Search Form
First, enter a politician or zip code
Now, choose a category

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: Small Business & Entrepreneurship Council

1998 Positions

State Office District Name Party Rating
AK U.S. House At-Large Donald Young Republican 65%
AL U.S. Senate Sr Richard Shelby Republican 80%
AL U.S. House 4 Robert Aderholt Republican 85%
AR Governor Asa Hutchinson Republican 75%
CA U.S. Senate Sr Dianne Feinstein Democratic 15%
CA U.S. House 12 Nancy Pelosi Democratic 10%
CA U.S. House 13 Barbara Lee Democratic 0%
CA U.S. House 18 Anna Eshoo Democratic 15%
CA U.S. House 19 Zoe Lofgren Democratic 15%
CA U.S. House 30 Brad Sherman Democratic 10%
CA U.S. House 40 Lucille Roybal-Allard Democratic 5%
CA U.S. House 42 Ken Calvert Republican 95%
CA U.S. House 43 Maxine Waters Democratic 0%
CA Attorney General Xavier Becerra Democratic 10%
CO U.S. House 1 Diana DeGette Democratic 5%
CO Commissioner 2 Scott McInnis 90%
CT U.S. House 3 Rosa DeLauro Democratic 5%
FL U.S. House 20 Alcee Hastings, Sr. Democratic 10%
FL Chief Justice of the Supreme Court Charles Canady 85%
GA U.S. House 2 Sanford Bishop, Jr. Democratic 25%
GA U.S. House 5 John Lewis Democratic 5%
IA U.S. Senate Sr Chuck Grassley Republican 80%
IL U.S. Senate Sr Dick Durbin Democratic 20%
IL U.S. House 1 Bobby Rush Democratic 10%
IL U.S. House 7 Danny Davis Democratic 5%
IL U.S. House 15 John Shimkus Republican 85%
IN U.S. House 1 Pete Visclosky Democratic 15%
KS U.S. Senate Sr Pat Roberts Republican 80%
KS U.S. Senate Jr Jerry Moran Republican 95%
KY U.S. Senate Sr Mitch McConnell Republican 90%
KY U.S. House 5 Hal Rogers Republican 85%
MA U.S. Senate Jr Ed Markey Democratic 10%
MA U.S. House 1 Richard Neal Democratic 20%
MA U.S. House 2 Jim McGovern Democratic 10%
MD U.S. Senate Sr Ben Cardin Democratic 10%
MD U.S. House 5 Steny Hoyer Democratic 10%
MD U.S. House 7 Elijah Cummings Democratic 5%
ME U.S. Senate Sr Susan Collins Republican 70%
ME Councilor At-Large Joseph Baldacci Democratic 15%
MI U.S. Senate Sr Debbie Stabenow Democratic 20%
MI U.S. House 6 Fred Upton Republican 70%
MN U.S. House 7 Collin Peterson Democratic 30%
MO U.S. Senate Sr Roy Blunt Republican 90%
MS U.S. Senate Sr Roger Wicker Republican 95%
MS U.S. House 2 Bennie Thompson Democratic 10%
NC U.S. Senate Sr Richard Burr Republican 90%
NC U.S. House 4 David Price Democratic 25%
NJ U.S. Senate Sr Bob Menendez Democratic 10%
NJ U.S. House 4 Chris Smith Republican 55%
NJ U.S. House 6 Frank Pallone, Jr. Democratic 15%
NJ U.S. House 9 Bill Pascrell, Jr. Democratic 15%
NY U.S. House 2 Pete King Republican 85%
NY U.S. House 5 Gregory Meeks Democratic 5%
NY U.S. House 7 Nydia Velázquez Democratic 5%
NY U.S. House 10 Jerry Nadler Democratic 15%
NY U.S. House 12 Carolyn Maloney Democratic 10%
NY U.S. House 15 José Serrano Democratic 5%
NY U.S. House 16 Eliot Engel Democratic 5%
NY U.S. House 17 Nita Lowey Democratic 15%
OH U.S. Senate Sr Sherrod Brown Democratic 10%
OH U.S. Senate Jr Rob Portman Republican 100%
OH U.S. House 1 Steve Chabot Republican 100%
OH U.S. House 9 Marcy Kaptur Democratic 10%
OH Governor Mike DeWine Republican 75%
OK U.S. Senate Sr Jim Inhofe Republican 90%
OK U.S. House 3 Frank Lucas Republican 95%
OR U.S. Senate Sr Ron Wyden Democratic 25%
OR U.S. House 3 Earl Blumenauer Democratic 15%
OR U.S. House 4 Peter DeFazio Democratic 10%
PA U.S. House 18 Mike Doyle, Jr. Democratic 15%
