Search Form
First, enter a politician or zip code
Now, choose a category

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: California Republican Assembly

2008 Positions

Issues: Conservative
State Office District Name Party Rating
Samuel Aanestad 88%
Anthony Adams 88%
Elaine Alquist 0%
Juan Arambula 0%
Roy Ashburn 94%
John Benoit 93%
Sam Blakeslee 87%
Charles Calderon 12%
Ron Calderon 24%
Amina Carter 0%
CA Council Member 1 Gilbert Cedillo 0%
David Cogdill 93%
Ellen Corbett 0%
Joe Coto 0%
Dave Cox 76%
Mike Davis 0%
Hector De La Torre 0%
Charles DeVore 100%
Denise Ducheny 12%
Robert Dutton 88%
Michael Duvall 100%
Bill Emmerson 77%
Mike Eng 0%
Noreen Evans 0%
Mike Feuer 6%
Dean Florez 0%
CA Council Member 7 Felipe Fuentes 0%
Warren Furutani 0%
Martin Garrick 100%
Loni Hancock 0%
Tom Harman 75%
Mary Hayashi 0%
Dennis Hollingsworth 94%
Robert Huff 94%
CA Supervisor 1 Kevin Jeffries 94%
Dave Jones 0%
Christine Kehoe 0%
CA Council Member 2 Paul Krekorian 0%
Mark Leno 0%
Fiona Ma 0%
Abel Maldonado 69%
Pedro Nava 0%
Gloria Negrete McLeod 6%
Roger Niello 88%
Jenny Oropeza 0%
CA Council Member 9 Curren Price, Jr. 0%
Gloria Romero 0%
George Runner, Jr. 100%
Ira Ruskin 0%
CA Mayor At-Large Mary Salas 0%
Lori Saldaña 0%
Jim Silva 86%
Cameron Smyth 81%
Jose Solorio 6%
Audra Strickland 82%
Sandré Swanson 0%
Alberto Torrico 0%
Van Tran 100%
Mike Villines 94%
Patricia Wiggins 0%
Lois Wolk 0%
Mark Wyland 100%
Leland Yee 18%
CA U.S. House 37 Karen Bass Democratic 0%
CA State Senate 15 Jim Beall, Jr. Democratic 0%
CA U.S. House 26 Julia Brownley Democratic 0%
CA State Assembly 30 Anna Caballero Democratic 0%
CA U.S. House 46 Lou Correa Democratic 29%
CA State Senate 24 Kevin de Leon Democratic 0%
CA U.S. House 11 Mark DeSaulnier Democratic 0%
CA State Senate 5 Cathleen Galgiani Democratic 6%
CA State Senate 22 Ed Hernandez Democratic 0%
CA U.S. House 2 Jared Huffman Democratic 0%
CA U.S. House 33 Ted Lieu Democratic 0%
CA U.S. House 47 Alan Lowenthal Democratic 0%
CA State Senate 32 Tony Mendoza Democratic 0%
CA Secretary of State Alex Padilla Democratic 0%
CA State Senate 25 Anthony Portantino, Jr. Democratic 0%
CA Mayor At-Large Darrell Steinberg Democratic 0%
CA State Superintendent of Public Instruction Tom Torlakson Non-partisan 0%
CA Supervisor 5 Joe Simitian No Party Affiliation 0%
CA State Senate 38 Joel Anderson Republican 100%
CA State Senate 8 Tom Berryhill Republican 71%
CA U.S. House 8 Paul Cook Republican 79%
CA U.S. House 10 Jeff Denham Republican 94%
CA State Senate 16 Jean Fuller Republican 88%
CA State Senate 1 Ted Gaines Republican 100%
CA U.S. House 45 Mimi Walters Republican 100%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Skip to top

Help us stay free for all your Fellow Americans

Just $5 from everyone reading this would do it.

Back to top