Search Form
First, enter a politician or zip code
Now, choose a category

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: National Rifle Association Political Victory Fund

2000 Positions on Gun Rights

Issues: Guns
State Office District Name Party Rating
Frederick Berry F
Thomas Birmingham F
MA State House Thirteenth Bristol Antonio Cabral Democratic F
MA Mayor At-Large Michael Cahill F
Gale Candaras F
Paul Casey F
Edward Connolly F
Geraldine Creedon F
MA State House Nineteenth Suffolk Robert DeLeo Democratic F
Paul Demakis F
David Donnelly F
Carol Donovan F
Christopher Fallon F
Susan Fargo F
Robert Fennell F
Barry Finegold F
Gloria Fox F
MA State House Sixteenth Middlesex Thomas Golden, Jr. Democratic F
Paul Haley F
Lida Harkins F
John Hart, Jr. F
Robert Havern III F
Christopher Hodgkins F
MA State House Seventeenth Suffolk Kevin Honan Democratic F
Cheryl Ann Jacques F
MA Councilor At-Large James Jajuga F
MA State Senate Second Middlesex Pat Jehlen Democratic F
Brian Joyce F
Rachel Kaprielian F
MA State House Eleventh Middlesex Kay Khan Democratic F
MA State House Eleventh Bristol Robert Koczera Democratic F
Peter Koutoujian F
Peter Larkin F
David Magnani F
MA State House Eleventh Suffolk Elizabeth Malia Democratic F
J. James Marzilli, Jr. F
MA State Senate Third Essex Thomas McGee Democratic F
William McManus II F
Joan Menard F
MA State Senate Second Bristol and Plymouth Mark Montigny Democratic F
Kevin Murphy F
Therese Murray F
Eugene O'Flaherty F
Shirley Owens-Hicks F
Steven Panagiotakos F
Anne Marie Paulsen F
Douglas Petersen F
Ruth Provost F
Pamela Resor F
MA State House Twelfth Norfolk John Rogers Democratic F
MA State Senate Hampshire, Franklin and Worcester Stan Rosenberg Democratic F
MA State House Ninth Suffolk Byron Rushing Democratic F
MA State House Fourteenth Suffolk Angelo Scaccia Democratic F
John Slattery F
MA State House Thirteenth Essex Theodore Speliotis Democratic F
Harriett Stanley F
John Stefanini F
Ellen Story F
Joseph Sullivan F
Steven Tolman F
MA Council Member At-Large Tim Toomey, Jr. F
Robert Travaglini F
Susan Tucker F
Anthony Verga F
Marian Walsh F
MA Mayor At-Large Martin Walsh Democratic F
Dianne Wilkerson F
Alice Wolf F
Daniel Bosley D
Paul Caron D
Vincent Paul Ciampa D
Carol Cleven D
Salvatore DiMasi D
Thomas Finneran D
Kevin Fitzgerald D
Frank Hynes D
Maryanne Lewis D
John Locke D
Charles Murphy D
Vincent Pedone D
Charles Shannon, Jr. D
MA State House Fourteenth Middlesex Cory Atkins Democratic C-
Robert Correia C
Robert Creedon, Jr. C
MA State House Third Essex Brian Dempsey Democratic C
David Flynn C
MA State House Fifteenth Middlesex Jay Kaufman Democratic C
MA State House Seventh Hampden Thomas Petrolati Democratic C
J. Michael Ruane C
Benjamin Swan, Sr. C
Kathleen Teahan C
Eric Turkington C
Arthur Broadhurst, Jr. B
James Fagan B
MA State House Thirty-Sixth Middlesex Colleen Garry Democratic B
Emile Goguen B
MA State House Eighth Norfolk Louis Kafka Democratic B
Thomas Kennedy B
MA U.S. House 8 Stephen Lynch Democratic B
Michael Morrissey B
William Nagle, Jr. B
Marie Parente B
George Rogers B
MA State House Tenth Bristol William Straus Democratic B
Stephen Tobin B
Jarrett Barrios A-
John Fresolo A-
MA State House First Norfolk Bruce Ayers Democratic A
Stephen Brewer A
Scott Brown A
David Bunker A
Edward Clancy, Jr. A
Brian Cresta A
Walter DeFilippi A
MA State Senate Plymouth and Barnstable Vinny deMacedo Republican A
Nancy Flavin A
MA State House Sixth Norfolk William Galvin Democratic A
William Greene, Jr. A
Cele Hahn A
Geoffrey Hall A
MA State House Fourth Essex Bradford Hill Republican A
Reed Hillman A
MA State House Twentieth Middlesex Brad Jones, Jr. Republican A
Daniel Keenan A
Shaun Kelly A
Brian Knuuttila A
Paul Kujawski A
MA State House First Franklin Stephen Kulik Democratic A
Stephen LeDuc A
John Lepper A
MA State House Third Norfolk Ronald Mariano Democratic A
Linda Melconian A
John Merrigan A
MA State House Nineteenth Middlesex James Miceli Democratic A
MA State House Twelfth Worcester Harold Naughton, Jr. Democratic A
Andrea Nuciforo, Jr. A
MA State House Fourteenth Bristol Elizabeth Poirier Republican A
Susan Pope A
John Quinn A
Mary Rogeness A
David Sullivan A
Richard Tisei A
Philip Travis A
Jim Vallee A
MA State House Eighth Hampden Joseph Wagner Democratic A
Patricia Walrath A
Robert Antonioni A+
John Binienda, Sr. A+
Christine Canavan A+
MA State House Seventh Worcester Paul Frost Republican A+
Thomas George A+
Guy Glodis A+
Shirley Gomes A+
Robert Hargraves A+
Robert Hedlund, Jr. A+
Michael Knapik A+
Brian Lees A+
Francis Marini A+
Richard Moore A+
Thomas O'Brien A+
MA State Senate First Plymouth and Bristol Marc Pacheco Democratic A+
George Peterson, Jr. A+
MA State Senate First Bristol and Plymouth Michael Rodrigues Democratic A+
Mary Jane Simmons A+
Jo Ann Sprague A+
MA State Senate First Essex and Middlesex Bruce Tarr Republican A+
David Tuttle A+

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Skip to top

Help us stay free for all your Fellow Americans

Just $5 from everyone reading this would do it.

Back to top