Search Form
First, enter a politician or zip code
Now, choose a category

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: California Republican Assembly

2008 Positions

Issues: Conservative
State Office District Name Party Rating
CA State Senate 38 Joel Anderson Republican 100%
Charles DeVore 100%
Michael Duvall 100%
CA State Senate 1 Ted Gaines Republican 100%
Martin Garrick 100%
George Runner, Jr. 100%
Van Tran 100%
CA U.S. House 45 Mimi Walters Republican 100%
Mark Wyland 100%
Roy Ashburn 94%
CA U.S. House 10 Jeff Denham Republican 94%
Dennis Hollingsworth 94%
Robert Huff 94%
CA Supervisor 1 Kevin Jeffries 94%
Mike Villines 94%
John Benoit 93%
David Cogdill 93%
Samuel Aanestad 88%
Anthony Adams 88%
Robert Dutton 88%
CA State Senate 16 Jean Fuller Republican 88%
Roger Niello 88%
Sam Blakeslee 87%
Jim Silva 86%
Audra Strickland 82%
Cameron Smyth 81%
CA U.S. House 8 Paul Cook Republican 79%
Bill Emmerson 77%
Dave Cox 76%
Tom Harman 75%
CA State Senate 8 Tom Berryhill Republican 71%
Abel Maldonado 69%
CA U.S. House 46 Lou Correa Democratic 29%
Ron Calderon 24%
Leland Yee 18%
Charles Calderon 12%
Denise Ducheny 12%
Mike Feuer 6%
CA State Senate 5 Cathleen Galgiani Democratic 6%
Gloria Negrete McLeod 6%
Jose Solorio 6%
Elaine Alquist 0%
Juan Arambula 0%
CA U.S. House 37 Karen Bass Democratic 0%
CA State Senate 15 Jim Beall, Jr. Democratic 0%
CA U.S. House 26 Julia Brownley Democratic 0%
CA State Assembly 30 Anna Caballero Democratic 0%
Amina Carter 0%
CA Council Member 1 Gilbert Cedillo 0%
Ellen Corbett 0%
Joe Coto 0%
Mike Davis 0%
Hector De La Torre 0%
CA State Senate 24 Kevin de Leon Democratic 0%
CA U.S. House 11 Mark DeSaulnier Democratic 0%
Mike Eng 0%
Noreen Evans 0%
Dean Florez 0%
CA Council Member 7 Felipe Fuentes 0%
Warren Furutani 0%
Loni Hancock 0%
Mary Hayashi 0%
CA State Senate 22 Ed Hernandez Democratic 0%
CA U.S. House 2 Jared Huffman Democratic 0%
Dave Jones 0%
Christine Kehoe 0%
CA Council Member 2 Paul Krekorian 0%
Mark Leno 0%
CA U.S. House 33 Ted Lieu Democratic 0%
CA U.S. House 47 Alan Lowenthal Democratic 0%
Fiona Ma 0%
CA State Senate 32 Tony Mendoza Democratic 0%
Pedro Nava 0%
Jenny Oropeza 0%
CA Secretary of State Alex Padilla Democratic 0%
CA State Senate 25 Anthony Portantino, Jr. Democratic 0%
CA Council Member 9 Curren Price, Jr. 0%
Gloria Romero 0%
Ira Ruskin 0%
CA Mayor At-Large Mary Salas 0%
Lori Saldaña 0%
CA Supervisor 5 Joe Simitian No Party Affiliation 0%
CA Mayor At-Large Darrell Steinberg Democratic 0%
Sandré Swanson 0%
CA State Superintendent of Public Instruction Tom Torlakson Non-partisan 0%
Alberto Torrico 0%
Patricia Wiggins 0%
Lois Wolk 0%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Skip to top

Help us stay free for all your Fellow Americans

Just $5 from everyone reading this would do it.

Back to top