RI U.S. Senate Sr Jack Reed Democratic 20%
SC U.S. Senate Sr Lindsey Graham Republican 90%
SC U.S. House 6 Jim Clyburn Democratic 10%
SD U.S. Senate Sr John Thune Republican 95%
TX U.S. House 8 Kevin Brady Republican 90%
TX U.S. House 12 Kay Granger Republican 95%
TX U.S. House 13 Mac Thornberry Republican 95%
TX U.S. House 18 Sheila Jackson Lee Democratic 10%
TX U.S. House 30 Eddie Johnson Democratic 15%
TX U.S. House 35 Lloyd Doggett II Democratic 15%
VA U.S. House 3 Bobby Scott Democratic 25%
VT U.S. Senate Sr Patrick Leahy Democratic 15%
VT U.S. Senate Jr Bernie Sanders Independent 10%
WA U.S. Senate Sr Patty Murray Democratic 30%
WA U.S. House 9 Adam Smith Democratic 20%
WI U.S. House 3 Ron Kind Democratic 30%
WI U.S. House 5 Jim Sensenbrenner, Jr. Republican 100%
WI Mayor At-Large Tom Barrett 15%
WY U.S. Senate Sr Mike Enzi Republican 85%
Neil Abercrombie 5%
Edmond Spencer Abraham 100%
Gary Ackerman 10%
Daniel Akaka, Sr. 15%
Wayne Allard 90%
Thomas Allen 10%
Rob Andrews 25%
Bill Archer 95%
Richard Armey 100%
John Ashcroft 95%
Spencer Bachus 80%
Kay Bailey Hutchison 85%
Richard Hugh Baker 95%
Cass Ballenger 90%
James Barcia 30%
Bob Barr, Jr. 85%
Bill Barrett 85%
Roscoe Bartlett 90%
Joe Barton 90%
Charlie Bass 75%
Herbert Bateman, Sr. 85%
Max Baucus 30%
Bob Bennett 80%
Kenneth Bentsen, Jr. 20%
Douglas Bereuter 80%
Howard Berman 10%
Marion Berry 30%
Joe Biden, Jr. 20%
Brian Bilbray 65%
Michael Bilirakis 90%
Jeff Bingaman 20%
Rod Blagojevich 15%
Thomas Bliley, Jr. 90%
Sherwood Boehlert 40%
John Boehner 95%
Kit Bond 75%
Henry Bonilla 85%
David Edward Bonior 5%
Mary Bono Mack 92%
Robert Borski, Jr. 15%
Leonard Boswell 45%
Rick Boucher 10%
Barbara Boxer 20%
Allen Boyd, Jr. 25%
Bob Brady 9%
John Breaux 15%
Corrine Brown 5%
Sam Brownback 95%
Richard Bryan 20%
Ed Bryant 95%
Conrad Burns 95%
Dan Burton 80%
Steve Buyer 90%
Robert Byrd 10%
Herbert Callahan 95%
Dave Camp 85%
Ben Campbell 80%
Thomas Campbell 65%
Chris Cannon 65%
Lois Capps 16%
Julia Carson 10%
Mike Castle 60%
Saxby Chambliss 90%
Helen Chenoweth-Hage 80%
William Clay, Sr. 5%
Eva Clayton 20%
Joseph Maxwell Cleland 25%
Robert Clement 25%
Howard Coble 75%
Thomas Coburn 85%
Thad Cochran 80%
Michael Collins 95%
Larry Combest 90%
Gary Condit 35%
Kent Conrad 20%
John Conyers, Jr. 5%
Merrill Cook 85%
John Cooksey 80%
Jerry Costello 25%
Paul Coverdell 95%
Christopher Cox 100%
William Coyne 15%
Larry Craig 95%
Robert Cramer 40%
Philip Crane 100%
Barbara Cubin 95%
Randall Cunningham 85%
Patsy Ann Danner 35%
Thomas Daschle 15%
James Davis 30%
Thomas Davis III 85%
Nathan Deal 80%
Bill Delahunt 10%
Thomas DeLay 100%
Peter Deutsch 10%
Lincoln Diaz-Balart 65%
Jay Dickey 95%
Norm Dicks 20%
John Dingell 5%
Julian Dixon 10%
Chris Dodd 20%
Pete Domenici, Jr. 80%
Calvin Dooley 25%
John Doolittle 90%
Byron Dorgan 20%
David Dreier 90%
John Duncan, Jr. 85%
Jennifer Dunn 95%
Chet Edwards 25%
Vern Ehlers 75%
Bob Ehrlich, Jr. 95%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Skip to top

Help us stay free for all your Fellow Americans

Just $5 from everyone reading this would do it.

Thank You!

You are about to be redirected to a secure checkout page.

Please note:

The total order amount will read $0.01. This is a card processor fee. Please know that a recurring donation of the amount and frequency that you selected will be processed and initiated tomorrow. You may see a one-time charge of $0.01 on your statement.

Continue to secure page »

Back to top