Search Form
First, enter a politician or zip code
Now, choose a category

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: Equality California

2003 Positions

State Office District Name Party Rating
CA U.S. House 1 Doug LaMalfa Republican 6%
CA U.S. House 4 Tom McClintock Republican 6%
CA U.S. House 14 Jackie Speier Democratic 94%
CA U.S. House 23 Kevin McCarthy Republican 6%
CA U.S. House 27 Judy Chu Democratic 100%
CA U.S. House 46 Lou Correa Democratic 72%
CA U.S. House 47 Alan Lowenthal Democratic 100%
CA U.S. House 51 Juan Vargas Democratic 100%
CA State Senate 19 Hannah-Beth Jackson Democratic 100%
CA State Senate 36 Pat Bates Republican 6%
CA Mayor At-Large Darrell Steinberg Democratic 100%
CA Supervisor 2 Mark Ridley-Thomas 100%
CA Supervisor 3 Wilma Chan 94%
CA Supervisor 3 Sheila Kuehl 100%
CA Supervisor 5 Bruce McPherson 11%
CA Supervisor 5 Joe Simitian No Party Affiliation 89%
CA Council Member 1 Gilbert Cedillo 100%
CA Council Member 5 Paul Koretz 100%
CA Council Member 10 Herb Wesson, Jr. 89%
CA Council Member At-Large Alan Nakanishi 11%
Samuel Aanestad 6%
Richard Ackerman 6%
Gregory Aghazarian 6%
Richard Alarcón 94%
Deirdre Alpert 89%
Roy Ashburn 6%
James Battin 6%
John Benoit 6%
Patty Berg 100%
Rudy Bermúdez 100%
Russell Bogh 6%
Debra Bowen 100%
James Brulte 6%
John Burton 100%
Ron Calderon 94%
John Campbell III 6%
Joseph Canciamilla 100%
Edward Chavez 89%
Wesley Chesbro 100%
David Cogdill 6%
Rebecca Cohn 100%
Ellen Corbett 100%
Dave Cox 6%
Lynn Daucher 22%
Jeff Denham 6%
Manny Diaz 94%
Denise Ducheny 94%
Joe Dunn 94%
John Anthony Dutra 94%
Robert Dutton 6%
Mervyn Dymally 100%
Martha Escutia 100%
Liz Figueroa 100%
Marco Antonio Firebaugh 56%
Dean Florez 28%
Dario Frommer 100%
Bonnie Garcia 28%
Jackie Goldberg 100%
Loni Hancock 100%
Tom Harman 6%
Ray Haynes, Jr. 6%
Dennis Hollingsworth 6%
Jerome Horton 67%
Shirley Horton 22%
Guy Houston 6%
Ross Johnson 6%
Betty Karnette 100%
Richard Keene 6%
Christine Kehoe 100%
William Knight 0%
John Laird 100%
Jay La Suer 6%
Mark Leno 100%
Robert Leslie 6%
Lloyd Levine 100%
Sally Lieber 100%
Carol Liu 100%
John Longville 100%
Michael Machado 89%
Ken Maddox 11%
Abel Maldonado 22%
Bob Margett 6%
Barbara Matthews 56%
Bill Maze 6%
Cindy Montañez 100%
William Phillip Morrow 6%
Dennis Lee Mountjoy 6%
Eugene Mullin 100%
Kevin Murray 94%
George Nakano 78%
Joseph Nation 100%
Gloria Negrete McLeod 100%
Fabian Núñez 100%
Thomas Oller 6%
Jenny Oropeza 94%
Deborah Ortiz 94%
Robert Pacheco 6%
Nicole Parra 56%
Fran Pavley 100%
Don Perata 100%
George Plescia 6%
Charles Poochigian 6%
Sarah Reyes 50%
Keith Stuart Richman 33%
Gloria Romero 100%
Sharon Runner 6%
Simón Salinas 89%
Steve Samuelian 6%
Jack Scott 100%
Byron Sher 94%
Nell Soto 100%
Todd Spitzer 22%
Tony Strickland 6%
Tom Torlakson 100%
John Vasconcellos 94%
Edward Vincent 56%
Patricia Wiggins 100%
Lois Wolk 100%
Mark Wyland 11%
Leland Yee 100%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Skip to top

Help us stay free for all your Fellow Americans

Just $5 from everyone reading this would do it.

Thank You!

You are about to be redirected to a secure checkout page.

Please note:

The total order amount will read $0.01. This is a card processor fee. Please know that a recurring donation of the amount and frequency that you selected will be processed and initiated tomorrow. You may see a one-time charge of $0.01 on your statement.

Continue to secure page »

Back to top