13%
CA U.S. House 28 Adam Schiff Democratic 11%
NY U.S. Senate Sr Chuck Schumer Democratic 16%
GA U.S. House 13 David Scott Democratic 24%
VA U.S. House 3 Bobby Scott Democratic 11%
NY U.S. House 15 José Serrano Democratic 9%
CA U.S. House 30 Brad Sherman Democratic 14%
NY U.S. House 25 Louise Slaughter Democratic 8%
WA U.S. House 9 Adam Smith Democratic 47%
MI U.S. Senate Sr Debbie Stabenow Democratic 28%
MS U.S. House 2 Bennie Thompson Democratic 13%
CA U.S. House 5 Mike Thompson Democratic 16%
NM U.S. Senate Sr Tom Udall Democratic 16%
MD U.S. Senate Jr Chris Van Hollen, Jr. Democratic 11%
NY U.S. House 7 Nydia Velázquez Democratic 15%
IN U.S. House 1 Pete Visclosky Democratic 13%
CA U.S. House 43 Maxine Waters Democratic 8%
OR U.S. Senate Sr Ron Wyden Democratic 28%
MN Governor Mark Dayton Democratic/Farmer/Labor 24%
VT U.S. Senate Jr Bernie Sanders Independent 13%
AL U.S. House 4 Robert Aderholt Republican 70%
TN U.S. Senate Sr Lamar Alexander Republican 76%
TX U.S. House 6 Joe Barton Republican 89%
UT U.S. House 1 Rob Bishop Republican 73%
TN U.S. House 7 Marsha Blackburn Republican 92%
MO U.S. Senate Jr Roy Blunt Republican 76%
AR U.S. Senate Sr John Boozman Republican 68%
NH State Senate 3 Jeb Bradley Republican 68%
TX U.S. House 8 Kevin Brady Republican 84%
KS Governor Sam Brownback Republican 76%
TX U.S. House 26 Michael Burgess Republican 81%
NC U.S. Senate Sr Richard Burr Republican 70%
CA U.S. House 42 Ken Calvert Republican 65%
WV U.S. Senate Jr Shelley Capito Republican 55%
TX U.S. House 31 John Carter Republican 71%
OH U.S. House 1 Steve Chabot Republican 95%
MS U.S. Senate Sr Thad Cochran Republican 64%
OK U.S. House 4 Tom Cole Republican 68%
ME U.S. Senate Sr Susan Collins Republican 64%
TX U.S. Senate Sr John Cornyn Republican 76%
ID U.S. Senate Sr Mike Crapo Republican 71%
TX U.S. House 7 John Culberson Republican 74%
GA Governor Nathan Deal Republican 89%
OH Attorney General Mike DeWine Republican 72%
FL U.S. House 25 Mario Diaz-Balart Republican 87%
TN U.S. House 2 John Duncan, Jr. Republican 87%
WY U.S. Senate Sr Mike Enzi Republican 76%
AZ U.S. Senate Jr Jeff Flake Republican 92%
AZ U.S. House 8 Trent Franks Republican 89%
NJ U.S. House 11 Rodney Frelinghuysen Republican 53%
VA U.S. House 6 Bob Goodlatte Republican 76%
SC U.S. Senate Sr Lindsey Graham Republican 88%
TX U.S. House 12 Kay Granger Republican 68%
IA U.S. Senate Sr Chuck Grassley Republican 72%
MO U.S. House 6 Sam Graves Republican 84%
UT U.S. Senate Sr Orrin Hatch Republican 72%
TX U.S. House 5 Jeb Hensarling Republican 84%
OK U.S. Senate Sr Jim Inhofe Republican 72%
GA U.S. Senate Sr Johnny Isakson Republican 87%
CA U.S. House 49 Darrell Issa Republican 66%
TX U.S. House 3 Sam Johnson Republican 89%
NC U.S. House 3 Walter Jones, Jr. Republican 82%
NY U.S. House 2 Pete King Republican 54%
IA U.S. House 4 Steve King Republican 74%
NJ U.S. House 2 Frank LoBiondo Republican 50%
OK U.S. House 3 Frank Lucas Republican 66%
AZ U.S. Senate Sr John McCain III Republican 80%
KY U.S. Senate Sr Mitch McConnell Republican 68%
KS U.S. Senate Jr Jerry Moran Republican 66%
AK U.S. Senate Sr Lisa Murkowski Republican 50%
PA U.S. House 18 Tim Murphy Republican 66%
CA U.S. House 22 Devin Nunes Republican 73%
ID Governor Butch Otter Republican 89%
NM U.S. House 2 Steve Pearce Republican 74%
NA Vice President Mike Pence Republican 89%
OH U.S. Senate Jr Rob Portman Republican 61%
KS U.S. Senate Sr Pat Roberts Republican 68%
KY U.S. House 5 Hal Rogers Republican 68%
AL U.S. House 3 Mike Rogers Republican 68%
CA U.S. House 48 Dana Rohrabacher Republican 92%
FL U.S. House 27 Ileana Ros-Lehtinen Republican 61%
CA U.S. House 39 Ed Royce Republican 92%
WI U.S. House 1 Paul Ryan Republican 95%
WI U.S. House 5 Jim Sensenbrenner, Jr. Republican 89%
NA U.S. Attorney General Jeff Sessions III Republican 80%
TX U.S. House 32 Pete Sessions Republican 89%
AL U.S. Senate Sr Richard Shelby Republican 60%
IL U.S. House 15 John Shimkus Republican 79%
PA U.S. House 9 Bill Shuster Republican 68%
ID U.S. House 2 Mike Simpson Republican 62%
NJ U.S. House 4 Chris Smith Republican 47%
TX U.S. House 21 Lamar Smith Republican 71%
TX U.S. House 13 Mac Thornberry Republican 76%
OH U.S. House 12 Pat Tiberi Republican 96%
PA U.S. Senate Jr Pat Toomey Republican 95%
OH U.S. House 10 Mike Turner Republican 65%
MI U.S. House 6 Fred Upton Republican 66%
OR U.S. House 2 Greg Walden Republican 66%
MS U.S. Senate Jr Roger Wicker Republican 63%
SC U.S. House 2 Joe Wilson, Sr. Republican 84%
AK U.S. House At-Large Donald Young Republican 76%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Skip to top

Help us stay free for all your Fellow Americans

Just $5 from everyone reading this would do it.

Back to top